Casement Park in line for major overhaul - 40,000 all seater Stadium.

Started by Joxer, October 06, 2010, 02:42:28 PM

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

You guys are in la la land blaming the DUP for the failure to develop Stormont. Whilst they are no doubt enjoying the impasse it's entirely Ulster GAA fault. They got double the funding (60mill v 30 and 30) compared to rugby and soccer yet decided to build an ego-massaging white elephant that was strongly opposed by local residents. It was a high court judge not the DUP who ruled in favour of the residents.

After that the Stormont Executive collapsed over the RHI and language act. SF would have known that stadium funding would have been a casualty of that.

Now the 60 million from Stormont is back available, the GAA said they'll give 15 and the FG/FF government are going to pony up 40. But Ulster GAA said they need another 100million. Come on to fcuk. If the IFA and IRFU can build 2 18,000 seater stadia for 30 mill why is it taking 200 mill to build a 34,000 seater stadium.

At a time when the Brits are squeezed for money they rightly turned down the request for hundreds of millions for a stadium which would be lucky to be filled once a year and used maybe 10 times a year.

Build a good 20,000 seater stadium from the 100mill that is available. which is what always should have been done at the start. GAA arrogance and weakness for vanity projects mean that never happened.

Quote from: illdecide on April 04, 2025, 10:35:05 AMNo one would deny the Ulster Council messed up, Jasus they'd secretly admit that themselves but a lot of you are missing the point here. This is the Union and DUP saying F**K you fenians, you're getting f**k all from us. They are currently proud of themselves for stalling the project. It's exactly the same with the Irish signs at the new Train station...no one is doubting they messed up by not having them on the original signage and to spend that money on new signage is ludicrous but the Union and the DUP do not want anything Irish, it's not about the money for them, it's just because it Irish.
They still have it in their heads that support for the GAA is like buying weapons for the IRA, that's how they've always thought and haven't changed one bit. They gave £50m for a fecking ICE Bowl in one of the strongest loyalist areas in the Country and no one batted an eyelid and make no mistake about it if they had plans to upgrade Windsor Park the money would be found from somewhere.
They want us all to die or go away, or as they put it..."go back home to Dublin", the irony from English and Scottish settlers.
So to recap, yes we have shot ourselves in the foot and seem to be quite good at it but please don't lose sight of what this is all about...It's anti Irish...FULL STOP!!!

Tbf the ice bowl will get 700k visitors a year, will Casement get anything near that?
Stormont has already agreed to front up more than this amount anyway for the GAA, so I don't understand the comparison with the ice bowl.

Edit. Calling them settlers is just silly. The Ulster plantation was 400 years ago. I'd bet my left nut you are a descendant of some of the original settlers yourself if you live anywhere in the north half of the island.

I would go to the ice bowl the odd time and have taken the wee fella in his cul camp top a few times and he is far from the only one in a gaa top. Dundonald is far from as one sided a place as it used to be. Yes I wouldn't run round tullycarnet in a gaa top but we would go to a good few venues in Dundonald and it's grand

Quote from: RedHand88 on April 04, 2025, 03:37:44 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 04, 2025, 10:35:05 AMNo one would deny the Ulster Council messed up, Jasus they'd secretly admit that themselves but a lot of you are missing the point here. This is the Union and DUP saying F**K you fenians, you're getting f**k all from us. They are currently proud of themselves for stalling the project. It's exactly the same with the Irish signs at the new Train station...no one is doubting they messed up by not having them on the original signage and to spend that money on new signage is ludicrous but the Union and the DUP do not want anything Irish, it's not about the money for them, it's just because it Irish.
They still have it in their heads that support for the GAA is like buying weapons for the IRA, that's how they've always thought and haven't changed one bit. They gave £50m for a fecking ICE Bowl in one of the strongest loyalist areas in the Country and no one batted an eyelid and make no mistake about it if they had plans to upgrade Windsor Park the money would be found from somewhere.
They want us all to die or go away, or as they put it..."go back home to Dublin", the irony from English and Scottish settlers.
So to recap, yes we have shot ourselves in the foot and seem to be quite good at it but please don't lose sight of what this is all about...It's anti Irish...FULL STOP!!!

Tbf the ice bowl will get 700k visitors a year, will Casement get anything near that?
Stormont has already agreed to front up more than this amount anyway for the GAA, so I don't understand the comparison with the ice bowl.

Edit. Calling them settlers is just silly. The Ulster plantation was 400 years ago. I'd bet my left nut you are a descendant of some of the original settlers yourself if you live anywhere in the north half of the island.

I didn't compare it to the Ice Bowl, I said they got £50m quid and no one batted an eye lid.
I called them Settlers because that's what most of them are, you don't know where my roots are so bet away.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 04, 2025, 11:02:38 AM
Since you have made the comparison, I assume from this that you agree that giving hundreds of millions of extra funding to the Casement project is also ludicrous and therefore it is irrelevant what Unionists think of the GAA, their decision is founded in logic?

