Kilmacud Crokes 7's

Started by North Longford, September 03, 2009, 02:05:57 PM

I've been to Silverpark (definitely not full size) and Glenalbyn (bigger but not quite full size) to games and its a brilliant day. In the earlier venues you get loads of goals while on the bigger pitch and with fatigue setting in more points are taken from what I can see.

NL.

I was in Clonkeen College to 'cheer' Abbey last year.

Are ye boys listed for there?

Bring some heart/lung machines cos it is prettin intensive

North Longford

Don't think draws for football made yet. Could only find the hurling earlier in the week. I'm afraid the past few weeks inactivity won't have helped our chances however minute they may have been at the best of times.

The Longford club has been in Clonkeen for the last number of years. I think it's seeded with the good lads in Glenalbyn and the lessers farmed out to the sticks and then brought into Stillorgan as group winners etc

highking

The main pitch in Glenalbyn is full width but just shy of full length.

The outside pitches are either juvenile pitches or rugby pitches - which is just perfect. However, if you get a goalie with a good puck-out, and the wind at his back, he can have pot-shots for scores. I remember a few years ago we had a good goalie on a windy day. He put three puck-outs over the bar the opposite side.

In the football however, the Glenalbyn pitch is shortened a bit more - cos theres more running in the football.

Looking forward to the day. Heading up tonight for the weekend. The club has got about 20 AI tickets so should be a great weekend.

3000 miles away

Word has it Crossmaglen Rangers are going to the 7's this year.

were can you find the rules, pitch sizes game length etc for the football?

O'NeillsKilmacud Crokes All IrelandFootball Sevens 2009

Saturday19th September 2009

Teams,Groups & Venues

Group 1
Group 2

St Patricks
Louth
Portarlington
Laois

Clonduff
Down
Clonoe O'Rahillys
Tyrone

Nemo Rangers
Cork
Milltown
Kerry

Padraig Pearses
Roscommon
Glencar
Leitrim

Group 3
Group 4

Colmcilles
Longford
Newtownbutler
Fermanagh

An Ríocht
Down
An Tearmann
Donegal

Naomh Abán
Cork
Athlone
Westmeath

Easkey
Sligo
Corofin
Galway

Group 5
Group 6

Abbeylara
Longford
St Annes
Dublin

Castletown
Wexford
St Galls
Antrim

Ballinderry
Derry
Kilcummin
Kerry

Caltra
Galway
St Mary's
Sligo

Group 7
Group 8

Dromard
Longford
Thomas Davis
Dublin

Castlewellan
Down
Glenullin
Derry

St Nicholas
Cork
Castlehaven
Cork

Breaffy
Mayo
Kilkerrin Clonberne
Galway

Group 9
Group 10

Bunbrosna
Westmeath
Kilmacud Crokes
Dublin

Longstone
Down
Slaughtneil
Derry

St Patricks
Fermanagh
Carberry Rangers
Cork

Claregalway
Galway
Cortoon Shamrocks
Galway

Group 11
Group 12

Raheny
Dublin
Bray Emmets
Wicklow

Castleblaney
Monaghan
Belturbet
Cavan

Kickham
Antrim
Bryansford
Down

St Brigids
Roscommon
Caherlistrane
Galway

Not the same without the Moy. 

No way ref

I see Glenullin are down to play. They will be hoping their championship match doesn't go to a replay

milltown row

St galls won the Castlewellan last weekend while the hurlers played the same day at Kilmacud!!! the hurlers won two lost one.

we'd be a good price for it

Yes, a good bet. The only other side to do back to back was Bryansford in 93-94.

Quote from: rrhf on September 09, 2009, 01:33:49 PM
Not the same without the Moy.

Tyrone are traditionally shite at this. I think all 4 Tyrone teams finished bottom of their respective groups last year.

Too many Down teams.

Down are becoming the Fiji of Gaelic football.

milltown row

Longstone and Castlewellan are not bad either