Gilmore for Taoiseach?

Started by barelegs, June 10, 2010, 09:13:59 PM

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 11, 2010, 12:53:16 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 10, 2010, 10:41:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2010, 10:15:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2010, 10:01:59 PM
This poll must have been taken in the Irish Times HQ. ::)
There are I think 42 constituencies .
Labour will not get a seat in Donegal NE or SW, Cavan/Monaghan,Ros /Leitrim, Mayo, East Galway,Laois/Offaly, Louth,West Limerick,either of the Kerrys.
Unlikely they'll get one in Sligo/Leitrim or Galway West if the poet retires.
That's 0, 1 or 2 out of 49 !!!
Could get 5 in Munster outside Cork and a possible 9 in the rest of Leinster outside Dublin.
There are about 60-63 seats in Dublin and Cork ..hard to see them getting more than 25 at best so 40 seats would be the very best they can hope for.
Gilmore for Taoiseach ....not a chance

Jerry Cowley is running for Labour in Mayo. Johnno and Beverly will be looking over their shoulders at him.

He ruined himself over the Shell craic. Fantastic facilities at Belmullet GAA by the way, fair play to Shell.

Good job all people aren't as easy bought as you.

In an economy with no jobs we should be encouraging companies to come here not the opposite.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 11, 2010, 01:37:43 PM
Labour will not get a seat in Donegal NE or SW, Cavan/Monaghan,Ros /Leitrim, Mayo, East Galway,Laois/Offaly, Louth,West Limerick,either of the Kerrys.
Could get 5 in Munster outside Cork and a possible 9 in the rest of Leinster outside Dublin.
There are about 60-63 seats in Dublin and Cork ..hard to see them getting more than 25 at best so 40 seats would be the very best they can hope for.

Jerry Cowley is running for Labour in Mayo. Johnno and Beverly will be looking over their shoulders at him.

He ruined himself over the Shell craic. Fantastic facilities at Belmullet GAA by the way, fair play to Shell.

In an economy with no jobs we should be encouraging companies to come here not the opposite.

No matter what? No problem with even a company with as bad a record as Shell coming so long as they behave ethically and have to adhere to the laws of the land.

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 11, 2010, 01:40:26 PM

No matter what? No problem with even a company with as bad a record as Shell coming so long as they behave ethically and have to adhere to the laws of the land.

If we don't expect it from our Government it's hard to expect it from anyone else.

Grand. We'll give them Hill 16, Parnell Park and all the oil in Dalkey via the world's biggest pipeline through your garden, for 50 jobs. Also they will be given powers to just show up and take your garden and evict you. I'm sure you won't mind after all we need the jobs.

Quote from: muppet on June 11, 2010, 03:16:17 PM

Grand. We'll give them Hill 16, Parnell Park and all the oil in Dalkey via the world's biggest pipeline through your garden, for 50 jobs. Also they will be given powers to just show up and take your garden and evict you. I'm sure you won't mind after all we need the jobs.

Already a big pipeline going through the centre of Castlebar, very welcome at that. People are moved for the good of the nation all the time, how the hell do you think new roads, Luas lines, reopening railways, building new community facilities get built. I really don't hold much sympathy for some of those so-called protesters; one in particular can be seen falling off bar stools in Galway. The Gardai in Mayo costs more than most other counties with much bigger populations the sole reason is keeping travelling circus professional protestors. The Gardai resources would be much better spent in Castlebar, Ballina, Westport, Claremorris, Swinford, Kiltimagh etc. or providing Community Gardai in rural parts of the County. "I'm a local" says the protestor wearing a certain other counties GAA top from the other Coast and with an accent well not a Mayo one for sure.

Anyways the reason Jerry Crowley lost his seat the last time was because he supported the Shell to Sea crowd against the will of the vast majority of the county and the majority of the local community up there.

I reckon a left wing vote would more likely go to Michael Kilcoyne if he ran as an Independent (he is ex-Labour for non-Mayo posters), Gerry Murray if he runs again for SF (but I don't think there is a big SF vote in Mayo), Harry Barrett might run for Labour and might split the vote by taking the lefties in Castlebar. The Greens should forget about Mayo.

"People are moved for the good of the nation all the time".

Only once in the history of the State has this power been given to a private (foreign owned) company. It was found to be unconstitutional. Some of the protestors served nearly 3 months in jail to highlight this issue. No one has served anytime for the illegal confiscation of Irish citizens land.

In addition do you condone the treatment handed out to a non-protestor by the Gardai leaving him with a stroke but no Garda apology (Shell did apologise)? This story will receive as much media attention as the real story behind Anglo, i.e. minimal if anything.

Ireland of the welcomes (as long as you have more money than the locals).

Majority of voters want an election in 2010

A majority of the electorate want a General Election before the end of the year, according to the second part of an opinion poll in today's Irish Times

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0612/politics.html

Quote from: Zapatista on June 12, 2010, 08:41:09 AM

A majority of the electorate want a General Election before the end of the year, according to the second part of an opinion poll in today's Irish Times

They have a mandate to govern you know  ::)

no mo do yakamo

Gilmore will never be taoiseach as long as he has a hole in his arse.
It wasn't even kennedy in the car.

Quote from: no mo do yakamo on June 12, 2010, 06:07:50 PM
Gilmore will never be taoiseach as long as he has a hole in his arse.

Sure he is flying the Red flag and saying nothing about anything, best way to do well in polls in seems.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 12, 2010, 04:16:03 PM

Ye may get on to RTE with your rolly eyes.

They might point out to you that a mandate doesn't change what people want.

This poll is the end of Enda Kenny.

Quote from: Zapatista on June 13, 2010, 09:34:46 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 12, 2010, 04:16:03 PM

Ye may get on to RTE with your rolly eyes.

They might point out to you that a mandate doesn't change what people want.

LOL, am I being mistaken for a Soldier with no Destiny  :D

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 13, 2010, 11:59:46 AM
This poll is the end of Enda Kenny.

Yip thats the big story not the end of FF  ::)