Started by Barney, June 06, 2010, 09:39:34 AM

Who would you like to see as Mayo Manager in 2010

James Horan
Tommy Lyons
Anthony McGarry
John Maughan

Any rumours on selectors - that could be the selling point.

Mike Finnerty said in the Mayo News that Maughan was putting together an impressive team - who was on that?

Who will Tommy have?

Would James have some of his playing colleagues?

It is the full package that really is going to be decisive here.

Talks of boycotss at the end of the day are not going to get us anywhere either. Whatever chance the man has if everybody is pulling against him he cannot succeed before he starts, and that won't be his fault.

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: Barney on September 24, 2010, 04:15:50 PM

Mike Finnerty said in the Mayo News that Maughan was putting together an impressive team - who was on that?

Who will Tommy have?

Talks of boycotss at the end of the day are not going to get us anywhere either. Whatever chance the man has if everybody is pulling against him he cannot succeed before he starts, and that won't be his fault.

McGarry had Kevin O'Neill, Pat Fallon and kenny Mortimer as part of his back room team. Lyons has none picked yet, An Other for the time being. The selectors to be picked after appointment with the County Board. Dont know about Horans back room team.

southsidejohnny

Tommy Lyons. This is what Wikipidia has to say about him.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaJump to: navigation, search
For other people named Thomas Lyons, see Thomas Lyons (disambiguation).
This biographical article needs additional citations for verification. Please help by adding reliable sources. Contentious material about living persons that is unsourced or poorly sourced must be removed immediately, especially if potentially libelous or harmful. (April 2008)

Tommy Lyons is a retired Irish Gaelic football manager from County Mayo[1] who has managed 2 inter-county sides in his time. He also managed club side Kilmacud Crokes to All-Ireland glory on St. Patricks Day, 1995. He also spent time as chairman of Crokes, until 2007. He is also a regular pannellist/analyst on RTÉ's The Sunday Game. Although born in County Mayo, Lyons considers himself a Dubliner, having moved to Dublin at a very young age. Lyons playing career with Kilmacud Crokes ended early due to a persistent knee injury. A screw had to be placed within the knee at one point, which hindered his running ability. The screw was removed from his head for the purpose.

Contents [hide]
1 Offaly (1997-1999)
2 Dublin (2002-2004)
3 Celebrity Bainisteoir
4 References

[edit] Offaly (1997-1999)
Lyons was announced as Offaly manager in late 1996. In his first year in charge, they won a Leinster Championship beating then All Ireland champions Meath in the final by an extraordinary fluke and the infliction of witchcraft, voodoo spells and malevolent imprecations on the Meath players. Offaly were beaten in the next game, the All-Ireland semi-final that year. Offaly followed their championship exploits with victory in the National Football League. They were beaten early on in both the Leinster Championshiops of '98 and '99 and following this, Lyons and Offaly parted ways. Lyons returned to his position as an analyst on The Sunday Game and purveyor of the myth that there exists a "gain line" in the game of Gaelic football.

[edit] Dublin (2002-2004)
A full record of the performance of Dublin between 2002 and 2004 is available at: [1]

Lyons was confirmed as the new Dublin football manager in October 2001. Dublin had a poor league campaign and only avoided relegation following an away draw with Galway on the last day. Dublin came in to the All Ireland Championship as rank outsiders for the first time in many years and following a poor performance over Wexford, Dublin's chances were written off even further. Dublin also faced a tricky Leinster semi-final against Meath a team they hadn't beaten in 7 years. Lyons had risked bringing in a lot inexperienced players such as Ray Cosgrove, Alan Brogan and John McNally. Dublin won the day, beating Meath with all the new players playing well, especially Cosgrove who scored 2-2 himself. Dublin went on to win Leinster, beating Kildare in the final, and reach the All-Ireland semi-final following victory after a replay over Donegal. In the semi-final, against Armagh, Dublin went in as favourites but lost by a point.

Lyons had played a media game during his first year in charge. When the standard of the team's performances dropped in 2003, the media game Lyons had played came back to haunt him. Lyons's success in his first year was not repeated in the following two years with Dublin failing to win leinster or get past the quarter finals of the All-Ireland. Lyons and the media's relationship got so bad that by the Summer of 2004, he refused to reveal the team to the media until minutes before throw-in. This well-thought out strategy had as much success as his other putative match-winning initiatives and Dublin's success rate in that year was down to their usual low standard.

[edit] Celebrity Bainisteoir
In 2008, Tommy was mentor to Glenda Gilson who was managing "Crumlin" for RTÉ's Celebrity Bainisteoir.

[edit] References
1.^ "Lyons concerned about rise in spectator abuse".

boosabum

Quote from: REDCOL on September 24, 2010, 01:07:55 PM
Its a farce, our outgoing chairman has proclaimed the clubs wanted a mayo man. Sorry, they said they wanted a man from  inside the county James. The spin has begun that this was the clubs choice. A committee was formed the other night with 5 men, this consisted of three executive members so therefore no matter what the other two want they have no say. The committee have not met up yet, however the chairman and John Maughan have a chat, John is gone. The decision is made, clubs had no input into it,the three executive members made the decision.

Now we have a chance, go back to your clubs demand a club meeting and get your delegates to stop this CB decision. They could do it in Meath, now is the time for us to stand up to the County Board for once and for all.

