Tír Eoghain vs Áth Cliath - Páirc Uí hÉilí, An Ómaigh - 11/04/2010

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, March 28, 2010, 06:35:59 PM

cornafean

Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on April 12, 2010, 11:02:13 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 12, 2010, 03:02:13 AM
Nope, not a chance Antrim will beat that. Tyrone by 4 or 5 but never in doubt.

You are 100% HS. Tyrone will beat Antrim by at leats five points. Why, because they are better all over the field. The only significant victory that Antrim have had over the past 12 months is beating Donegal in Ballybofey and even that is questionable when you wonder why the Donegal goal was disallowed at the end. After that.... Cavan!
This year Offaly and Wexford have beaten them, hardly giants of the game. Tyrone to win easy!

Indeed Cavan are not giants of the game but they did beat Wexford a few weeks back.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Quote from: rrhf on April 12, 2010, 12:36:23 PM
Fair dues to Dublin - ye had us chasing shadows yesterday.  When was the last time Tyrone were in Division 2, some debate about that at the moment.  The most disappointing aspects of yesterday for me was yet another poor gameplan,  the demise of our defence, the performances of our midfield men who were cleaned out, and the sight at the start of the second half a visably injured Colm Cavanagh limping to full forward  - now either he was bluffing or the management hadnt noticed his limping out of the tunnel, or at half time.   I hate to read the commentry on Gormley - a Tyrone legend, but I felt he was hung out to dry on Brogan both by an inactive midfield and management.  Unfortunately Sean O Neill wasnt played from the start instead of Davy whom Dublin targeted,  Mickeys reasons are justifiable to a point but when relegation occurs he must now take responsibility also and account of what he could have done better.  Positive aspect for me was Peter Harte who will be the brightest spark in Tyrone football in a couple of years and Philip Jorday played well.  I felt sorry for Marty Penrose yesterday - just a bad day after a great campaign, I think hes probably a half forward anyway.   Ive no doubt we will beat Antrim as cuteness and experience will prevail there, but how far we can go is anyones guess.  In reality we should have lost every league game - and just how well this transition period goes is anyones guess - Its some test for Harte and hes had mixed results to date but Im sure things will improve for him.  Id say expectation levels going into the championship is not a bad thing, but have they been this low in 10 years?     

I can't see MH going man for man again in the Championship as I think Gormley & McMenamin could be exposed for pace in Croke park if they did.

Whats the latest on SON?

Quote from: heffo on April 12, 2010, 12:47:26 PM
Fair dues to Dublin - ye had us chasing shadows yesterday.  When was the last time Tyrone were in Division 2, some debate about that at the moment.  The most disappointing aspects of yesterday for me was yet another poor gameplan,  the demise of our defence, the performances of our midfield men who were cleaned out, and the sight at the start of the second half a visably injured Colm Cavanagh limping to full forward  - now either he was bluffing or the management hadnt noticed his limping out of the tunnel, or at half time.   I hate to read the commentry on Gormley - a Tyrone legend, but I felt he was hung out to dry on Brogan both by an inactive midfield and management.  Unfortunately Sean O Neill wasnt played from the start instead of Davy whom Dublin targeted,  Mickeys reasons are justifiable to a point but when relegation occurs he must now take responsibility also and account of what he could have done better.  Positive aspect for me was Peter Harte who will be the brightest spark in Tyrone football in a couple of years and Philip Jorday played well.  I felt sorry for Marty Penrose yesterday - just a bad day after a great campaign, I think hes probably a half forward anyway.   Ive no doubt we will beat Antrim as cuteness and experience will prevail there, but how far we can go is anyones guess.  In reality we should have lost every league game - and just how well this transition period goes is anyones guess - Its some test for Harte and hes had mixed results to date but Im sure things will improve for him.  Id say expectation levels going into the championship is not a bad thing, but have they been this low in 10 years?     

I can't see MH going man for man again in the Championship as I think Gormley & McMenamin could be exposed for pace in Croke park if they did.

Whats the latest on SON?

He admitted himself in the Irish News today that he had considered playing a sweeper but wanted a more positive approach to the match and then realised that this had back-fired. So by the time the damage was done reverting to a more defensive formation would have been fruitless as they needed a lot of scores to get back into it.

The two goals at the end of the first half killed us. Although they were well on top we were only two or three points back at that stage. Seeing the highlights last night reminded me of how good Dublins foot--passing into their FF line was, a combination of good play and lack of pressure by the tyrone men out the field.

Another factor that didnt help us was this yapping crap. Gave away ten metres a number of times and got frees turned over for back chat and their second goal came directly from a Tyrone man not waiting for the ref's whistle before hitting our free. Silly stuff.

Sawyer

Whats the latest on SON?

Both SON and Dooher played for Clann's at the weekend. They were defeated by Aghaloo.

Quote from: omagh_gael on April 12, 2010, 01:02:29 PM

Whats the latest on SON?

He admitted himself in the Irish News today that he had considered playing a sweeper but wanted a more positive approach to the match and then realised that this had back-fired. So by the time the damage was done reverting to a more defensive formation would have been fruitless as they needed a lot of scores to get back into it.

The two goals at the end of the first half killed us. Although they were well on top we were only two or three points back at that stage. Seeing the highlights last night reminded me of how good Dublins foot--passing into their FF line was, a combination of good play and lack of pressure by the tyrone men out the field.