How are both the same, brand new station with brand new signage v no stadium and no signage. Don't sound the same to me

Quote from: twohands!!! on April 04, 2025, 02:00:24 PM

Pointing out the Dup are anti-Irish is pretty much irrelevant/background noise in my eyes.
The issue for me is that the Ulster council/the GAA/SF basically made life so much easier for them and the British by being so inept at managing the whole project and the stuff that was under their control.
That's your opinion...just like i had mine.
I also pointed out the Ulster Council f**ked it up

Quote from: trileacman on April 04, 2025, 03:24:42 PMYou guys are in la la land blaming the DUP for the failure to develop Stormont. Whilst they are no doubt enjoying the impasse it's entirely Ulster GAA fault. They got double the funding (60mill v 30 and 30) compared to rugby and soccer yet decided to build an ego-massaging white elephant that was strongly opposed by local residents. It was a high court judge not the DUP who ruled in favour of the residents.

After that the Stormont Executive collapsed over the RHI and language act. SF would have known that stadium funding would have been a casualty of that.

Now the 60 million from Stormont is back available, the GAA said they'll give 15 and the FG/FF government are going to pony up 40. But Ulster GAA said they need another 100million. Come on to fcuk. If the IFA and IRFU can build 2 18,000 seater stadia for 30 mill why is it taking 200 mill to build a 34,000 seater stadium.

At a time when the Brits are squeezed for money they rightly turned down the request for hundreds of millions for a stadium which would be lucky to be filled once a year and used maybe 10 times a year.

Build a good 20,000 seater stadium from the 100mill that is available. which is what always should have been done at the start. GAA arrogance and weakness for vanity projects mean that never happened.

You can't really compare them together...3 different sports with different attendances. If you were building Windsor or Ravenhill as of 2025 they would be costing £80-£100m. Like i said earlier I know Ulster GAA have made a pigs ear of it

Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2025, 04:15:15 PMI would go to the ice bowl the odd time and have taken the wee fella in his cul camp top a few times and he is far from the only one in a gaa top. Dundonald is far from as one sided a place as it used to be. Yes I wouldn't run round tullycarnet in a gaa top but we would go to a good few venues in Dundonald and it's grand

Well that's great, things are def changing. Wouldn't happen in my day

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on April 04, 2025, 02:18:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 04, 2025, 02:00:24 PM

Pointing out the Dup are anti-Irish is pretty much irrelevant/background noise in my eyes.
The issue for me is that the Ulster council/the GAA/SF basically made life so much easier for them and the British by being so inept at managing the whole project and the stuff that was under their control.

Exactly. The Ulster Council are so inept that if the money were to be found, I'd have absolutely no faith that the Ulster Council could deliver the project on time and on budget. Everyone knows who exactly the DUP are and what they are about, so that's no shock to anyone. But the Ulster Council have made it easier for them to object.

Really don't understand why this project can't be started with the funds available. Progress it in phases over the years. Build one stand now, the opposite one in a few years' time and eventually close in the ends. Work with what you have and get the fecking thing started. That's the best way to stick two fingers up to the naysayers.

I concur...

Quote from: illdecide on April 04, 2025, 04:32:04 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2025, 04:15:15 PMI would go to the ice bowl the odd time and have taken the wee fella in his cul camp top a few times and he is far from the only one in a gaa top. Dundonald is far from as one sided a place as it used to be. Yes I wouldn't run round tullycarnet in a gaa top but we would go to a good few venues in Dundonald and it's grand

Well that's great, things are def changing. Wouldn't happen in my day

I bowl competitively or did until a bad car accident a few years ago and would be involved in the ten pin bowling federation. As a result I'd be in the ice bowl multiple times a week.

It's not an all Ireland sport at international level but all sides of the community were regularly in attendance without issue. No issues with the guys from the south coming up for the competitions either.

Mind you I coach soccer at a club at the top of the Shankill and have been welcomed so society as a whole may very well be changing.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: illdecide on April 04, 2025, 04:19:07 PM
Since you have made the comparison, I assume from this that you agree that giving hundreds of millions of extra funding to the Casement project is also ludicrous and therefore it is irrelevant what Unionists think of the GAA, their decision is founded in logic?

How are both the same, brand new station with brand new signage v no stadium and no signage. Don't sound the same to me
You said it, not me. I've put it in bold in the original post to help.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 04, 2025, 05:27:37 PM

Well then I'll take it back as they're not the same Inspector Jacques Clouseau and you know they're not the same. You're just being a smart arse.

Quote from: weareros on April 03, 2025, 12:39:42 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on April 03, 2025, 11:49:03 AMSomeone should phone the UK government and see if they need Casement for the 2035 Women's World Cup.

They will expand Windsor as it only needs 1500 extra seats. While it won't cost much, there will be no "what about the health services" from the Unionists nor will nationalism play dirty like Unionists did around Casement and their latest cause: putting a marker down to stop Irish language signs at Grand Central Station.
o

There were lads on here arguing that SF should make a political issue of Jeffrey Donaldson's sexual abuse case.

Now these are lads who are somewhat literate and able to use a device capable of accessing the internet. If they can do that, I'd imagine the real mouth breathers would be more than capable of "playing dirty" about a few extra seats in Windsor.

AustinPowers

Quote from: illdecide on April 04, 2025, 05:44:09 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 04, 2025, 05:27:37 PM

Well then I'll take it back as they're not the same Inspector Jacques Clouseau and you know they're not the same. You're just being a smart arse.

A bit off  on a tangent here , but I thought you had mixed up Inspector Clouseau from Pink Panther and Jacques Cousteau, the  diving fella

Turns out Inspector Clouseau's name was Jacques as well. I'm assuming  Clouseau was   named   deliberately  so. Every day's a school day.

Anyway, back to religion......