Laois v Armagh - Portlaoise - Sat 6 March 2010

Started by Shortso79, March 01, 2010, 10:00:03 PM

First I've heard of it. Would be a strange decision as he wasn't a million miles away from a starting spot last year and there are definitely places around the middle up for grabs at the moment.

Quote from: AFS on March 04, 2010, 12:26:19 AM
First I've heard of it. Would be a strange decision as he wasn't a million miles away from a starting spot last year and there are definitely places around the middle up for grabs at the moment.

Well I only heard it myself. I agree he mightn't be far from a starting spot. If its true, its disappointing. I hate seeing lads with ability like that not making the most of it.

Goats Do Shave

I thought himself & forker were to come into contention after Sigerson and/or U21 duty?

McKenna barely featured for UUJ and is overage for U21 so these things shouldn't be keeping him out.

The Laois Senior Football team to play Armagh in the NFL on Saturday 6th. March in OMoore Park is as follows -

1 Marty Dowling An Fraoch Mór
2 John Scully Anach
3 Mark Timmons Graig Chuillinn
4 Padraig McMahon Mainistir Baile Atha Roine
5 Darren Strong Ioma
6 Cahir Healy Portlaoise
7 Colm Begley Parnells
8 Brendan Quigley Tigh Mochua
9 Cathal Óg Greene Páirc Raithín an Uisce
10 Peter O'Leary Na Diomasaigh
11 Kevin Meaney Ard Lios Cilchrúis
12 Niall Donoher Coill na Cúirte
13 Michael John Tierney Parnells
14 Paul Lalor Ioma
15 Billy Sheehan Ioma

jez lads they made a pure fool out of young mckenna what was the point of throwing him on with about 30secs to go in the couple of games he featured. would be surprised if he told them to stick it. laois will be takeing this game seriously as they still view armagh as a big name side, similary we need to beat them well in order to maintain momentum and team building. winning is a habit

Jack The Lad

Well Ill think Armagh will struggle down in laois but if clarke is fit this could be a big plus. It will be close.

Armagh team to play Laois in NFL:

1 Philip McEvoy Naomh Padraig, Droim an Tí 
2 Andy Mallon Na Piarsigh Óga, Ard Mhacha
3 Brendan Donaghy An Chluain Mhór
4 Paul Duffy Na Piarsigh Óga, Ard Mhacha
5 Aaron Kernan Raonaithe na Croise
6 Ciaran McKeever Naomh Padraig, Coilleach Eannach
7 Finnian Moriarity Uilf Tón, Doire Mhic Áise
8 James Lavery Séan Mac Diarmada, Machaire
9  Kieran Toner Naomh Mhuire, An Gráinne Mór
10 Joe Feeney Ropairí na Madán
11 Malachy Mackin  Naomh Padraig, Coilleach Eannach
12 Gareth Swift Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
13 Ryan Henderson Clann Éireann, An Lorgain
14 Steven McDonnell Naomh Moiníne, Cill Shléibhe
15 Tony Kernan Raonaithe na Croise

http://www.armagh-gaa.com/Football/News/Armagh-team-to-play-Laois-in-NFL.aspx

I'll be shocked if that team actually lines out.

gander

Quote from: AFS on March 05, 2010, 09:44:05 AM

especially after Donal Murtagh saying yesterday they're going to continue using Aaron in the Half Forward line

It's also been mentioned that Swift is injured, so I reckon we'll see something like this:

1 Philip McEvoy 
2 Andy Mallon
3 Brendan Donaghy
4 Barry Shannon
5 Paul Duffy
6 Ciaran McKeever
7 Finnian Moriarty
8 James Lavery
9  Kieran Toner
10 Joe Feeney
11 Aaron Kernan
12 Malachy Mackin
13 Ryan Henderson
14 Steven McDonnell
15 Tony Kernan

And I wouldn't be surprised to see either Henderson or TK drop out for Clarke.

Aghdavoyle

Quote from: gander on March 05, 2010, 09:52:54 AM
Quote from: AFS on March 05, 2010, 09:44:05 AM

especially after Donal Murtagh saying yesterday they're going to continue using Aaron in the Half Forward line

haha - was just thinking that myself. fecking eejit

Our midfield isn't very mobile so our HBs and HFs are going to have to cover a lot of ground. Good to see McEvoy being rewarded for his consistent displays and keeping his place between the sticks. Hope Clarke starts in place of TK. I reckon there are big scores in a FF line of Clarke, McDonnell and Henderson if the right ball goes in there. I'd love to beat Laois as we owe them a few beatings in Portlaoise.

Dont Matter

I can guarantee you Armagh boys that you'll beat Laois tomorrow, we're really struggling, confidence is very low and a lot of players not happy with the current manager.
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

thewanderer

would take that with a pinch of salt. however lets be honest por has picked some dodgy players for saturday, still cant depend on lavery, feeney, henderson and tk to get us over the line. could be a fustrating drive back home especially if clarkie doesnt play.

If that team starts tomorrow night then the 5/2 about Laois is massive. Outside of McDonnell and placed balls where are the scores going to come from?