Chica(r)go

Started by Niall Quinn, August 27, 2009, 03:20:51 AM

Quote from: Hound on August 27, 2009, 12:51:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 27, 2009, 12:45:38 PM
Brits can't pronounce Gallagher or Padraig. Or Moran.....
..also Keogh, Kinsella, Doherty...
did you spot matt cooper pronouncing the proper Irish version of 'keown' (kuh-yown - not key-own) to martin keown last week who was a guest analyst on the TV3 cl soccer programme ?

Three is pronounced tree in Dublin.

Quote from: Lecale2 on August 27, 2009, 03:39:14 PM
and most of southern Ireland (the 26 counties - maybe not in Donegal)

FL/MAYO

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2009, 04:39:59 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on August 27, 2009, 03:39:14 PM
and most of southern Ireland (the 26 counties - maybe not in Donegal)

I am reminded of this every day, the Yanks great kick out of the way I pronounce tree

The frankies are cyat altogether.

Instead of "how" it's "har".

Drockida is where Oliver Plunket's head is.

Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2009, 08:57:17 AM
I've always wondered about that too. I think it's a West of Ireland thing - haven't heard it in other parts.

Still, it's the only word we do that to. The English stick 'r's in anywhere and everywhere they're not wanted (the r's, I mean, not the English) and leave them out altogether where they're most needed. I was wondering for years who Lauren Auda was.

I never use the r.

Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2009, 08:57:17 AM
I've always wondered about that too. I think it's a West of Ireland thing - haven't heard it in other parts.

Still, it's the only word we do that to. The English stick 'r's in anywhere and everywhere they're not wanted (the r's, I mean, not the English) and leave them out altogether where they're most needed. I was wondering for years who Lauren Auda was.

To be honest, I probably say it as well as idear. And sherbert.

I doubt I say probaly too but not pelanty.

tyrone86

Quote from: hardstation on August 27, 2009, 11:40:58 PM
Why do people (especially in Tyrone) say "I doubt such and such happened" when they mean "I believe such and such happened"?

I don't get that.

Same principle as the yanks saying as 'I could care' less rather than the correct 'I couldn't care less'

Quote from: hardstation on August 27, 2009, 11:53:27 PM
Probaly is a goodun, right enough. Although, I'd say "probly".

I've moved on from my pelanty days.

Also why do culchies put a y after a c?

For example (and ironically), 5 Sams saying "The Frankies are cyat altogether".

Yes, I was home last week for my ma's 100th and a few pronunciations came back to me - yapping is nyapping or he's an oul nyap. The word 'ken' as in 'can'. 'Ken ye chase thon hoor from the loanan there'

Quote from: Billys Boots on August 27, 2009, 01:14:09 PM
Irony: is that where Tyrone folk castigate Eduardo for diving?

We're not biting, Bannon  ;D