Ray Darcy - "I will leave the country if Enda Kenny becomes Taoiseach".

Started by muppet, February 13, 2010, 10:42:37 PM

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:29:29 PM
Sure yiz are all wannabee Meath people anyway!

We wouldn't mind getting our hands on your land thats for sure but that is about it

Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 08, 2011, 04:27:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
I can't stand Vincent Browne or his celebrity journalism, but am I alone in taking the "bottle of whiskey and a revolver" remark as a common metaphor for leaving the stage with dignity? I've certainly used it myself, even in this forum, as I remember. I certainly wouldn't want to trample on the sensitivities of families affected by suicide, but I think offence taken at this remark is a misunderstanding of a common enough saying. People don't take a suggestion that someone should "go jump in a lake" or that a person "should be shot" as real proposals or regard them as insensitive to people affected by drownings or shootings and I really think this remark is in the same vein.

Jaysus Hardy we pretty much typed the same post at the same time - there is hope for Cavan Meath relations after all ;)
+++++ to both comments.

Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 04:29:46 PM
I know you're a Mayo man Muppet but when it comes to Enda FF or anyone else dont need to play the man. He manages to self destruct all by himself most of the time.  I accept you dont rate Ray D'Arcy but to imply he rallies to FF defence or whatever is paranoia. You obviously havent heard the things he's said and Cowan & co in recent times. You're spot on re that insufferable clown Harris but he was more Bertie than FF. I wouldnt be feelling sorry for Gerry Adams "taking heat" though.

Like most families mine has been touched by suicide but the Browne comment was a million miles away from showing any disrespect to such victims. It was a classic comparison to WW11 failed Russian generals. Kenny himself was more disrespectful by twisting it in to an agenda to funk out of the debate. You're correct in saying Browne and he have previous but Enda now has made Vincent seem reasonable and measured.... and that takes some doing!

We've had years of FF cronyism  which has brought this nation to their knees but it's a sad reflection of the quality of politicians now that someone as weak and gimmicky as Enda is more than likely going to be the one charged with leading our recovery.

Inferring that they did what?

On your last paragraph I agree with almost all of it, including Kenny's struggle with public image. But I am seriously concerned that for the 4th time in a row Fianna Fail's election strategy of bashing the opponent and nothing else will work. It may sound incredible but it is happening in front of my eyes on websites everywhere egged on by party loyalists. It is astonishing that they are getting a free ride for bankrupting the state, but they are.

The daft thing, as witnessed on this site, is everyone will fall beautifully into the trap and become participants in the strategy. The issue will be Kenny regardless of what he does. The media will ensure it and FF strategists will cleverly keep throwing the dirt until eventually the public will vote FF in again. A populist party with no ideology (other than getting elected) that has been in power for so long, has its lackeys appointed everywhere that matters. And they know how to use them.

Farcically the public will then blame Kenny for making them vote FF back in again. And we will get what we deserve. Wait and see, FF will be in power.

Muppet, it's possible for the reasonable voter to be determined to punish FF while simultaneously despairing at the choice of alternatives. I certainly have no idea yet how to vote, with the exception that there will be no number against any FF candidate on my paper. And I know Kenny is a lightweight, unpredictable electoral liability without needing FF to point it out to me. I was saying it here long before this campaign started.

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:56:28 PM
Muppet, it's possible for the reasonable voter to be determined to punish FF while simultaneously despairing at the choice of alternatives. I certainly have no idea yet how to vote, with the exception that there will be no number against any FF candidate on my paper. And I know Kenny is a lightweight, unpredictable electoral liability without needing FF to point it out to me. I was saying it here long before this campaign started.

I'm don't particularly mean to argue with you as you have a consistent position which hasn't changed.

There are plenty of Shinners on here who will attack Kenny as they will attack the other party leaders, that is the nature of politics. No problem there either.

My problem is with hardcore FF supporters, who haven't the integrity or balls to identify themselves as such, who pretend to be undecideds or honest observers, but they are here to promulgate the party line. There may be less here than I suspect there are but then again..............

Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 04:21:23 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 08, 2011, 02:41:43 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 10:54:37 AM
I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.

Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.

Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.

Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.
Its funny that the hardcore FF and FG heads hate each other more than anyone else, and are seemingly blind to the fact that they are closest to each other in ideology.

They treat it like they're supporting football teams - they'll support whatever policy their party puts forward. And most of the hardcores only support those parties because their father did.

If you are suggesting that I support FG like a football team you are wrong. I have explained more than once that nearly all the major parties have found votes in my near family. I have FG, FF & Labour background and even a few cousins gave the SF crowd a vote. I despise FF seperate from an allegiance or support of any other party. I have hated FF since Haughey, I tempered my views under Reynolds, but wrenched up my hatred during the Ahern years. It didn't take me long to believe Ahern was a snake and an enemy of Ireland. I actually think Cowan was more an unfotunate, bumbling, party-genepool fool than a bad man.

