Margaret Thatcher....

Started by Hurler on the Bitch, October 21, 2010, 10:25:59 PM

Hurler on the Bitch

Quote from: fer fox ache on October 27, 2010, 12:00:14 PM
To paraphrase General Philip Sheridan, "The only good Tories I ever saw were dead."
I will crack open a bottle of champagne the night the oul bitch dies.
The sister in law's oul fella has a bottle of 40 year old single malt he's keeping for the occasion and he's English.
I've quite a few English mates who are of the same opinion, one from a former mining town in Yorkshire would do the job himself if he got the chance
f**k her, and damn her to hell.

A quite rounded and considered response. Whatever the opinions, she is a fascinating creature. Her personality had no understanding of humour. Her speeches were written by a former script writer for BBC comedy and all the jokes were above her head. She did the conference sppech in '88 when she compared Socialism to the 'Dead Parrot' - not only had she never heard of the sketch, but she had no idea what 'Monty Python' was. Basically she was handed a speech and advised to that 'this is funny'. Funny thing is about these politicians is how out of touch they are with the so-called real world. David Trimble, for example. He was so out of touch. The time Ulster won the European Rugby Cup in 1999 at Lansdowne Road he had to have a guy to explain the rules to him as the game progressed - and he had attended a rugby playing grammar school. In fact, I recall being at Queens in 1990 on the day that the Republic played England in a European qualifier - the place was packed solid with football fans on the pish. Biggest match in the history of Irish football. Lo and behold in their shirts and ties arrived the Young Unionists into the Speakeasy wanting to know who was playing? 

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on October 27, 2010, 09:50:35 PM
To paraphrase General Philip Sheridan, "The only good Tories I ever saw were dead."
The sister in law's oul fella has a bottle of 40 year old single malt he's keeping for the occasion and he's English.
I've quite a few English mates who are of the same opinion, one from a former mining town in Yorkshire would do the job himself if he got the chance

A quite rounded and considered response. Whatever the opinions, she is a fascinating creature. Her personality had no understanding of humour. Her speeches were written by a former script writer for BBC comedy and all the jokes were above her head. She did the conference sppech in '88 when she compared Socialism to the 'Dead Parrot' - not only had she never heard of the sketch, but she had no idea what 'Monty Python' was. Basically she was handed a speech and advised to that 'this is funny'. Funny thing is about these politicians is how out of touch they are with the so-called real world. David Trimble, for example. He was so out of touch. The time Ulster won the European Rugby Cup in 1999 at Lansdowne Road he had to have a guy to explain the rules to him as the game progressed - and he had attended a rugby playing grammar school. In fact, I recall being at Queens in 1990 on the day that the Republic played England in a European qualifier - the place was packed solid with football fans on the pish. Biggest match in the history of Irish football. Lo and behold in their shirts and ties arrived the Young Unionists into the Speakeasy wanting to know who was playing?
That was some day's craic.

Tonto

Quote from: Nally Stand on October 26, 2010, 12:37:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 26, 2010, 11:23:58 AM
There was more of an organised civil opposition in the 1980s which is why so much contempt is felt for Thatcher while Blair and Brown continue to get a much more favourable press despite unleashing far more mayhem in Iraq and afghanistan. Thatcher economics became labour economics so I don't see how she was much different to later overlords. 

People want their nice lifestyles and shopping opportunities and they don't want to know all of the upheavals that are necessary to make the system work for them.   There is a lot of hypocrisy in singling out Thatcher when in reality it is the system she was a part that still exists that people vote for time and again. 

Personally i find that rejoicing in a death lacks a certain class. 

Her economic policies are probably not the main reason she is hated in Ireland. Her murder of the Hunger Strikers and her "Shoot to Kill" policy are just two more reasons why I wish nothing but ill upon her.
Sorry Nally but we are always fed the republican line about how 30 years of terrorism was a "war".  Well if it was a war, people "shoot to kill".  If you are yapping about that maybe it's about time republican admitted that their terror campaign was as much a war as the Dunblane Massacre.  This doublespeak really gets me.  The sad thing is you don't even see the double standards.

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on October 27, 2010, 09:50:35 PM

I suspect they knew righty who was playing and were letting youse know how disinterested and insignificant they saw the game as being. I remember sharing a house and this unionist student in it and when BBC Sunday GAA came on about 15 years ago or so he left the room. One nite I went upstairs during it and cud hear it coming from his TV in his room. He didn't want us to know he was watching it.

118cmal

There was more of an organised civil opposition in the 1980s which is why so much contempt is felt for Thatcher while Blair and Brown continue to get a much more favourable press despite unleashing far more mayhem in Iraq and afghanistan. Thatcher economics became labour economics so I don't see how she was much different to later overlords. 

