Official Meath Manager Thread

Started by Jinxy, September 07, 2010, 03:21:29 PM

Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 28, 2010, 03:05:14 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 28, 2010, 02:37:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 28, 2010, 02:00:32 PM
harnan was a complete disaster in maynooth for a few years. had decent players but went nowhere. The players and club were less than impressed with them - but maybe its a case of the townie mentality just too soft or lazy to get their act together - maynooth have been underachievng for decades now

The fact that they won the Leinster Intermediate Championship under Cryan in his first year after taking over from Harnan would add weight to that argument. In fairness to Harnan I think a lot of people in Maynooth were simply against him from day one (similar story with David Beggy in Leixlip). Historically, there's always been a great Kildare/Meath rivalry in the town. The locals found it hard to accept a Meath legend like Harnan with many South Meath folk working/studying/socialising in Maynooth. Barney Rock's success with Celbridge bucks the trend in North Kildare.

I don't think Maynooth have the talent at the moment to be a serious force in Kildare. Apart from the Ennis brothers and Cashin they're average enough. Naughton was a good servant on various Kildare junior teams but he's pushing on a bit now, Paul Flood likewise. They haven't the underage talent coming through like Larries, Athy, Celbridge or even JTB who could become a bit of a force again if they get back to senior.
I have relations in maynooth DH and thats incorrect
there are a gaggle of young lads well good enough to play for Kildare seniors
comerfords (4 brothers) and Cannings (2 brothers - nephews of Dublins infamous managerial Canning) for a start.

Harnan was not disliked but only when he had them running round the equstrian centre instead of playing football and doing ball work that he started to lose them after his initial year !

imo cryan was / is no great shakes either - maynooth have a huge amount of talent but always had a rubbish exec and committee that hold them back more than anything else.

Kevin Comerford is an excellent player but I'm not sure he's up to inter county standard. John was one of the mainstays on the minor side the past two years - strong as a bull but lacking in pace. I wouldn't be certain he'll make it. Paddy or David wouldn't be regulars on the Maynooth team I don't think though? Conor Canning looked good on the u21 side a few years ago but I haven't really seen much of him since.

I don't think Liam Harnan had the talent that Rock has down the road in Celbridge for instance. They were always a yo-yo club between senior and intermediate even before Harnan. The last manager to get the best out of them was probably Davy Dalton back in the late nineties - ironically enough, the current Meath minor manager!

Maye inter co standard maybe not! The problem is that maynooth have not utilised these young lads and others at all!! In other clubs they'd be brought on way more! Dalton was also v poor at maynooth which again points to the club itself being the problem!
Still from his methods, man mgt , selections and strategy - harnan didn't look too hot !

Quoteimo cryan was / is no great shakes either - maynooth have a huge amount of talent but always had a rubbish exec and committee that hold them back more than anything else.

:o

That's my family you're insulting there LB, careful!!!!

But they were pretty useless, have turned it around somewhat...

Hey!
Start a Maynooth manager thread if ye want.

Quote from: Jinxy on September 28, 2010, 06:09:38 PM
Hey!
Start a Maynooth manager thread if ye want.
well be worried as I heard this evening that Moynalvey were told to ensure they put forward Harnan's name for consideration. Mr Barney allen himself asked the club.

Also jinxy davy Dalton is meath minor manager and touted for future meath manager. he has been poor in his couple of club management tenures - so unless these two encounter a damascus....

other names mentioned- kearney - wolfe tones (with this tnes side since they were u14),
Carr - good records elswhere -though crokes are a superstar side, Sheridan - Senchelstown - too many relations already on the panel , Nobbers mr Farrell - great coach - people suspect his man management ability.
apart from Carr none have intercounty exp.
If Banty McEnaney is going for it, he might be the best bet (with Farell alongside him as coach)

Dinny - that now makes sense why maynooth are the keystone cops of club organisation in kildare gaa !
btw - their underage coaching is appalling (well some age groups anyway). Soccer men managing a few teams and driving a lot of kids away from football (maybe over to soccer? - only as they are so incompetant I'd think this was a 'cunning plan')

JMohan

When is the deadline for this decision?

demusicman

Quote from: demusicman on September 15, 2010, 03:27:19 PM
Anybody offering odds on who will be next Meath Manager?
They may have saw the light.Nobody better than Eamonn O Brien around. It will only be someone from within the county. No manager in Meath will be paid for the foreseeable future.
My money is on O Brien to be returned with a damaged Halo.

