8. Laois v Wicklow 9/1/2011
9. 1 v 2 16/1/2011
10. 3 v 4 16/1/2011
11. 5 v 6 16/1/2011
12. 7 v 8 16/1/2011
13. 9 v 10 23/1/2011
14. 11 v 12 23/1/2011
FINAL: 13 v 14 30/1/2011

If we get by (insert appropriate college) team I'd love to have a go at Kilkenny in the next round if they can get over the might of Carlow. Will be a tough start for Liam Harnan the new manager.

Ah hah! An early exit for the Lillies so!

And so the cycle of life begins again.

Don't fancy a trip in Newbridge in early January to be honest but I may be glad to get out of the house.

Looks like it's O'Byrne Bihatimber for us.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 17, 2010, 11:13:30 PM
O’BYRNE CUP S.F. 2011
1. Westmeath v Dublin 9/1/2011
2. Wexford v COLLEGE 9/1/2011
3. Kildare v Longford 9/1/2011
4. Offaly v COLLEGE 9/1/2011
5. Meath v COLLEGE 9/1/2011
6. Carlow v Kilkenny 9/1/2011
7. Louth v COLLEGE 9/1/2011
8. Laois v Wicklow 9/1/2011
9. 1 v 2 16/1/2011
10. 3 v 4 16/1/2011
11. 5 v 6 16/1/2011
12. 7 v 8 16/1/2011
13. 9 v 10 23/1/2011
14. 11 v 12 23/1/2011
FINAL: 13 v 14 30/1/2011

DIT play Wexford
DCU play Offaly
UCD play Meath
Athlone IT play Louth

Not long to go now. Is the Bihatimber still going or did they do away with it?

This Weekend!!

Bihatimber still going I believe.

No mention of the Meath team yet. We had a Charity boxing yoke the other night and I hear Paddy O'Rourke didn't take kindly to getting a hiding but thats just speculation, wasn't there myself.

I hear the Dubs have 24 new players on the squad to try out for the O'Byrne Cup.

1. Westmeath v Dublin 9.1.2011 Mullingar 2.00pm
2. Wexford v D.I.T. 9.1.2011 Wexford 2.00pm
3. Kildare v Longford 9.1.2011 Newbridge 2.00pm
4. Offaly v D.C.U. 9.1.2011 Tullamore 2.00pm
5. Meath v U.C.D. 9.1.2011 Pairc Tailteann 2.00pm
6. Carlow v Kilkenny 9.1.2011 Carlow 2.00pm
7. Louth v A.I.T. 9.1.2011 Drogheda 2.00pm
8. Laois v Wicklow 9.1.2011 Portlaoise 2.00pm

Times, dates and venues. Hope the Dubs don't roll into town like they did for their last visit in the O'Byrne Cup, Jaysus the new lads do be fierce eager to impress in January. This is the provisional 47-man Westmeath panel Pat Flanagan will be whittling down over the course of the O'Byrne Cup/league.

Goalkeepers: G Connaughton, D Quinn, D Bryan.

Defenders: F Boyle, M Ennis, K McGuire, M Dalton, C Boyle, R Doyle, K Gavin, D Harte, T Warburton, R English, E Moore, J Gaffey, K Martin, J Dolan, M Curley, G Quinn.

Midfielders: D Duffy, C Jordan, A Finnan, P Bannon, J Heslin, N Kilcoyne, D Daly, D Corroon, B Murtagh.

Forwards: G Egan, P Greville, T McDaniel, C McCormack, J Durkan, S Quinn, C Lynam, P Sharry, D Dolan, David Glennon, P Tormey, A Devine, Denis Glennon, A Whitney, F Wilson, I Coffey, A Giles, J Harte.

Donal O'Donoghue and John Smyth are the only notable omissions but I don't think they would have made the cut for the squad anyway, best days long behind them. Light on experience at the back and Natchie is gone till the end of the league. Good to see the young lads and the hurlers in there, fowards looking competitive this year.

God bless the O'Byrne Cup by the way, best excuse ever for getting out of Sunday dinner at the in laws...

I'll be keeping an eye on D.C.U with plenty of Rossies involved again.

I'm nervous about the UCD challenge myself. We don't want to slip up at the first fence in our quest to deny the Dubs any silverware for another year.

Wait a minute. What do I mean "we"? With the Ulster junta in charge, supporting Meath feels a bit like shouting for the British (oh - and Irish) Lions.

Quote from: Hardy on January 06, 2011, 10:21:18 AM
I'm nervous about the UCD challenge myself. We don't want to slip up at the first fence in our quest to deny the Dubs any silverware for another year.

Wait a minute. What do I mean "we"? With the Ulster junta in charge, supporting Meath feels a bit like shouting for the British (oh - and Irish) Lions.

I have NO idea what this comment means! How the hell does it feel like shouting for the Lions?!

Anyone know why NUI Maynooth are not in the O'Byrne cup?

Quote from: ck on January 06, 2011, 12:42:56 PM

Opted out when the colleges were added to the competition because it clashes with their first semester exams.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 06, 2011, 12:49:43 PM

Opted out when the colleges were added to the competition because it clashes with their first semester exams.

Thanks for that!
Seems a very strange decision given that loads of colleges have exams at this stage of the year. Made even stranger given that the game is on a Sunday. Do they have exams on Sundays?

Quote from: ck on January 06, 2011, 12:52:25 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 06, 2011, 12:49:43 PM

Thanks for that!
Seems a very strange decision given that loads of colleges have exams at this stage of the year. Made even stranger given that the game is on a Sunday. Do they have exams on Sundays?

NUIM don't anyway. The theological college (St Pats) might though.

They used to play in the Kildare u21 championship but KCB put a stop to that when they kept winning it.

Their non-participation in the O'Byrne Cup didn't seem to do them any harm in the Sigerson last year when they put out UUJ despite playing with 14 men for most of the second half. Not sure how the seniors are shaping up this year but they've a good freshers team from what I've heard.