People want their nice lifestyles and shopping opportunities and they don't want to know all of the upheavals that are necessary to make the system work for them.   There is a lot of hypocrisy in singling out Thatcher when in reality it is the system she was a part that still exists that people vote for time and again. 

Her economic policies are probably not the main reason she is hated in Ireland. Her murder of the Hunger Strikers and her "Shoot to Kill" policy are just two more reasons why I wish nothing but ill upon her.

Murder?

They could have eaten if they wanted.

Quote from: 118cmal on October 28, 2010, 12:24:10 AM

Murder?

If Thatcher had gone on hunger strike and vowed not to come off it until the Provos had gave in to her demands, I wonder what the outcome would have been ???????

Quote from: 118cmal on October 28, 2010, 12:24:10 AM

Murder?

That post does not warrant a response.

Quote from: Tonto on October 27, 2010, 11:18:04 PM

Sorry Nally but we are always fed the republican line about how 30 years of terrorism was a "war".  Well if it was a war, people "shoot to kill".  If you are yapping about that maybe it's about time republican admitted that their terror campaign was as much a war as the Dunblane Massacre.  This doublespeak really gets me.  The sad thing is you don't even see the double standards.

Tonto you are just anti-republican, full stop. The issue was not about the republican terming of it as a war. Republicans were openly admitting to having been at war. The British were also at war but would not publicly admit it. The debate therefore being that if they are not at war, why shoot-to-kill?

P.s. Point to ONE occasion where an IRA Volunteer walked into a primary school and committed mass murder of children before turning the gun on himself? Trying to draw a parallel between the entire IRAs campaign and the murder of 15 children in the Dunblane Massacre is the most disgusting, blatant, pathetic, shameless and sensationalist piece of anti-republican propaganda as ever I've heard. Thatcher would be proud of you.

She didn't murder the hungerstrikers.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 28, 2010, 11:47:06 AM
She didn't murder the hungerstrikers.

She did nothing to prevent their deaths and seemed happy to let them die as part of her agenda but she did not murder them no matter how you twist it Nally.

It was the hunger strikers only 'weapon' to resist being criminalised. She certainly was responsible for their deaths but is more complicated. If it was a war as Nally states, then there are no murders tho both sides were guilty of War Crimes, that's for sure. Republicans talked of executions so can't very well claim in the same 'war' the other side 'murdered.'
Is complex... very...  now same people are calling Republicans who say they are still at war, 'traitors.'

During her term as British PM, Britain and the USA overtly supported the Khmer Rouge TERRORIST regime of Pol Pot and actively supported it's recognition as the "legitimate" government of Cambodia at the U.N., above all places (but then again, it is acknowledged that this is but a frontispiece for the illegal attrocities of the so-called righteous western world powered by the terrorists of the Pentagon and their cohorts in Whitehall).

For some on here to suggest she was only the PM is a seriously blinkered view. 

She is an evil hag who will no doubt be dictating to the devil himself.

P.[/quote]
s. Point to ONE occasion where an IRA Volunteer walked into a primary school and committed mass murder of children [/quote]

I remember one IRA 'volunteer' walking into a primary school classroom and murdering the teacher in front of his pupils.
Not much respect for the effect that would have on children. Will never forget that as long as I live.

Quote from: Gaffer on October 31, 2010, 09:30:39 AM
P.
s. Point to ONE occasion where an IRA Volunteer walked into a primary school and committed mass murder of children [/quote]

I remember one IRA 'volunteer' walking into a primary school classroom and murdering the teacher in front of his pupils.
Not much respect for the effect that would have on children. Will never forget that as long as I live.

Still does not answer my question though does it. If Tonto wants to liken the ENTIRE IRA campaign to Dunblane, then give even ONE single, solitary example of what I asked. Sensationalist, shameless nonsense.

Quote from: Nally Stand on October 31, 2010, 09:57:16 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on October 31, 2010, 09:30:39 AM
P.
s. Point to ONE occasion where an IRA Volunteer walked into a primary school and committed mass murder of children

Still does not answer my question though does it. If Tonto wants to liken the ENTIRE IRA campaign to Dunblane, then give even ONE single, solitary example of what I asked. Sensationalist, shameless nonsense.

***Point well made Nally but there were many actions could be catagorised as war crimes. Forcing civilians to drive cars with bombs into army barracks, no warning bombs in pubs in England and here... both sides did very dastardly deeds including the killing of innocent children.  (Cue.... 'there will will civilian casualties in war' comment)