Im still looking for odds on Eamonn O Brien now that nominations have closed?
Yes his name is included and has not been withdrawn.
Lets get down to business with no more clashes between clubs and county board. Hopefully all have learned by their mistakes

demusicman

Barney Allen, Joe Cassellls and Liam Kane have been appointed to interview the thirteen nominated. They will recommend to the executive who have the final say. Included is Eamon O Brien

agorm

Quote from: demusicman on September 30, 2010, 12:45:32 PM
They may have saw the light.Nobody better than Eamonn O Brien around. It will only be someone from within the county. No manager in Meath will be paid for the foreseeable future.

Im still looking for odds on Eamonn O Brien now that nominations have closed?
Yes his name is included and has not been withdrawn.
Lets get down to business with no more clashes between clubs and county board. Hopefully all have learned by their mistakes

Dont think so .....did you hear many (or any) players coming out in support of him? If there had been an uproar with prominent players lending their voices to the calls for him to be returned then, yes, he would stand a huge chance.

I cannot see beyond Harnan, McEneaney, Kelly and, perhaps, Carr.

demusicman

Quote from: agorm on October 05, 2010, 02:58:03 PM
[/qu

Don't think so .....did you hear many (or any) players coming out in support of him? If there had been an uproar with prominent players lending their voices to the calls for him to be returned then, yes, he would stand a huge chance.

I agree nobody has come out in support of O Brien or has any player shown their support for any alternative manager.
The problem arose as a direct clash between club Representatives and executive committee. Some clubs voted without a directive. A lot now appear to regret this decision.
While wishing all well in their endeavours we are limited in our selection as once again "THE SYSTEM" as Colm O Rourke wrote recently remains the same since Sean Boylans time and we still have not learned from our mistakes.
Trevor Giles has shown his support for Eamonn O Brien

agorm

[/qu

Don't think so .....did you hear many (or any) players coming out in support of him? If there had been an uproar with prominent players lending their voices to the calls for him to be returned then, yes, he would stand a huge chance.

I agree nobody has come out in support of O Brien or has any player shown their support for any alternative manager.
The problem arose as a direct clash between club Representatives and executive committee. Some clubs voted without a directive. A lot now appear to regret this decision.While wishing all well in their endeavours we are limited in our selection as once again "THE SYSTEM" as Colm O Rourke wrote recently remains the same since Sean Boylans time and we still have not learned from our mistakes.
Trevor Giles has shown his support for Eamonn O Brien

It would be foolish for players to come out in support of an alternative manager when there is a list of candidates.That is different to supporting a manager that had been (surprisingly) voted out.

Regarding the clubs, I do think that they did reflect the widespread view of the members....I know mine discussed the matter in advance anyway thoughyou are probably right that there was an anti-Barney/ Co. Board factor.

Also Trevor Giles was implicitly critical of O'Brien for not offering a replay to Louth or at least not being open to one anyway. In the Examiner on the monday after the game Giles said he would "unhestitatingly" offer a replay. O'Brien was a critical person in the saga and was reluctant to offer to say the least. He gave a predictible response about playing if they were told etc. Old story at this stage but i think it summed up a lot about O'Brien and his management style.

Banty and Harnan making a joint bid apparently with Harnan as asst. manager.

Why does Banty want to manage Meath?

Quote from: Hardy on October 19, 2010, 02:03:18 PM
Why does Banty want to manage Meath?

The glamour and bright lights?

That must be it - he's got used to the Las Vegas lifestyle up the road and the lure of Navan is irresistible.