Ray Darcy - "I will leave the country if Enda Kenny becomes Taoiseach".

Started by muppet, February 13, 2010, 10:42:37 PM

Quote from: magpie seanie on February 08, 2011, 02:41:43 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 10:54:37 AM
I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.

Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.

Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.

Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.

Seanie, I think if that happens, FG will lose my support. I would take coalition with SF ahead of FF by a good country kilometre.

gerrykeegan

I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.

Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.

Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.

Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.
seanie
After watching that last night I put a few pounda on that possibility at 16/1 last night.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 10:22:22 AM
Kenny has behaved like an odious sleeveen in using the suicide issue as a cover for his fear of being shown up in debate. Bumbling and poor tactics in allowing himself to be put on the back foot are one thing. (As leader of the leading party in the polls he should either have said "Debate? Bring it on" or "Debate? We are not jumping to anyone's tune - have your ould debate. I'm busy"). But to pretend offence at the use of a common metaphor is pathetic. To use the grief of bereaved families as a political umbrella is despicable.

I agree with Muppet that the theatrics of debates organised principally as a media benefit are essentially a sideshow. But that doesn't detract from the fact that Kenny's behaviour in the episode has been very revealing and has cast him and the party in a very poor light indeed.

Brilliant post Hardy. Sums it up perfectly. Agree 100%.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2011, 12:11:30 PM
If D'Arcy effs off could he take Hector with him. And that Shah fella. And Barry Egan, Twink, Rosanna Davidson, Her auld fella, Bono.

Especially.... Barry Egan!

Kenny has behaved like an odious sleeveen in using the suicide issue as a cover for his fear of being shown up in debate. Bumbling and poor tactics in allowing himself to be put on the back foot are one thing. (As leader of the leading party in the polls he should either have said "Debate? Bring it on" or "Debate? We are not jumping to anyone's tune - have your ould debate. I'm busy"). But to pretend offence at the use of a common metaphor is pathetic. To use the grief of bereaved families as a political umbrella is despicable.

I agree with Muppet that the theatrics of debates organised principally as a media benefit are essentially a sideshow. But that doesn't detract from the fact that Kenny's behaviour in the episode has been very revealing and has cast him and the party in a very poor light indeed.

That's an excellent post, Hardy.
I am not aware that Kenny actually used the 'suicide' remark as his reason for refusing to take part in tonight's gig but, if he did, I'd agree 100% with everything you say.
Even if he didn't use this as his reason for refusing to appear, he hasn't given any other convincing reason for staying away. Either way, he comes across as a proper eejit.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 08, 2011, 03:33:16 PM

That's an excellent post, Hardy.
I am not aware that Kenny actually used the 'suicide' remark as his reason for refusing to take part in tonight's gig but, if he did, I'd agree 100% with everything you say.
Even if he didn't use this as his reason for refusing to appear, he hasn't given any other convincing reason for staying away. Either way, he comes across as a proper eejit.

He did, Lar. I heard him myself on the radio last Friday or thereabouts. Then he changed his mind over the weekend and by Sunday it was a matter of his schedule.

westmayo

I feel that as a person who want's to lead the country Kenny should show up and debate the issues tonight. That along with the fact the expectation bar has been lowered to more or less ankle height about his ability in debates, as long as he showed up and stuck to the script it would be seen as at least a par.

On the suicide suggestion by Browne, which was tactless and distasteful at the time and one that sickened me after seeing the effect that such an action has on family at first hand, I personally wouldn't want to be anywhere near a person who has could make such a callous remark about any person, especially in such a public way.  But if I wanted to be the leader of the country, I would l suppose try leave it aside and  do the debate to show that you were the better person and above it all.

Quote from: westmayo on February 08, 2011, 03:47:19 PM
I feel that as a person who want's to lead the country Kenny should show up and debate the issues tonight. That along with the fact the expectation bar has been lowered to more or less ankle height about his ability in debates, as long as he showed up and stuck to the script it would be seen as at least a par.

On the suicide suggestion by Browne, which was tactless and distasteful at the time and one that sickened me after seeing the effect that such an action has on family at first hand, I personally wouldn't want to be anywhere near a person who has could make such a callous remark about any person, especially in such a public way.  But if I wanted to be the leader of the country, I would l suppose try leave it aside and  do the debate to show that you were the better person and above it all.

Vincent Brown's remark was disgusting. I wonder how anyone here would react if, on national television, a journalist wished that you would go and commit suicide. You should also consider that this particular journalist has been slating Kenny since 1982 for some bizarre reason. Kenny is probably human like the rest of us.

No question that Kenny handled it poorly by giving conflicting stories but somehow the narcissist that is Vincent Brown appears to have taken the moral high ground.

It must be obvious to even the most casual observer that a huge amount of this Kenny story, and every other Kenny story that will emerge in the next few weeks, is part of the usual FF campaign to play the man. they have done it successfully for nearly 20 years. Gerry Adams is also feeling some of this heat as SF are eating into FF's republican support.