Redol, one of your fellow club mates is on the interviewing commitee, have you spoken to him. Better still, when the club have this years AGM, you get get someone to propose you as the club delegate.

boosabum

Apologies, i also forgot to mention that the treasurer, south board chairman, and president all hail from the great south mayo club, you really should be putting pressure on this guys to get your man (whoever you believe) in the dreaded hot seat

Ludraman

Who will Tommy have?

it seemz early to pick de team b4 he get the job no?
anyway surely it cant b dat different to the old team cept a few of de young ladz. no?

REDCOL

Welcome boosabum, I am aware of the links with the committee as I have already stated this committee is only for show as the executive have the final decision, if you are from our club you will know that this issue will be debated robustly at a club meeting. Who I want as Mayo Manager is irrelevant, the decision should be made by the clubs not the executive.

Interesting thoughts from a few of Tommys ex players.

With Jim Gavin, Darcy coached the Dublin under-21 side to an All Ireland in 2003, though the team was officially managed by Tommy Lyons. What was their relationship with Lyons at the time? "It was frosty enough. If Tommy walked into this room now I would have great craic with him but I don't agree with his approach to management. He had a very different agenda to Tommy Carr." - Declan Darcy

The book entitled Dessie Tangled Up In Blue was co-written with Seán Potts. In the book, he was highly critical of Tommy Lyons and his management style. - Dessie Farrell

Well, maybe if doesn't start in the first place we won't have this problem Barney.

In relation to what other posters have mentioned, about why so virulent an anti-Lyons reaction, people are upset is because we were promised a proper selection process.

When that didn't materialise, we had come to terms with Maughan III. There was an argument for giving youth its fling also. Sure there was nothing guaranteed but at least they are all our own. Never in our wildest dreams did we think we'd have Tommy Lyons foisted on us.

Someone made a Mickey Moran comparison. Mickey Moran inherited a team that had let itself down in an All-Ireland and wanted to go back. Tommy will be starting from a much lower base. We've been betrayed.

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: REDCOL on September 24, 2010, 05:16:55 PM
Welcome boosabum, I am aware of the links with the committee as I have already stated this committee is only for show as the executive have the final decision, if you are from our club you will know that this issue will be debated robustly at a club meeting. Who I want as Mayo Manager is irrelevant, the decision should be made by the clubs not the executive.

Interesting thoughts from a few of Tommys ex players.

With Jim Gavin, Darcy coached the Dublin under-21 side to an All Ireland in 2003, though the team was officially managed by Tommy Lyons. What was their relationship with Lyons at the time? "It was frosty enough. If Tommy walked into this room now I would have great craic with him but I don't agree with his approach to management. He had a very different agenda to Tommy Carr." - Declan Darcy

The book entitled Dessie Tangled Up In Blue was co-written with Seán Potts. In the book, he was highly critical of Tommy Lyons and his management style. - Dessie Farrell

Redcol, I've heard Maughan withdrew because he objected to a member of the committee. Has this any basis in reality

maughan III was a mirage  seen by posters here and so too is tommy lyons until/if he is appointed .
no one is betrayed the process is still ongoing.
and no just because 60(64) pages of waffle have been spouted here  it does not entitle any one to have any greater say. how deluded is that; the committee men for better or worse have and will always have the final say on who the next manager will be and the one after that.
as has been pointed out the only say we can have in that is by contacting you club delegate  and not by some cowardly anonymous boycott .
time to reconnect with reality here

boosabum

The clubs did and still do have a say, they were asked to nominate people for the position, the delegates decided that micko was not the answer and they will have the final say in ratifying the proposal of the committee. As for the committe itself, well you have the outgoing and incoming chairmen, the treasure ( as the cost is a huge factor ) and two others nominated by the delegates.  Everyone has there own opinion but the process is not all spoke and mirrors plus this is how gaa hq declare the process should be carried out - remember the cork football strike.
Mayo football is at a low and whoever the new manager will be should be commended and support for taking on a thankless task. We expect to compete for all irelands based on a tradition from 60 years ago. Most managers ultimately  end in failure and sadly for us it's inglouriously failure.

Quote from: boosabum on September 24, 2010, 07:08:31 PM
We expect to compete for all irelands based on a tradition from 60 years ago. Most managers ultimately  end in failure and sadly for us it's inglouriously failure.

What about 1996? Was that 60 years ago?  Mayo are in the doldrums but they won't be forever.
Look at Galway . Totally out of it in the 80s and then came around and won 2 all-Irelands. 

boosabum

Quote from: seafoid on September 24, 2010, 08:40:24 PM
Quote from: boosabum on September 24, 2010, 07:08:31 PM
We expect to compete for all irelands based on a tradition from 60 years ago. Most managers ultimately  end in failure and sadly for us it's inglouriously failure.

What about 1996? Was that 60 years ago?  Mayo are in the doldrums but they won't be forever.
Look at Galway . Totally out of it in the 80s and then came around and won 2 all-Irelands.
Tt

Galway had a class manager for those all irelands!!!
You must remember that we also went a decade without a provential title either.
89, 96, 97, 04, 06; tradition of failure, 25 years without minor success either

boosabum

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2010, 08:43:45 PM
What club nominated Tommy Lyons?
ultimately, if Lyons is the pick of the bunch the delegates can reject him like Banty in Monaghan
then the process can continue until someone is ratified. I think the board did say at the beginning of the process that they would seek names also. Remember that Maughan was nominated but had to be contacted by the chairman I believe to get his hat in the ring.
I hope all the runners will be in castlebar over the weekend to run the eye over the 120 or so players on parade