Yes I know it is going back a long time, but I cannot help hating Dev too, he characterises all that is worst in Ireland in my opinion.

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:29:29 PM
Sure yiz are all wannabee Meath people anyway!

Definitely be time to start thinking about locking yourself away in a room with a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun if you were to be thinking that way.

I was watching a FF video from day 3 of the campaign somewhere in Meath and it was pathetic. Thomas Byrne is the rising star. Where is Dempsey?  There were only old people in evidence. I almost felt sorry for them. But then I remembered.

Inda is a total lightweight but they are all neoliberal anyway.

Thomas Byrne's canvasser called to someone I know last Saturday. "Now remember Thomas is just a young fella", he says. "He's only three years in the Dáil, so he was never associated with the MAFIA".

When FF canvassers themselves are making admissions like this ...

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 05:46:22 PM
Thomas Byrne's canvasser called to someone I know last Saturday. "Now remember Thomas is just a young fella", he says. "He's only three years in the Dáil, so he was never associated with the MAFIA".

When FF canvassers themselves are making admissions like this ...

I'm guessing that is what they actually refer to them as.

Over a decade ago a mate of mine had the misfortune to run into one of the O'Keefe's. When our esteemed TD asked where the mate worked and was told (Transport industry) O'Keefe said "ah shur Mammy will look after ye well". When my mate asked "eh what?". He clarified that: "Mammy is what we call Mary O'Rourke in de party''.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2011, 08:10:40 PM
Enda is making a p***k of himself today avoiding these debates but as Adams said today this debate is becoming more important a discussion point than the actual policies that get us out of the hole we are in. Surely the media should get their fingers out of their holes and get the real issues on the table instead of allowing this crap to take over the whole bloody thing.

Or to use Gerry's exact quote, the row over the TV debates is becoming a "pain in the ass"!!

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 05:16:42 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 04:21:23 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 08, 2011, 02:41:43 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 10:54:37 AM
I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.

Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.

Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.

Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.
Its funny that the hardcore FF and FG heads hate each other more than anyone else, and are seemingly blind to the fact that they are closest to each other in ideology.

They treat it like they're supporting football teams - they'll support whatever policy their party puts forward. And most of the hardcores only support those parties because their father did.

If you are suggesting that I support FG like a football team you are wrong. I have explained more than once that nearly all the major parties have found votes in my near family. I have FG, FF & Labour background and even a few cousins gave the SF crowd a vote. I despise FF seperate from an allegiance or support of any other party. I have hated FF since Haughey, I tempered my views under Reynolds, but wrenched up my hatred during the Ahern years. It didn't take me long to believe Ahern was a snake and an enemy of Ireland. I actually think Cowan was more an unfotunate, bumbling, party-genepool fool than a bad man.

Yes I know it is going back a long time, but I cannot help hating Dev too, he characterises all that is worst in Ireland in my opinion.

You need to go easy on the hating. It burns men up. You'll be old before your time.

Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 04:49:50 PM
I know you're a Mayo man Muppet but when it comes to Enda FF or anyone else dont need to play the man. He manages to self destruct all by himself most of the time.  I accept you dont rate Ray D'Arcy but to imply he rallies to FF defence or whatever is paranoia. You obviously havent heard the things he's said and Cowan & co in recent times. You're spot on re that insufferable clown Harris but he was more Bertie than FF. I wouldnt be feelling sorry for Gerry Adams "taking heat" though.

Like most families mine has been touched by suicide but the Browne comment was a million miles away from showing any disrespect to such victims. It was a classic comparison to WW11 failed Russian generals. Kenny himself was more disrespectful by twisting it in to an agenda to funk out of the debate. You're correct in saying Browne and he have previous but Enda now has made Vincent seem reasonable and measured.... and that takes some doing!

We've had years of FF cronyism  which has brought this nation to their knees but it's a sad reflection of the quality of politicians now that someone as weak and gimmicky as Enda is more than likely going to be the one charged with leading our recovery.

On your last paragraph I agree with almost all of it, including Kenny's struggle with public image. But I am seriously concerned that for the 4th time in a row Fianna Fail's election strategy of bashing the opponent and nothing else will work. It may sound incredible but it is happening in front of my eyes on websites everywhere egged on by party loyalists. It is astonishing that they are getting a free ride for bankrupting the state, but they are.

The daft thing, as witnessed on this site, is everyone will fall beautifully into the trap and become participants in the strategy. The issue will be Kenny regardless of what he does. The media will ensure it and FF strategists will cleverly keep throwing the dirt until eventually the public will vote FF in again. A populist party with no ideology (other than getting elected) that has been in power for so long, has its lackeys appointed everywhere that matters. And they know how to use them.

Farcically the public will then blame Kenny for making them vote FF back in again. And we will get what we deserve. Wait and see, FF will be in power.

