Get ready to wave them flegs - Lily Windsor's coming

Started by Fiodoir Ard Mhacha, June 23, 2010, 06:57:58 PM

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on May 18, 2011, 04:36:15 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 18, 2011, 09:58:10 AM
For a man nearing 90 that Prince Philip is looking well.    Oh and I am aware that he hasn't worked a day in his life.
I'm pretty sure he won't die until he has insulted every race and country on this planet.

He is a really bad man.  Us good Irish folk don't slag off anyone from a different ethnic background, race or colour. 

Quote from: seafoid on May 18, 2011, 04:35:30 PM
That was a lovely óráid from Criostóir. The Ronan Kerr funeral was very sad but the cross community unity was something else to see.   

I'd say the Brits were wondering, though, where deer hunting came into hurling when Christy was talking about "does that died".

Quote from: Hardy on May 18, 2011, 04:41:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 18, 2011, 04:35:30 PM
That was a lovely óráid from Criostóir. The Ronan Kerr funeral was very sad but the cross community unity was something else to see.   

I'd say the Brits were wondering, though, where deer hunting came into hurling when Christy was taking about "does that died".

For a man nearing 90 that Prince Philip is looking well.    Oh and I am aware that he hasn't worked a day in his life.
I'm pretty sure he won't die until he has insulted every race and country on this planet.

It's a wonder he hasn't said anything yet.

Quote from: ziggysego on May 18, 2011, 04:51:38 PM

It's a wonder he hasn't said anything yet.

By all accounts he asked Joe Sheridan why he wasn't playing for Leinster at the weekend in Cardiff.

Seen a little bit of the coverage there. She got a right bit of manhandling there they were close to  tripping over themselves to meet her. Also did I hear correct that christy cooney was telling her that gumshields would be compulsory from next year.     

I also heard Christy saying that the sliotar moved at 150 mph. That seems very fast. Lar and Benny Maher looked a bit sheepish when he said that :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 18, 2011, 05:00:43 PM
I also heard Christy saying that the sliotar moved at 150 mph. That seems very fast. Lar and Benny Maher looked a bit sheepish when he said that :D

Think he meant if it was in the back seat of D.J's Bugatti on the way home from training.

Quote from: Nally Stand on May 18, 2011, 04:23:20 PM
Seriously hardy there is absolutely nothing in that which I haven't already answered here.
I think that you are arguing over the same thing really.
I suspect that NS wants a more outlined plan of future events with dates etc on them.

I would agree that there reunification is a done deal. Removing our articles 2 & 3 of the constitution allowed this to be finally put in place.
Once there is a voting majority, referendum, vote for reunification - then it will all start to happen.
Thats the political side of it.
The practical and financial side of things requires lots of work.
it will be fairly obv before then that this reunification will look likely to happen.
I expect that the british gov will help things along as they want to get rid of the north, and have agreed this with the Irish - otherwise these terms as per GFA would not have been accepted !
they will do their bit to try and encourage people to not want to remain within the union (Rem British dirty tricks!!).Jobs will head east back to England.
the Irish gov will have some tweaking to do with health services, benefits and above all - creation of jobs and investment along the border areas and run down parts of the six counties (which is more or less everywhere).
We can ship belfast over to scotland in exchange.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 18, 2011, 04:15:10 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 18, 2011, 03:53:57 PM

Quote from: Rossfan on May 18, 2011, 03:07:41 PM
It was ... apart from the 1918 to 1921 period.
So the only times the IRA weren't gangsters were when they won your freedom?
I'm telling you that that was the only time a lot of Irish people didnt look on them as using methods which revolted and alienated the majority of the Irish people both Nationalist and Unionist
The Irish people through the GFA are now in control of their own destiny in accordance with the terms of that agreement ( the bit where the 6 Cos/ 26 Cos get to decide separately if they want an All Ireland political entity) that we voted overwhelmingly for.
See my response to Hardy re. Independence
Independence is the right of people to make decisions on their Country's future ... unlike before the GFA when the British govt had a veto over the north's future
Going by your earlier logic if we agree in future to have some sort of All Ireland Federation with some links between the 6 Cos and GB , you still wouldnt want the British monarch visiting the 26 Counties as we wouldnt have a 32 county Republic of the type you say Connolly , Pearse etc wanted. We'll never have the type of one those lads wanted because we won't be allowed to set up an early 20th Century Socialist State and none of ye hoors will speak Irirsh to give us the ideal Ireland Mac Piarais wanted.
Where to start. Firstly, I am opposed to any form of partition of Ireland, based on federation or any other such nonsense. (Ironically, you push this idea despite it not being mentioned in the GFA which you also lecture about). Would, in this federations idea, you allow the 26 counties to surrender some of it's power to the UK so that it would have equal ties to the UK as you would picture the six counties to have? If not, then is that not telling me that your right to full Independence from Britain supersedes mine? Secondly, as stated in an earlier post, I'd rather not look at this visit in your partitionist terms - the British Queen has visited Ireland many times, so I'm well used to it. My chief problem lies with yesterdays pathetic showcase event. Finally, you mention "a 32 county Republic of the type you say Connolly , Pearse etc wanted." Where did I say this?
I'm looking at a Federation/confederation as a practical way of having an All Ireland entity with local autonomy for the constituent parts e.g like the US/Germany/Switzerland etc none of ehich consider themselves partitioned.

