UC 2010: Aontroim vs Tír Eoghain 23rd May, Páirc Mhic Asmaint

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, October 22, 2009, 10:02:55 PM

Quote from: cadhlancian on May 21, 2010, 10:37:09 PM
For all the shite talk about Tyrone being "done" and all the rest, here are some interesting stats. The age of the KERRY
team who won 3 in a row at tyrones expense in 1986, came from 7 down to win by 8...........hardly hanging on were they?
1) 29
2) 31
3) 29
4) 29
5) 30
6) 24
7) 30
8) 29
9) 24
10) 26
11) 30
12) 31
13) 32
14) 29
15) 34!

Yes but with that Kerry team, you are talking about the greatest bunch of players who were graced a football field and, at the ages above, that was to be their final great day in the Sun.

cadhlancian

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Tyrone had a tough league, but think the way the training regime has gone, the key players are all hitting form at the right time. Massive is the return of both of the McMahons.
Although I'd have liked to have seen Petey Harte get the nod, Dooher starting says a lot about his fitness.

MF remains an issue, may not get exposed on Sunday, but will at some stage. But the fact Sean and Joe are at the HF line may patch things to some extent. Half back line remains a worry. I'd expect Joe to drop back there maybe.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

cadhlancian

exactly, one more day in the sun for some of Tyrones players is coming ;D Feck me Tacodoir, that will be FOUR! Will it make you throw up? ;D

Quote from: cadhlancian on May 21, 2010, 10:43:11 PM
exactly, one more day in the sun for some of Tyrones players is coming ;D Feck me Tacodoir, that will be FOUR! Will it make you throw up? ;D

It wouldn't bother me in the slightest.

Can't see it happening though. Cork were quite a distance ahead of Tyrone last August. Are Tyrone significantly better this year than they were in 2009? It would seem doubtful though you couldn't discount Harte having another magicial reniscance up his sleeve.

I think Antrim will give a better account of themselves on Sunday than last year's Ulster final. They might have Tyrone rattled at stages but I'd expect the Red Hands to shade it by 3 or 4.

A fair point regarding the age profile of the Kerry '86 team but you also have to take into account the difference in Fitness levels and speed of that era compared to this era. A team of Kerry '86's age would would find it hard to survive in todays game even with their abundance of talent. 

BROCKAGH HILL

One night as I lay slumbering in my silent bed alone
Some rakish thoughts came in my head which caused me for to roam
To leave behind me my native town and the wee girl I adore
To take a trip as I saw fit strange countries to explore

The night before I went away I was walking over Brockagh Hill
I met my love upon the road and her eyes with tears did fill
O Johnny dear she said stay here and do not go away
For there'll be none for comfort me when you are o'er the sea

Well I took her by the lily white hand and I held her long and fast
My darling girl I must away for our ship lies in Belfast
But if you'll prove constant I'll prove true for you know I am well inclined
So we kissed shook hands and parted and I left my girl behind

And it's when we landed in Greenock sure the people all gathered round
They said I was a rakish lad come to cut their harvest down
They told me to return home and to never more be seen
So that very night I took my flight back to Erin's lovely green

And when Mary heard her Johnny was home her heart it did leap with joy
So three herself all in his arms saying yo're my darling boy
O Johnny dear I'm glad you're here for you I have thought long
So let them all say as they will our wedding will go on

And Brockagh Hill is a lovely place with fine wee girls therein
You'd swear they were the nightingale when they sit down and sing
Where the Salmon Trout do sport about round Lough Neagh's verdant shore
So let them all say as they will you are mine forever

A sure fire way to win this game would be for you to recite that fine prose to the lads before they take to the field. It will stoke the fires of pride within each man's  belly and they'll burst through brick walls to protect and enhance Brockagh and Tir Eoghains proud footballing tradition.

Or alternatively you could recite it in the Fruithill before the game and give everyone a bit of a laugh.

culchie11

Tyrones nfl campaign can be taken with a pinch of salt, tomorrow will be the real tyrone. Back to nearly full strength, only gormley and cassidy of first team not available. Im sure antrim will have learned from final last year and will try not to let tyrone get too far ahead from start, if the score is only few points at ht then we will see what both teams are made of! I can see a copy of last weeks game, win at all costs. I know where i would rather be on monday morning, the next round! With one kevin mcgourty scoring the winner, carlsberg dont do gaa results!!
On that subject for once brendan crossan of irish news wrote a decent piece more than i can say for his weekly anti man united rants, and he is right mcgourty is one of if not the best in county at minute bar niblock, and one thing is for sure if needed mcgourt will be champing at the bit to show what he can do against the ulster champs.
Just remember this time last year terry oneill was drafted in at last minute and got 2 man of the match awards!
All the talk is near done now, just hope its a good day, weather wise and casement will be packed.

Hotrocks

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: ONeill on May 22, 2010, 12:10:38 AM
BROCKAGH HILL

One night as I lay slumbering in my silent bed alone
Some rakish thoughts came in my head which caused me for to roam
To leave behind me my native town and the wee girl I adore
To take a trip as I saw fit strange countries to explore

The night before I went away I was walking over Brockagh Hill
I met my love upon the road and her eyes with tears did fill
O Johnny dear she said stay here and do not go away
For there'll be none for comfort me when you are o'er the sea

Well I took her by the lily white hand and I held her long and fast
My darling girl I must away for our ship lies in Belfast
But if you'll prove constant I'll prove true for you know I am well inclined
So we kissed shook hands and parted and I left my girl behind

And it's when we landed in Greenock sure the people all gathered round
They said I was a rakish lad come to cut their harvest down
They told me to return home and to never more be seen
So that very night I took my flight back to Erin's lovely green

And when Mary heard her Johnny was home her heart it did leap with joy
So three herself all in his arms saying yo're my darling boy
O Johnny dear I'm glad you're here for you I have thought long
So let them all say as they will our wedding will go on

And Brockagh Hill is a lovely place with fine wee girls therein
You'd swear they were the nightingale when they sit down and sing
Where the Salmon Trout do sport about round Lough Neagh's verdant shore
So let them all say as they will you are mine forever

Armoured cars and tanks and guns
Came to take away our sons
But every man must stand behind
The men behind the wire

Through the little streets of Belfast
In the dark of early morn
British soldiers came marauding
Wrecking little homes with scorn

Heedless of the crying children
Dragging fathers from their beds
Beating sons while helpless mothers
Watched the blood poor from their heads

Not for them a judge and jury
Nor indeed a trial at all
But being Irish means you´re guilty
So we´re guilty one and all

Round the world the truth will echo
Cromwell´s men are here again
England´s name again is sullied
In the eyes of honest men.

Proud we march behind our banner
Firm we´ll stand behind our men
We will have them free to help us
Build a nation once again

On the people step together
Proudly firmly on their way
Never fear never falter
Till the boys are home to stay
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

laoisgaa

Hi lads - interviews with Stephen O'Neill and Tony Scullion on episode 2 of my weekly GAA podcast
http://action81.com/blog/?p=2038

I haven't seen Antrim play this year. There is enough to suggest that they are an improving side since last year, it would not surprise me at all if they beat a Tyrone team who have been performing poorly.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Did anyone watch Antrim against Sligo!?!  :o

It's all well beating Div 3 teams, tomorrow's a different animal.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on May 22, 2010, 02:48:57 PM
Did anyone watch Antrim against Sligo!?!  :o

It's all well beating Div 3 teams, tomorrow's a different animal.

A div.2 team v a div.2 team.