Have a look at the movie "enemy at the gates" re that reference.
Hope you're not referring to me as hardcore FF as mentioned on your next post. I certainly voted for them in the past as obviously many people in this country did judging by their electoral record. I also voted for FG people in my area or independents. Cross voted. But I never bought the Bertie bullshit from way back.

Like Hardy says I'm one of the people (many I think) who want rid of the present government but despair at the alternatives. FG have alot to answer for in not having a credible leader annihilate FF at a time like this and many other times when they sinned in the past. Noonan would be the man I think. Not always the warmest of characters but strong, assertive & intelligent. Kenny has none of those attributes in my opinion. We need someone alot better than him at the helm for the toughest waters this country will ever sail in.

Not sure whether you're upset stems from personal loyalty to Enda for some reason or downright hatred of all things FF. But one things for sure you're miles blaming FF or the media for Enda's current low standing. If FF actually targeted him properly it might help him in sympathy/martyrdom terms. But like I said he brings most of it on himself and looks like a man that being waiting all his political life for the big job and now its petrified by the enormity of it.

Neither do I agree with you that FF will be in power. They'll score higher than they've done in the polls but well below any general election result in their history. They wont be in power again anytime soon. It'll be FG/Labour with Enda as Taoiseach. 

Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 08:55:29 PM

Hope you're not referring to me as hardcore FF as mentioned on your next post. I certainly voted for them in the past as obviously many people in this country did judging by their electoral record. I also voted for FG people in my area or independents. Cross voted. But I never bought the Bertie bullshit from way back.

Like Hardy says I'm one of the people (many I think) who want rid of the present government but despair at the alternatives. FG have alot to answer for in not having a credible leader annihilate FF at a time like this and many other times when they sinned in the past. Noonan would be the man I think. Not always the warmest of characters but strong, assertive & intelligent. Kenny has none of those attributes in my opinion. We need someone alot better than him at the helm for the toughest waters this country will ever sail in.

Not sure whether you're upset stems from personal loyalty to Enda for some reason or downright hatred of all things FF. But one things for sure you're miles blaming FF or the media for Enda's current low standing. If FF actually targeted him properly it might help him in sympathy/martyrdom terms. But like I said he brings most of it on himself and looks like a man that being waiting all his political life for the big job and now its petrified by the enormity of it.

Neither do I agree with you that FF will be in power. They'll score higher than they've done in the polls but well below any general election result in their history. They wont be in power again anytime soon. It'll be FG/Labour with Enda as Taoiseach.

Hadn't you in mind either as a FFer in sheep's clothing.

But you are joking about Noonan being the man, right? FF and media ridiculed his policies and his pre-election claims that FF were lying about spending up to the 2002 election. Noonan lost the election but was proven correct when McCreevy reneged on his promised and brought in a tight budget.

The voters punished FF in the local elections in 2004 and McCreevy was dispatched to Europe. Cowen came in with the order from Bertie to cut taxes and spend spend spend. That brought us to where we are.

But Noonan got then what Kenny gets now and it works. I know Kenny slightly and know that he is better than presented by the very FF media, however I have no personal loyalty to him and am not blind to the fact that he is no performer like Blair or Obama. I'm not sure we need spoofers like that though.

Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 09:01:46 PM
Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 08:55:29 PM

Hadn't you in mind either as a FFer in sheep's clothing.

But you are joking about Noonan being the man, right? FF and media ridiculed his policies and his pre-election claims that FF were lying about spending up to the 2002 election. Noonan lost the election but was proven correct when McCreevy reneged on his promised and brought in a tight budget.

The voters punished FF in the local elections in 2004 and McCreevy was dispatched to Europe. Cowen came in with the order from Bertie to cut taxes and spend spend spend. That brought us to where we are.

But Noonan got then what Kenny gets now and it works. I know Kenny slightly and know that he is better than presented by the very FF media, however I have no personal loyalty to him and am not blind to the fact that he is no performer like Blair or Obama. I'm not sure we need spoofers like that though.

Think you're overly sensitive to who FF target/ridicule Muppet. I remember what they said about Noonan before but you have to admit he would have more substance than Enda as a leader? Is he not the "real" leader in public profile times since he returned?

I think some of the Obama/Clinton/Blair stuff is necessary at times. But is that not what Enda is trying to emulate alot of the time with his feckin gimmicks re the website and all the shite. Its cringeworthy stuff. But now its a case of the hard dog for the tough road etc and I would have thought Noonan would be an option... but I dunno really... generally I despair.

I've heard before from people that know him that Kenny is a decent man. I've no reason to think differently and in a way I admire you for taking the unpopular stance of defending him. I said on an earlier post I think that I thought he was honest etc. It's really his leadership credibility that concerns me... for his party but especially for our country. Thats all. Not him as a man, husband, father & sound Mayo man etc.