you said that until the Rebublic which Connolly etc died for was established you didnt want Mrs Windsor in the Garden. ;)

You are looking at a federation while lecturing me about what the GFA states. The GFA says nothing about a federation.

And you haven't answered my question:
In this federations idea, would you allow the 26 counties to surrender some of it's power to the UK so that it would have equal ties to the UK as you would picture the six counties to have? If not, then is that not telling me that your right to full Independence from Britain supersedes mine?

And in your initial post you stated that I mentioned "the type" of Republic which Connolly et al died for. Where did I talk about the type of Republic they died for?      " ;) "

Quote from: Go home ref on May 17, 2011, 08:32:02 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 17, 2011, 03:41:59 PM
Irishmen & Woman standing with/kissing the ass of the British Queen, with the British National Anthem playing, in a garden of Remembrance for those who died in the unfinished struggle for Independence. HOW MATURE ARE WE!!!? ::) Can't help but think of the Patriots who must be turning in their graves.

"Take it down from the mast Irish traitors" eh?

It's absolutely disgusting to be honest why don't they jsut rejoin the commonwealth and be done with it? Why do so many Irish people have such a slavish mentality? I'm convinced you would never find this slavish mentality in any other country.
Recognise this woman?

Yep, it's Her Majesty again. And she's addressing the 53 independent nations of the Commonwealth, of which she is Head. As you might guess, many of those Nations fought long and bloody wars for liberation from Britain, all of them rather more recently than the Irish Republics.

Are you saying that they're all "slavish" in their mentality?

P.S. When the Queen visits their countries, she very often lays a Wreath at their National Monuments to Liberation etc. Indeed in the earlier days of her reign, this was very often alongside the very leaders of the liberation movements themselves. Still, I imagine the likes of Jomo Kenyatta and Kwame Nekruma had no self-respect, lick-spittles that they were... ::)

When is she due to make her statement?

Interesting that only 1 of the 9 Ulster counties accepted invitation, speaks volumes that those most affected decided not yet, this to me should be respected more than any other viewpoint.

Aside from the pros and cons of the visit, the sight of the Queen sitting in an empty sports stadium was a bit odd.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 18, 2011, 03:08:03 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 17, 2011, 04:58:01 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 17, 2011, 02:38:19 PM
The comments page on RTE.ie is embarrassing.

"Finally we will be seen as a civilised respectable nation"    ::)
I know.

Yiz have a loooooooooooooog way to go before reaching that stage... ;)

I would have thought a proud Irishman like yourself would not resort to that type of depiction. That isn't even a misrepresentaion of the Republic, Nationalism or Republicanism but all Irish people including yourself.
I took the "we" in the quotation ("civilised, respectable nation") to refer to the Irish Republic. And having been eg in Temple Bar on a Saturday evening, I'd say that depiction is accurate enough!

But if you tell me that it actually refers to Ireland (island), then even if I may have found myself in such a position on occasion, it won't have been in that garb*.

* - I don't wear a hat  ;)

Quote from: Evil Genius on May 18, 2011, 05:31:39 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 18, 2011, 03:08:03 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 17, 2011, 04:58:01 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 17, 2011, 02:38:19 PM
The comments page on RTE.ie is embarrassing.

"Finally we will be seen as a civilised respectable nation"    ::)
I know.

Yiz have a loooooooooooooog way to go before reaching that stage... ;)

I would have thought a proud Irishman like yourself would not resort to that type of depiction. That isn't even a misrepresentaion of the Republic, Nationalism or Republicanism but all Irish people including yourself.
I took the "we" in the quotation ("civilised, respectable nation") to refer to the Irish Republic. And having been eg in Temple Bar on a Saturday evening, I'd say that depiction is accurate enough!

But if you tell me that it actually refers to Ireland (island), then even if I may have found myself in such a position on occasion, it won't have been in that garb*.

* - I don't wear a hat  ;)

Especially a hat with a four leaf clover. Shamrock for dummies.