FAI...New Manager is Heimir Hallgrimsson

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 11, 2011, 10:19:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 11, 2011, 10:11:07 PM
If Ireland are drawn in a group with with Greece, Portugal and Italy, will it be the group of debt ?

class !

Glorious!
Amazing result, ireland never do it easy....can't score more than 2 goals in a game...great time to buck that trend. roll on next june, can't wait.
Dunphy is eejit...he hopes trap will change tactics and give players like coleman a chance before june, seriously? As if that will happen, dunphy is just lining up that angle so he has something to crow about for the next 8 months. While I agree with him about Coleman, trapp is hardly going to change his mind now.

Only in Ireland could you win 4 nil and play poorly (ref was harsh on them i thought), delighted as with Ireland all i care about is the result. Eastern Europe here we come.

Google search,,, campervan hire.. 8)

Quote from: dec on November 11, 2011, 09:24:52 PM
Quote from: Blue and White on November 11, 2011, 09:19:15 PM
Unreal! Get a hostel in Krakow booked! Robbie must have the international record for 6 yard tap ins!!  Will there be a fourth??

Put Tony Fearon in charge of getting the hotels booked.
The Real Tony Fearon
(8/11/03 8:37 am)

Get the hotels booked now!

In the sure and certain knowledge of being there on Sept 21st,i have reserved accommodation this morning,at a very reasonable rate,,for the 20 and 21st of Sept,at Citywest.I advise you to follow suit,as hotel space will be at a premium with premium rates come Sept 21 "

great result - just a matter of putting in a professional performance on tuesday night.

Absolutely brilliant result, delighted. Pity it wasn't 10 odd years and a couple of kids ago and Id be busting a gut to get over to the tournament! Roll on the summer, the boys in green add something really special to these competitions!

Drawing England would be the icing on the cake

Great stuff

(this is assuming the world doesn't cave in on Tuesday night!)  ;D

Quote from: Blue and White on November 12, 2011, 09:44:06 AM
Personally I'd love to see Coleman get a few games before the Euro's, I really rate him as a player.  When you consider the options we now have upfront, we'll have the best goalkeeper at the Euro's next June, a defence that wont be broken down easliy and a manager who's as cunning as a lighthouse rat, we have all the ingredients for a good 'tournament' side and none of the top sides will want us in their group.

Our defense wasn't really tested last night, but it's not hard to see that Kelly is defensively suspect, whereas Ward grew into the LB role after the first 15 minutes, when he needed some sharp assistance to help him out of a few holes.
If Coleman could play at RB he would have a very good chance to be in the squad and start some games, seeing as O'Shea picks up injuries. But as it is, he is vying for a wide  right midfield position.
There he just needs to prove himself ahead of Lawrence, who's also injury prone, in order to get into the squad.
Coleman will get his chance sometime in one of the upcoming friendlies.

Quote from: ballinaman on November 12, 2011, 08:31:06 AM
If Ireland are drawn in a group with with Greece, Portugal and Italy, will it be the group of debt ?

class !

Glorious!
Amazing result, ireland never do it easy....can't score more than 2 goals in a game...great time to buck that trend. roll on next june, can't wait.
Dunphy is eejit...he hopes trap will change tactics and give players like coleman a chance before june, seriously? As if that will happen, dunphy is just lining up that angle so he has something to crow about for the next 8 months. While I agree with him about Coleman, trapp is hardly going to change his mind now.

Personally I'd love to see Coleman get a few games before the Euro's, I really rate him as a player.  When you consider the options we now have upfront, we'll have the best goalkeeper at the Euro's next June, a defence that wont be broken down easliy and a manager who's as cunning as a lighthouse rat, we have all the ingredients for a good 'tournament' side and none of the top sides will want us in their group.

I watched an old DVD I have called 'The Charlton years' last night just to bring back the memories, big Jack knew how to have us in the palm of his hand!

Ah steady on!

Capt Pat

Quote from: magpie seanie on November 12, 2011, 11:00:40 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 12, 2011, 08:31:06 AM

class !

Glorious!

I watched an old DVD I have called 'The Charlton years' last night just to bring back the memories, big Jack knew how to have us in the palm of his hand!

Ah steady on!

The big problem is the part of the field that hasn't been mentioned, central midfield. We are in trouble against Xavi,Iniesta and  Alonzo. Not to mention Khedira Ozil Schweinsteiger and Muller............and Mattheus and co.

Quote from: Capt Pat on November 13, 2011, 12:18:02 AM

The big problem is the part of the field that hasn't been mentioned, central midfield. We are in trouble against Xavi,Iniesta and  Alonzo. Not to mention Khedira Ozil Schweinsteiger and Muller............and Mattheus and co.
Suddenly the achievement of (almost) qualifying is now a problem and we are in serious trouble  :)
There are about 6  teams in Europe would not have a problem to beat us, we might get a lucky break but it's an outside bet.

We are in trouble against Spain?
We could do what England did against Spain yesterday, admit we are seriously inferior, admit we have no midfield ball players, admit we are technically inferior, concede the pitch, park the bus in front of goal and look for a set piece opportunity.

ExcellentDriver

Quote from: Main Street on November 13, 2011, 01:08:20 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 13, 2011, 12:18:02 AM

Suddenly the achievement of (almost) qualifying is now a problem and we are in serious trouble  :)
There are about 6  teams in Europe would not have a problem to beat us, we might get a lucky break but it's an outside bet.

We are in trouble against Spain?
We could do what England did against Spain yesterday, admit we are seriously inferior, admit we have no midfield ball players, admit we are technically inferior, concede the pitch, park the bus in front of goal and look for a set piece opportunity.

Scotland used the same tactics against France during Euro 2008 Qualifying and came out with 1-0 wins both at Hampden and the Stade de France.

Problem with English Soccer is the unrealistic expectations of the 'Armchair Henry V' types who are watching from their Armchairs most Saturdays yet appear at every game at Wembley. Once Fabio Capello stopped the perfectionism he got the result he wanted. If they wanna blame anyone for the state of English Soccer, blame the FA for their 'Cash Cow' that is the Premiership.

Rant about England over. Kudos to Trapp for getting the best out of the Republic's Journeymen Players.
Stand up for the Ulstermen!

I went to the Perth v. Sydney A-League game last night with mini-me, only his second soccer match.  Well it was average to say the least.  However, of note were the number of Ireland soccer and rugby tops among the fans.  I got talking to a Liberian lad who, when I told him I was from Ireland, mentioned that the win was great as we deserved it after the Thierry Henry debacle.  Jaysus I never even thought of it that way.

Sydney won 1-0 in a game Perth should have wrapped up by half-time.  The Sydney captain is Terry McFlynn, originally from Swatragh, Co.Derry.  Never heard of him.  Played well...errrrr.. OWC will be calling,   :D :D :D

I see on BBC sport website, Ireland want a friendly with england in Dublin. That would be interesting.

Capt Pat

Quote from: BennyCake on November 14, 2011, 12:55:03 AM
I see on BBC sport website, Ireland want a friendly with england in Dublin. That would be interesting.

They will wreck the neighbourhood.

What would a friendly against England tell Trappatoni?  Premiership soccer isn't all its cracked up to be?

I'd say with the interest there is, it'll will sell out as long as the opposition is half decent.  Who would be available for friendlies?  Maybe Trap could talk nice to Italy?  A game against France?