The usual suspects in the media will line up to play their parts. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Brendan O'Connor, Eoghan Harris, Indo, Sindo etc etc.

Election coverage will pretend to be about issues, but why is there no no examination of the last 15 years, no examination of the disastrous financial crisis? Articles I posted this morning on more banking bad news are written as if they have nothing whatsoever to do with the last Government.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2011, 02:33:22 PM
I had the horrible vision of ringing a doorbell last year redelivering some misposted post (about 100 metres from my office) to find the door answered by Senator Eoghan Harris wet in a towel covering his bits.

I tell you I ran like fcuk.

OK - Harris, is on list. As is thon Shinner from Donegal, Sinead O'Connor, Mary Lou, Joe Higgins, Brush Sheils and Joseph and Donna McCaul.

Pat Shortt can f**k off too.
I use to like him until this......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFzwUGJ-kRo

Its funny that the hardcore FF and FG heads hate each other more than anyone else, and are seemingly blind to the fact that they are closest to each other in ideology.

They treat it like they're supporting football teams - they'll support whatever policy their party puts forward. And most of the hardcores only support those parties because their father did.

I can't stand Vincent Browne or his celebrity journalism, but am I alone in taking the "bottle of whiskey and a revolver" remark as a common metaphor for leaving the stage with dignity? I've certainly used it myself, even in this forum, as I remember. I certainly wouldn't want to trample on the sensitivities of families affected by suicide, but I think offence taken at this remark is a misunderstanding of a common enough saying. People don't take a suggestion that someone should "go jump in a lake" or that a person "should be shot" as real proposals or regard them as insensitive to people affected by drownings or shootings and I really think this remark is in the same vein.

Brownes comment may not have been very nice but I don't think it is as bad as some of ye made out. Its a common enough "metaphor" for someone to resign or quit and not a reference to Kenny killing himself. Its not dissimilar to someone telling someone to take a long walk of a short pier. And before the holier than thou brigade jump all over me, I've been touched by suicide more than your average punter and I know exactly the pain families go through when these terrible events happen

Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
I can't stand Vincent Browne or his celebrity journalism, but am I alone in taking the "bottle of whiskey and a revolver" remark as a common metaphor for leaving the stage with dignity? I've certainly used it myself, even in this forum, as I remember. I certainly wouldn't want to trample on the sensitivities of families affected by suicide, but I think offence taken at this remark is a misunderstanding of a common enough saying. People don't take a suggestion that someone should "go jump in a lake" or that a person "should be shot" as real proposals or regard them as insensitive to people affected by drownings or shootings and I really think this remark is in the same vein.

Jaysus Hardy we pretty much typed the same post at the same time - there is hope for Cavan Meath relations after all ;)

Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 04:09:59 PM
Quote from: westmayo on February 08, 2011, 03:47:19 PM

Vincent Brown's remark was disgusting. I wonder how anyone here would react if, on national television, a journalist wished that you would go and commit suicide. You should also consider that this particular journalist has been slating Kenny since 1982 for some bizarre reason. Kenny is probably human like the rest of us.

No question that Kenny handled it poorly by giving conflicting stories but somehow the narcissist that is Vincent Brown appears to have taken the moral high ground.

It must be obvious to even the most casual observer that a huge amount of this Kenny story, and every other Kenny story that will emerge in the next few weeks, is part of the usual FF campaign to play the man. they have done it successfully for nearly 20 years. Gerry Adams is also feeling some of this heat as SF are eating into FF's republican support.

The usual suspects in the media will line up to play their parts. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Brendan O'Connor, Eoghan Harris, Indo, Sindo etc etc.

Election coverage will pretend to be about issues, but why is there no no examination of the last 15 years, no examination of the disastrous financial crisis? Articles I posted this morning on more banking bad news are written as if they have nothing whatsoever to do with the last Government.
I know you're a Mayo man Muppet but when it comes to Enda FF or anyone else dont need to play the man. He manages to self destruct all by himself most of the time.  I accept you dont rate Ray D'Arcy but to imply he rallies to FF defence or whatever is paranoia. You obviously havent heard the things he's said and Cowan & co in recent times. You're spot on re that insufferable clown Harris but he was more Bertie than FF. I wouldnt be feelling sorry for Gerry Adams "taking heat" though.

Like most families mine has been touched by suicide but the Browne comment was a million miles away from showing any disrespect to such victims. It was a classic comparison to WW11 failed Russian generals. Kenny himself was more disrespectful by twisting it in to an agenda to funk out of the debate. You're correct in saying Browne and he have previous but Enda now has made Vincent seem reasonable and measured.... and that takes some doing!

We've had years of FF cronyism  which has brought this nation to their knees but it's a sad reflection of the quality of politicians now that someone as weak and gimmicky as Enda is more than likely going to be the one charged with leading our recovery.