Another factor that didnt help us was this yapping crap. Gave away ten metres a number of times and got frees turned over for back chat and their second goal came directly from a Tyrone man not waiting for the ref's whistle before hitting our free. Silly stuff.
to be fair i thought alot of that was an over fussy referee.
hopped a free we had on our own endline for being taken about 3/4 yards from the wrong place, yet lets a player steal 5/6 yards inside the touchline to kick a sideline over (still a great score though)
also made tyrone take a kick out with our full back down injured in front of the goals, yet continuously stopped play for dublin players injured in the middle of the field.
though he was very poor and mad a lot of frustarting decisions.the penrose one was very theatrical, but was right in front of me and was certainly a foul, no matter what way he went down.
the stanard of refereeing the league this year has been absolutly shocking. the best refereeing performance i seen in the tyrone games was mcenany and they made him go back and issue 3 further red cards!!!
That said, take nothing away from dublin, they were much the better side and fully deserved thier victory. bernard brogan was outstanding and got some great supply from further out the field.
tyrone will be very dissapointed with the loss and even moreso the way they played, lets hope they use that as a way to raise the ante going into the championship

talktothehand

why do you have to wait for the refs wistle to hit a free. was the free from the hands not brought in to speed the game up? self defeating if you have to wait on the ref!!

cornafean

When was the last time Tyrone were in Division 2, some debate about that at the moment. 

Cavan beat Tyrone in a Division 1 relegation playoff in Clones in Spring 1997. I remember a Tyrone fella telling me that day that Cavan had a great chance of winning Ulster that year. I thought he was mad.  :)
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Division II for a year is no disaster (don't think it'll be more than that).

Disappointing to see the lack of apetite for the fight, particularly in the latter stages of the game yesterday, where bursts out of the TIr Eoghain defence were presented with a statuesque greater midfield zone, where before we'd have flooded forward snapping the passes all the way. Or even bombing into the opposition goal-mouth for the dropping ball. But nothing yesterday, nada, either because of no real ambition to stay up or lack of fitness, or a mixture of both.

Good display by Dublin, with the new lads doing particularly well. B Brogan is a class act, and could well put the older brother in the shade this year. But, as in most games where Dublin is involved, they weren't quite as good as the hype would portray today, and we weren't as utterly hopeless  ;)

To whom it may concern

WHY TYRONE WERE RELEGATED:

1. Quite simply, the defence was leaqking scores too easily and has been for quite a time. Conceding 2-17 v donegal in McKenna Cup, 1-18 v Derry in Celtic Park and 2-14 v Dublin, 2-10 of whih was in first half, handicaps you straight away. If we look back at Tyrone's displays in Div 1 these past 3-4 seasons, this has been on the cards. Ever since, Mayo walked four goals in against us in April 2007 in Omagh, holes have been appearing. We have not developed 2 trustworthy corner backs, or at the very least, one specialist man marker, aka Lacey, Andy Mallon etc. Conor Gormley has been relied upon for years to plug holes and mark the danger forward. Now i suspect, that role is being bestowed upon Justin McMahon. If Tyrone go man for man, the consequeneces are dire, possibly not extending beyond Antrim. Davy looks slow and tired and he has survived so long due to Tyrone not deploying the man to man system and the free role he enjoys as a result of the blanket defence. This system requires a lot of industry and high octane intensity, the ability to break tackles and move both yourself and the ball out of the defence at pace. Tyrone simply do not have the personnel at the required level to carry this out. I fear the wide spaces of croke park will illustrate this.

2. Management persistence with naive experimentation. Players tried in wrong position etc. Gourley hung out to dry at crner back v Galway. McMenamin exposed on Darren O'Sullivan. Horses for courses and all that. Galway exposed Davy by placing Bergin on him. Dublin clearly followed suit. Tommy McGuigan played at 13, when the corner was clearly not the place for him. Persistence with rotating the keepers. This has never worked, esp since he has brought 3 keepers into the equation. A lot of uncertainty re kickouts.

3. New Rules did not help. Tyrone probably the most affected by hand pass dibacle.

4. Failing and weakness at U-21 grade and County Board's unwillingness to make a difficult decision. Surely Canavan and Lawn time?

CONSEQUENCES OF RELEGATION:

I have heard people say it doesn't matter whether division 1 or 2. But when was the last time a team won Sam from division 2? We are now in a dog eat dog division where there is little to separate any team.

POSITIVES:

1. Peter Harte

2. Martin Penrose's continued developement.

3. Sean Cavanagh's renaissance. Next captain.

4. Aidan Cassidy's emergence.

5. Colm Cavanagh's coming of age.

6. Dermot Carlin getting a fair crack of the whip.

Club Rossa

And we haven't actually played in Division II yet! (And won't have until after the 2010 All-Ireland)

Quote from: Club Rossa on April 12, 2010, 07:14:20 PM
Armagh were in div 2 in 2002 and won the all ireland.

Can't see a team getting as lucky as that again though.

Never one to piss on anyone's parade but enjoy your travels around Div 2 next year :P

The Aristocrat

You all must be smoking some serious mindblowing narcotics if you think this Tyrone team is even half finished. Makes me sick to see people call for Mickys Head on a different substandard forum.

Tyrone will be there or there abouts come August/September. The players they have to come back from injury and i think the Tyrone Camp will be more motivated now to try and change this poor form around. Its nearly a 2 month break now until the championship which is a lot of time to get the house in order.

As for my beloved Dubs, good win, gaining experience in beating the big teams even if it is the league, Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry wins away from home is good IMO. still alot of work to do. A quarter/Semi All Ireland at best for us.

Still think its Cork's to lose and only Kerry's to win  ;), even at this early stage.

Did anybody mention that Johnny Curran did well on goals yesterday ?.

I thought he did very well.