Who would you like to see as Mayo Manager in 2010

James Horan
Tommy Lyons
Anthony McGarry
John Maughan

Quote from: Maigheo Abu on September 02, 2010, 10:42:16 PM
Why would the 3rd coming of Sir John be any different than the 2nd coming of his compadre Johnno. Surely what we need is a clean slate, new ideas, and (Dear Santa) the Co Board to back off and give one of our own some breathing room to develop a squad over a few years without hype and expectation. We have the talent at minor and U'21 coming through, leave it to one man and HIS selectors to do a job over a 3 year period.
Forget about Johns and Mickos. They have all chuckied their lá's.

I d be inclined to agree.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2010, 01:47:45 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 31, 2010, 10:33:11 PM
As someone who has alway been anti Maughan since '96 & Chuckiegate, I have to say he's the most appealing, has twice taken us from nowhere to AIFs.
Honestly I'd take that again

I think we in Knockmore have to build a bridge and get over what happened in Maughan's previous tenures. He is the stand out candidate at the minute and we are at an all time low and he seems to be able to get us out of nowhere to AIFs, or damn near it anyway. I would take him to be honest.

f**k Larnaparka anyway. Only jokin Lar. But hold on a minute it s like only Knockmore were pissed off with some of that. That shite fucked us all up and while the Knockmore lads were huge omissions there were others too like Gary Ruane. I know that Knockmore people hate anybody else havin any good to say about Knockmore ( messes about with their siege mentality). But we do. Leavin out those guys didn't just piss off the Knockmores

QuoteThe Mayo county board have received a number of expressions of interest in the position of Mayo senior football manager other than from those who where already in the public domain, the Mayo Advertiser has learned.

Earlier this week the Mayo executive realised a statement outlining the next step in the process. Members of the county board have been in contact with Wicklow manager Mick O'Dwyer about the position and he remains in contention for the job, after being granted 10 days to make up his mind last Monday night. O'Dwyer's assistant in Wicklow and Mayo native Arthur French was in attendance at last Sunday's Mayo senior club championship quarter finals.

"There have been a few people who have expressed an interest the position to us, they could enter the process should the appointment committee decide to do so, there are two or three of them, mostly from outside the county," Mayo county board secretary Seán Feeney told the Advertiser. "They don't want to be in the public domain just yet, but they have said that they are interested in the position." However Feeney went on to say that those people could be ruled out of contention at Monday night's county board meeting. "We have had a very quick turn around to meet with the nominees before the meeting, and the decision will come down to the delegates. You don't know what the reaction will be from the floor on the night and they could decide the job wouldn't go to an outsider and that would rule a number of people out straight away. But this will all be decided on at the county board meeting."

The next few days promise to see a number of developments on the appointment of the next Mayo manager. The executive of the county board met on Tuesday night this week and laid out a road map towards the appointment of the man to take charge of the side. The three principal officers of the county board, chairman James Waldron, secretary Séan Feeney, and treasurer JP Lambe, will meet with the four men who have been nominated for the position, James Horan, Anthony McGarry, Denis Kearney and John Maughan, to sound out if they are interested in the position and who they will be bringing along with them in their managment team. Following on from this process they will compile a shortlist for the position from those who are nominated.

The next step will be to appoint a managment appointment committee, who will be appointed by the executive and put before Monday's county board meeting to be ratified by the delegates. The terms of the interview committee will be drawn up and approved and the committee will go about interviewing the candidates. They can at this stage approach other people about the position if they wish and interview them before making a recommendation to be voted on by the delegates.

Heard it from a v strong armagh source last night that the mayo supporters club have had preliminary discussions with the Geezer.
His 3 years are up in Kildare...

Zero chance Geezer would every contemplate the likes of Mayo.

And it would go against everything the man stands for to walk out on a group of lads that he has worked closely with except if he wanted a break from it or for Armagh.

All is not well in kildare with the county board.
He's given them 3 years and it wouldn't be out of place for him to take on another long term project now.
There's also the influence of a close mayo friend to consider

Good Lord! It seems Rossfan is correct afterall! :o What next!!!

Quote from: rrhf on September 03, 2010, 10:08:42 AM
Could you imagine Mc Geeney and Conor Mortimer getting on?

He may be the man to sort out Conor Mortimer, (and a fair few others as well) you wouldn't know. I just hope we get it sorted sooner rather than later and that it's not Micko. Mayo play New York sometime in October and the manager whoever he is would have a nice holiday on his first game in charge as nobody really rates the FBD league.

FL/MAYO

Quote from: Uladh on September 03, 2010, 09:58:27 AM
All is not well in kildare with the county board.
He's given them 3 years and it wouldn't be out of place for him to take on another long term project now.
There's also the influence of a close mayo friend to conside
r

Who would this be?

Quote from: Uladh on September 03, 2010, 02:00:32 PM

Kevin O'Neill

sure thats right they played for na fianna together . I wonder would he be interested , Geezer as manager with o' neill as one of his selectors ? Fair play uladh you have kept this thread going for another few days gives us mayo folk something to talk about it was getting fiierce quite on this thread