FAI...New Manager is Heimir Hallgrimsson

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: Orangemac on December 04, 2011, 11:12:01 AM

Ireland have 4 strikers palying well and if Given/Dunne are fit the defence should be ok. I know Trap won't change but for the Spain game he should play Doyle up front on his own and put an extra body in midfield(Fahy probably). We saw against Russia how Ireland struggle against good passing teams and 2 wingers would be wasted especially as Spain don't play with a lot of width.

There is method in your thinking but not a chance of it happening. Trap has persisted with Keane through thick and thin and you'd be inclined to believe he would be right to persist with him against the Spanish. Trap is experienced and successful enough to know the best way to line out against a team that are much more talented than you. In my opinion a good result against the Spanish would rely upon us scoring. I don't think the strategy of "pack the back and nick it at the end" will work for us as the Spanish are so good at attacking that they will eventually wear us down and are guaranteed one goal, if not a few more.

Quote from: The Worker on December 03, 2011, 04:10:23 PM
Anyone here going to the finals?
Flying to Berlin on Thursday 7th June. Booked the flights for 80euro last Wednesday, gamble paid off.Tickets sorted, haven't looked into accommodation yet. Going to be some craic!

Might head along to it for the craic. Herself is Catalan Spanish so we'll probably head to that game. Never mind winning sure it's all about the having craic anyway and not even Roy Keane could change that.

Quote from: ballinaman on December 04, 2011, 08:07:07 PM
Flying to Berlin on Thursday 7th June. Booked the flights for 80euro last Wednesday, gamble paid off.Tickets sorted, haven't looked into accommodation yet. Going to be some craic!
Doing something very similar but flying from London, there are loads of flights Berlin and its suits the Irish matches !Will be some craic in the beaches of Gdansk!

Armaghgael

Anyone know anywhere to get tickets for any of the games?
If in doubt.......take man and ball!

Poznan hotel prices are ridiculous for June. May have to stay fair bit outside of city.  Looking at Berlin for flights too, but I refuse to travel Ryanair and line that wee bastard's pockets

Quote from: red hander on December 05, 2011, 08:06:05 PM

Poznan hotel prices are ridiculous for June. May have to stay fair bit outside of city.  Looking at Berlin for flights too, but I refuse to travel Ryanair and line that wee b**tard's pockets
Poznan soccer campsite looks like the best option. 23 euro for night and ya get tent, matress and sleeping bag included. Few KM north of the city, 10km from the stadium.

Flying to berlin on the 9th. No idea how to get tickets. Camp site in Poznan sounds good. Might look at booking it now.

Berlin to Poland should be alright on the train I suspect.

Quote from: imtommygunn on December 05, 2011, 09:23:23 PM
Flying to berlin on the 9th. No idea how to get tickets. Camp site in Poznan sounds good. Might look at booking it now.

Booked the campsite for the saturday and sunday night in Poznan. Get your skates on lads, only 300 tents. Staying in Berlin on the thursday and friday night. Train is grand, 3 and a half hours or something.

Have you a link to the one you talk about? Not coming up in google...

Flights to Berlin booked for the Italian game with Swiss Air (180 return)r. Campsite in Poznan as well. Happy days

Quote from: ballinaman on December 05, 2011, 09:54:37 PM

Booked the campsite for the saturday and sunday night in Poznan. Get your skates on lads, only 300 tents. Staying in Berlin on the thursday and friday night. Train is grand, 3 and a half hours or something.
Jeez Ballinaman ill be tracking ya! Flying into berlin friday morning stayng there friday night and booked the campsite for the saturday and sunday.

Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2011, 10:53:09 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 05, 2011, 09:54:37 PM

Jeez Ballinaman ill be tracking ya! Flying into berlin friday morning stayng there friday night and booked the campsite for the saturday and sunday.
ha, goodman. Thinking of booking wombats hostel in Berlin, stayed there before and its class and handy for boozers. Have nothing booked for gdansk yet. Read that Sopot is a good spot, train ride out of city but beaches are supposed to be lovely.