Mr & Mrs Robinson

Started by Orior, January 06, 2010, 09:21:06 AM

Ulick

Quote from: Trevor Hill on January 10, 2010, 01:01:02 AM
Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 12:27:06 AM
The Tribune is one step away from the Sunday World IMO. The lads father is dead, so can't defend himself and I'd lay money neither the DUP member or the source is named. Sounds like a Suzanne Breen exclusive fiction.

In what way is Breens work fiction? Did she photshop the picture of Gerry and Liam Adams in a Dundalk newspaper or has she said anything that isnt remotely true?
I was listening to her on Today FM on Friday and she seemed to know Iris quite well and seemed to hint at further revelations to come.

The problem is we have no way of knowing what she says is true as she doesn't do supporting evidence. If she does here I'll be happy to take all that back.

The Tribune is one step away from the Sunday World IMO. The lads father is dead, so can't defend himself and I'd lay money neither the DUP member or the source is named. Sounds like a Suzanne Breen exclusive fiction.

In what way is Breens work fiction? Did she photshop the picture of Gerry and Liam Adams in a Dundalk newspaper or has she said anything that isnt remotely true?
I was listening to her on Today FM on Friday and she seemed to know Iris quite well and seemed to hint at further revelations to come.

They are untrue when she says what you don't want to hear... ain't seen her been successfully sued yet... she seems authentic and thorough not like Sunday World material

Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 01:17:37 AM

The problem is we have no way of knowing what she says is true as she doesn't do supporting evidence. If she does here I'll be happy to take all that back.

Was the photo of Gerrys brother in the Dundalk newspaper not "supporting evidence" ?

Trevor Hill

Quote from: Minder on January 10, 2010, 01:25:17 AM
Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 01:17:37 AM

Was the photo of Gerrys brother in the Dundalk newspaper not "supporting evidence" ?

Damning I would say, but fair play to Iris, she took the heat off Gerry in a way no one in Sinn Fein could have dreamed of a week ago. A week really is a long time in politics.

Quote from: muppet on January 09, 2010, 01:50:52 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 08, 2010, 09:20:24 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 08, 2010, 07:21:35 PM
Quote from: townof12 on January 08, 2010, 07:18:16 PM
What does OWC represent?  I've seen it in numerous threads over a long period of time, just curious?

'our wee country' ... unionist nickname for the tupenny hapenny failed statelet we find ourselves in
Nice try, rh (not)  ::)

It's actually the name of a website for fans of the NI football team ( www.ourweecountry.co.uk ).

The name comes from an incident where our manager, Bryan Hamilton, was being interviewed pitchside after we had drawn 1-1 away to Germany (European Champions at the time). As Hamilton answered the Reporters' questions, centre half Barry Hunter, who was passing by in the background, was heard to say: "What about our wee country?", it stuck and the name was chosen for the website.

You can just hear it on this UTV clip (4 mins 56 secs in) - I think it came over more clearly on another clip, but I can't find it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSYctaqpvRk

Great story. Imagine if he had said "Me arse is killing me"?

:D f**king brilliant

I swear I heard him say 'black c***ts' and I dont think I'm the only one....

Ulick

Opps silly me... I'd forgotten she only started writing last week. Must be a different Suzanne Breen I was thinking off.

Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 02:24:40 AM
Opps silly me... I'd forgotten she only started writing last week. Must be a different Suzanne Breen I was thinking off.
So give us the list of fictional stories that she - the Suzanne Breen you have been thinking of - has written. And a list of instances where she has been sued.

Ulick

That would assume all her stories are about people and people in a positon to sue, but they're not. More often they are political stories based on 'unnamed sources'. But hey I'm willing to admit when I'm wrong - maybe todays story will be different and young Kirks da will sue. Oh wait, he's dead...

Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 10:26:56 AM
That would assume all her stories are about people and people in a positon to sue, but they're not.
Well you're working on the assumption that her stories are fiction, so you must be able to back that up in some way?

Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 10:26:56 AM
More often they are political stories based on 'unnamed sources'. But hey I'm willing to admit when I'm wrong - maybe todays story will be different and young Kirks da will sue. Oh wait, he's dead...
So what, should we ignore stories involving dead people?

Jim_Murphy_74

Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 12:44:54 AM
Ziggy, Seany may have known the story was about to break but he doesn't know whether or not it's actually true. I don't see the point of stories like this other than for crass titillation (a la the Sunday World). The McCambley family has been shamed already, the Viris humiliated and the Punt is toast. Why use a dead man to inflict further damage?

Hmmm very noble of you.  I just wonder if Ms Breen had not been recently picking on Grizzly would you feel that way?

As for her sources for this particularly story, she has just stated on RTE Radio that she is using a number of ex-peelers who were guarding the Robinsons.   

/Jim.

Quote from: Minder on January 09, 2010, 08:30:05 PM
Read on another forum that a fella was at an event in Washington and a senior DUP member with a beautiful voice was also present and there was talk of his predilection for paying young men for certain services, allegedly, and I don't mean washing his car.

This potential story is better again. Especially after years and years on the moral high ground, the endless demonstrations and anti gay bashing from the religious wing itself. And him a religous minister as well.

Cant wait for this. The possibilities are endless.

Archie Mitchell

Any stories in the papers this morning? Haven't got to the shop yet.

Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 10, 2010, 11:31:19 AM
Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2010, 12:44:54 AM
Ziggy, Seany may have known the story was about to break but he doesn't know whether or not it's actually true. I don't see the point of stories like this other than for crass titillation (a la the Sunday World). The McCambley family has been shamed already, the Viris humiliated and the Punt is toast. Why use a dead man to inflict further damage?

Hmmm very noble of you.  I just wonder if Ms Breen had not been recently picking on Grizzly would you feel that way?

As for her sources for this particularly story, she has just stated on RTE Radio that she is using a number of ex-peelers who were guarding the Robinsons.   

/Jim.

Bit of a headache here Jim, so not sure of the point you're trying to make. If you're referring to Adams, of course this should all be brought to light.

If not, what you talking about?

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 10, 2010, 11:35:45 AM
Any stories in the papers this morning? Haven't got to the shop yet.

Loads.

one had the headline that one of the donators was directly linked to the northern bank robbery.

another paper had the headline of Iris had 3 lovers

Generally seems to be still front page with a bit more delving going on.  This will run and run

I cant get that mrs robinson song out of my head!