Mr & Mrs Robinson

Started by Orior, January 06, 2010, 09:21:06 AM

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: Minder on January 08, 2010, 03:22:03 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on January 08, 2010, 02:52:01 PM
I have to admit even in the brassnecked world of N Irish politics it does surprise me that Iris hasn't come out this morning and resigned as MP, MLA and Councillor.  Probably busy packing for the skiing holiday in Chamonix.  One interesting aspect of last night's programme was that she needed £25k of the money back to pay her debts.  These two are coining more than £500k from the public purse and she's skint?!?!?  Wonder what she spent it on??

PS  I haven't read through all the thread but what is Evil Genius' take on this?  Very vocal on the GA thread.

Why would EG defend the Robinsons when I don't believe he is a DUP voter, because he is a prod? Is it that black and white with some people? He referred to them as "t**ts" today on the Dissident thread. By that rationale you could say why did Jim Allister not defend them as he is also a prod.

All I said was "What is his/her take on it" not is he/she going to defend them ???
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

Well there ye have it, poor ould twenty six county republic goes into recession and you would think it was the only country in Europe or the world to be in recession according to some of ye Alaskans on other threads - the bankers let the developers run rings around them and our politicians took bribes.  Well at least our politicians didn't lie on their backs and let the developers screw them.  Someone who has a good 4 x 4 and a con saw should go up to Arbour Hill and cut the lock off Frank Dunlops door and release the poor foooker, all he did was arrange for a developer to get planning permission. Mrs R voted on the tender for the new restaurant that was issued by the council, there was only one interested party that met the qualifications, Mrs R's friend, he gets planning permission, new restaurant, 25,000 to spend decking it out that she gets for him in donations, and you get to hows yer father with her then for good measure.

Now people are seeking her resignation?  Are ye mad up there or what. I wish to jaysus we had the same system down here now. Let me see now, wait 'till I have a browse through all the local authority websites and pick out my favourite lady councillor, ah yes, there are a few nice ones there in Ros, Dunlaoire, and South Dublin so I will just apply for a restaurant and sit back and wait for my fav lady councillor to call with 25 grand to cover the fit out costs - and I get to shag her silly while I am waiting for the paint to dry?  Happy days. 

Quote from: Franko on January 08, 2010, 03:33:09 PM
I have to admit even in the brassnecked world of N Irish politics it does surprise me that Iris hasn't come out this morning and resigned as MP, MLA and Councillor.  Probably busy packing for the skiing holiday in Chamonix.  One interesting aspect of last night's programme was that she needed £25k of the money back to pay her debts.  These two are coining more than £500k from the public purse and she's skint?!?!?  Wonder what she spent it on??

PS  I haven't read through all the thread but what is Evil Genius' take on this?  Very vocal on the GA thread.

Why would EG defend the Robinsons when I don't believe he is a DUP voter, because he is a prod? Is it that black and white with some people? He referred to them as "t**ts" today on the Dissident thread. By that rationale you could say why did Jim Allister not defend them as he is also a prod.

Hold your horses a minute.

If you actually read the posts you will notice that nobody said that EG did or was going to defend them.
I did read the posts. The above post from QMP implies that EG was "very vocal" on the GA thread yet wasn't on this one because it was politicians from his "side of the house".

Maybe I have totally got the wrong end of the stick........

Quote from: Lecale2 on January 08, 2010, 03:08:41 PM
She said she was standing down last week for "health reasons". Try to keep up!

Retiring and resigning are not exactly the same?

Quote from: Minder on January 08, 2010, 04:01:44 PM

If you actually read the posts you will notice that nobody said that EG did or was going to defend them.
I did read the posts. The above post from QMP implies that EG was "very vocal" on the GA thread yet wasn't on this one because it was politicians from his "side of the house".

Is the correct answer ;)

What would be her pension rights then? If she retires? Is there a pension scheme even in place, wouldnt seem fair if there is that she could just walk away and pick this up for the rest of?

All the Spotlight programme did was put the Boot into a women that was already down and out, give Peter a harmless skelp , not a damaging blow, next week it will be business as usual. The real losers will be SF who will be unable to deliver a policing and justice bill to their electorate who will judge them on their failure

DUP officers have called an emergency meeting at Stormont for 4.30pm. Word is, things aren't looking good for Peter...

