Started by ross4life, September 24, 2010, 11:42:26 PM

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: muppet on September 26, 2010, 11:16:54 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2010, 10:54:18 AM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on September 26, 2010, 09:46:21 AM
Quote from: trileacman on September 26, 2010, 02:17:06 AM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on September 25, 2010, 11:48:46 PM
Agree with the lads on De Niro up to around Casino time. A pile of shite since that. I think Di Caprio has improved but overrated. Always thought Pacino over did it.
Gary Oldman, Christian Bale and Steve Buscemi of those not mentioned would be up there. Oh and Del Toro.
did he not do the wolfman film??  It was pure dirt. Oldman is good though.

IMO Denzel Washington by quite a considerable distance. Followed by Harrison Ford (always watchable) and de niro quite a distance after them. Like Sean Penn as well, thought all the kings men and mystic river are very good.
He did Wolfman, does that make him a bad actor? Harrison Ford?
The title is "favourite" actor, not "best" actor, therefore anything goes. Even Harrison Ford.

Actually the title is "Who's (Who is) your favourite actors (sic)?"

But then it is ross4life after all.
Fair enough. Just thought I'd check incase it was a mistake.

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on September 25, 2010, 11:48:46 PM
Agree with the lads on De Niro up to around Casino time. A pile of shite since that. I think Di Caprio has improved but overrated. Always thought Pacino over did it.
Gary Oldman, Christian Bale and Steve Buscemi of those not mentioned would be up there. Oh and Del Toro.

Winner!

Niall Quinn

Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

That hairy hoor in star wars is a better actor than Harrison Ford.

Going a little off topic i see Tim Robbins is in Whelans Dublin tonight & the Limelight Belfast tomorrow night a good opportunity to see an Oscar winning actor

De Niro everytime. From Raging Bull to Meet the Parents.....a wide spectrum with a few dodgy ones in between......but would he have been as good without Scorcese??

Derry Dolly

i think i started a similar thread..a while back though. anyway,
Liam Neeson is my fave  :-* followed by;
Robert DeNiro
Jack Nicholson 8)
Leo DiCaprio

cant stand Dustin Hoffman,Jack Black and Sean Penn (not cos of their acting skills..they just annoy me.) >:(

PS.very sexist thread..only actors??wat bout the ladies? ???

Personal favourites (not necessarily based on recent movies/performances) would include:
Edward Norton
Matt Damon
JCVD
Sean Penn
Kevin Spacey
Morgan Freeman
Denzel Washington
Mark Wahlberg
Terrence Howard
John Cusack
Steve Martin

Really like...... Ford, Clooney,Wahlberg, Penn (for State of Grace alone).McQueen, Cagney, Mason or Dan Ackroyd/ Chevy Chase.

Cannot stand Matt Damon or Julia Roberts. For the life of me I cannot see why people rate them so highly.

Robert Mitchum was a class act also.

Like:
Christopher Walken
Robert de Niro
Tim Robbins
Joe Pesci
Bill Murray

Don't Like:
Al Pacino

Quote from: Derry Dolly on September 27, 2010, 10:50:00 AM
Robert DeNiro
Jack Nicholson 8)
Leo DiCaprio

cant stand Dustin Hoffman,Jack Black and Sean Penn (not cos of their acting skills..they just annoy me.) >:(

Why didn't you mention any ladies?  :P

Robert Downey Jr is always very watchable and John Cusack is always good.

Derry Dolly

Quote from: ziggysego on September 27, 2010, 12:00:55 PM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on September 27, 2010, 10:50:00 AM
Robert DeNiro
Jack Nicholson 8)
Leo DiCaprio

Why didn't you mention any ladies?  :P

cos i was just complaining  :D why didnt u??
in no order..cate blanchett, kate winslet, meryl streep, carey mulligan, julia roberts, susan sarandon and ellen page. although not the greatest actress, i like sandra bullock..jus cos she's likeable.

daniel day lewis
al pacino
michael douglas
matt damon
christopher walken
johnny depp

day lewis is the most real I have seen in "There will be blood" also thought Pacino was great in donnis brasco and the devils advocate and heat.VIGO MORTENSEN is very good too.