goin state side

Started by the waffler, September 01, 2009, 07:57:17 AM

the waffler

myself and the other half r thinking of going to the US in the new year for a year or so, new york, Boston any advice or suggestions

I see you're even trying to use American spelling already

Boston is a whole lot nicer than NY. A lot smaller and more much more friendly.

boojangles

Boston baby. If ya play any level of football get in touch with some of the clubs( Donegal are a grand bunch) and they could put ya in the right direction.The GAA is even more important in places like this.

It depends on what you are looking for?

Are you coming to the US to experience a different culture or do you just want to drink in an Irish bar in a warmer climate?

There are less Irish out here than there used to be so if you are looking for 6 months drinking and good times I would advise sticking to a major city or a small town just outside a city where you know there are Irish ones.  Best to locate near one of the football teams for a ready made support network and welcoming community.

If you are coming to travel and see the country and soak up the culture then start on the west coast and make your way back to the east coast.  West coast will be warmer in January and as you take your time coming across the country you should stay behind the cold weather. 

the waffler

going for at least a year possibly longer depending on how things work out,would definitely want to be close to an Irish based community for sport and socialising

Quote from: the waffler on September 01, 2009, 02:31:10 PM
going for at least a year possibly longer depending on how things work out,would definitely want to be close to an Irish based community for sport and socialising

Boston it is then.

Quote from: orangeman on September 01, 2009, 04:16:05 PM

Boston it is then.

Chicago is also good

Quote from: thebandit on September 01, 2009, 05:28:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 01, 2009, 04:16:05 PM

Boston it is then.

Chicago is also good
have we not agreed that it is 'chicargo'

Your best bet is Boston or San Fran - both have strong communities and a lot of lads who came out 5 + years ago and not able to go home.  I have contacts in both cities and at clubs there if you need any help - I'm sure there are lads on here too with more of the same.

Quote from: orangeman on September 01, 2009, 08:53:17 AM
Boston is a whole lot nicer than NY. A lot smaller and more much more friendly.

I would agree that its smaller...

Oh and one other thing- if there is any way that you can do it legally i would really urge you to do so. it is getting harder and harder to stay here illegally and get work, you cant open a bank account, hire / buy a car
It is doable, but much, much, much tougher than it used to be

Quote from: heganboy on September 01, 2009, 06:36:43 PM
Oh and one other thing- if there is any way that you can do it legally i would really urge you to do so. it is getting harder and harder to stay here illegally and get work, you cant open a bank account, hire / buy a car
It is doable, but much, much, much tougher than it used to be

I agree, I personally think it's a waste of time being there illegally. It's so much hassle and stress finding work etc... that it takes away the fun.

The stress over staying here legally has me almost killed this last 6 months.
Short overview,

I was married,
I never filed for green card, as I was on a long term student visa, and figured Id just do it after I graduated
Marriage went down the tubes before Id applied for a greencard, ex wife said she wasnt gonna help me file
Failed a semester of college so the visa went down the tubes
Had to reapply for a new student visa, which will run out in december when I graduate,
and then I get a one year work permit, providing I can find a job in my kinda narrow field.

If It wasnt for the wee puck, Id be home in the morning. Fecking expensive mind wrecking episode.