Quote from: Pangurban on January 08, 2010, 04:17:33 PM
All the Spotlight programme did was put the Boot into a women that was already down and out, give Peter a harmless skelp , not a damaging blow, next week it will be business as usual. The real losers will be SF who will be unable to deliver a policing and justice bill to their electorate who will judge them on their failure

the majority of the country is "down and out" at the minute through no fault of their owns, whatever comes from this, she has no one to blame about herself... imo this is only the tip of the iceberg.. you'd imagine if it was her first time seeking these "gifts" she would have went for a smaller sum...

on a different point...

is anybody else slightly sickened by the fact kirky said.. she'd known him since he was 9 yrs old.......

Quote from: leenie on January 08, 2010, 04:28:01 PM

on a different point...

is anybody else slightly sickened by the fact kirky said.. she'd known him since he was 9 yrs old.......

Turned my stomach too. Couldn't help but thinking of grooming.

the majority of the country is "down and out" at the minute through no fault of their owns, whatever comes from this, she has no one to blame about herself... imo this is only the tip of the iceberg.. you'd imagine if it was her first time seeking these "gifts" she would have went for a smaller sum...

on a different point...

I wouldnt jump to conclusions on that score lads, it hopefully was just an innocious comment. I hope she was not what you are thinking.

Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on January 08, 2010, 04:04:29 PM

Is the correct answer ;)
Jaysus! I might be a Genius (and undoubtedly Evil), but not even I can be in two places at once....

Anyhow, if you want the full benefit of my wit and wisdom on this matter, it is well worth a fiver to pop over to OWC* and get the complete, unexpurgated version.  ;)

But if you want a little teaser, here it is. I have always despised the DUP. I have never voted for them (not even a 10th preference), nor never would. I genuinely despair that so many of my fellow Unionists could ever vote for them, just as I despair eg that so many Nationalists/Republicans could vote for their odious counterparts in SF.

When first I saw the Spotlight programme, I thought it hilarious - I love to see hypocrites exposed, especially the religious type. But as I said elsewhere, the more I think of the whole bloody mess that is NI politics, the more angry I get.

And I suspect my anger won't subside until all those tossers in highly paid public jobs are called to account, whether by the Police, or by the Electorate, or ideally by both.

* - By some way the best of the many witticisms I've seen on Iris's predicament was the following comment on OWC by "Dogstar":
"Homosexuals all across the land will be w**king each other off over this news, how big an own goal is that?"  :D

Quote from: stew on January 08, 2010, 04:50:48 PM

on a different point...

I wouldnt jump to conclusions on that score lads, it hopefully was just an innocious comment. I hope she was not what you are thinking.

I'm sure it is innocent, was just a gut reaction that still seems creepy.

Iris is a lot of things, but I'm sure she isn't that bad.

Quote from: Evil Genius on January 08, 2010, 04:56:45 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on January 08, 2010, 04:04:29 PM

Is the correct answer ;)
Jaysus! I might be a Genius (and undoubtedly Evil), but not even I can be in two places at once....

Anyhow, if you want the full benefit of my wit and wisdom on this matter, it is well worth a fiver to pop over to OWC* and get the complete, unexpurgated version.  ;)

But if you want a little teaser, here it is. I have always despised the DUP. I have never voted for them (not even a 10th preference), nor never would. I genuinely despair that so many of my fellow Unionists could ever vote for them, just as I despair eg that so many Nationalists/Republicans could vote for their odious counterparts in SF.

When first I saw the Spotlight programme, I thought it hilarious - I love to see hypocrites exposed, especially the religious type. But as I said elsewhere, the more I think of the whole bloody mess that is NI politics, the more angry I get.

And I suspect my anger won't subside until all those t**sers in highly paid public jobs are called to account, whether by the Police, or by the Electorate, or ideally by both.

* - By some way the best of the many witticisms I've seen on Iris's predicament was the following comment on OWC by "Dogstar":
"Homosexuals all across the land will be w**king each other off over this news, how big an own goal is that?"  :D

EG if I pay the fiver any chance of a quid as a kickback??