Alan O'Connor sending off.

Started by mournerambler, August 23, 2009, 04:18:03 PM

I await with baited breath to see if the PC brigade here apply the same logic to their own counties when similar incidents happen. I wonder.

Quote from: SidelineKick on August 27, 2009, 09:47:13 AM
Sticking the knees in someone is not admirable.  I also think that Miskella was wrong to strike, especially from behind, don't have time for that sorta thing.  I'm not going on about it being a man's game or who's the toughest, but jesus at every opportunity men are lying down waiting on physios to come on and rub them for 10 seconds, they get up, do a fake hobble for a few seconds then hey presto they're grand again.

Steven O'Neill lay face down for the guts of 20 seconds in the first half of the game. I actually commented that he must have been knocked out as he wasn't moving a muscle, then lo and behold on comes the physio, waves their magic wand and don't worry folks, he's ok!!

Sickens my pish.

And don't worry its not just tyrone, but its veering towards soccer if you ask me.

If you are talking about players lying down, then fair enough that is a different matter.
I thought you were talking about the Mc Guigan incident where he was punched in the head.
What option did he have?

Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2009, 08:38:44 AM
I'd usually be slow to support an eejit like Bannon who has ruined more than one game I've seen. But leave aside the letter of the law, which is an ass anyway but becomes a cross between a mule and a jennet when passed through the crazy filtering system that is a referee's brain.

I think Bannon did the right thing in natural justice. He has the power under the law to make the call after the event, so why not use it. He could apply the letter of the law and say "I was wrong, it was strike - red card, no AIF for Miskella". And that would have been correct but morally wrong. Because the real villain of the piece would have got away with it. If McGuigan hadn't started it with a dig in the goolies (yes - we all have our own interpretations of what we saw and that's mine) and then dropped like a shot snipe for a glancing slap (what I saw) to the back of the head (what I saw) and then proceeded to lie there until his man got carded, the issue wouldn't have arisen. That was the series of reprehensible acts in that incident, not the reaction of Miskella in anger.

So fair play to Bannon. The bit he got wrong was not admitting he missed McGuigan's dig and extended simulation and citing him for both.

There is no evidence to suggest he was hit in the balls. I've looked at it 10 times now and I can't see how you can be so certain that happened. Totally inconclusive if you ask me. If he was hit in the balls then thats a different story but it distinctly looks to me he was tapped in his chest.

SidelineKick

Yeah sorry I sorta went away from the original topic. In my opinion he wasnt hit hard enough to be knocked down, in my opinion.  He certainly, in my opinion, wasnt hit hard enough to be put down for a few minutes.

In that case, in my opinion, he was lying down to get a man sent off. You bide your time and get him when the opportunity arises, the way he went about it is the reason why I'm saying we're getting closer to soccer.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Quote from: SidelineKick on August 27, 2009, 09:57:29 AM
Yeah sorry I sorta went away from the original topic. In my opinion he wasnt hit hard enough to be knocked down, in my opinion.  He certainly, in my opinion, wasnt hit hard enough to be put down for a few minutes.

In that case, in my opinion, he was lying down to get a man sent off. You bide your time and get him when the opportunity arises, the way he went about it is the reason why I'm saying we're getting closer to soccer.

I don't agree -if you strike you have to go. Thats a strike for me. I remain to be convinced that something of any magnitude happened beforehand. If it did then thats different. But I can't see how any poster here can see something the rest of us can't from that camera angle.

SidelineKick

Quote from: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 10:01:27 AM

I don't agree -if you strike you have to go. Thats a strike for me. I remain to be convinced that something of any magnitude happened beforehand. If it did then thats different. But I can't see how any poster here can see something the rest of us can't from that camera angle.

No no, I completely completely agree that he should have gone! I still cant understand what he was booked for, I just am getting fed up with people lying down at every opportunity.  Maybe I'm just not sly enough.

If a hand is raised the man should go, that I can agree on.

FFS, you would have carnage on a field if that was the case

That is the reason there is a referee

The amount of broken jaws at club level as well is on the increase- largely due to similar incidents. The repurcussions of non-application of the rules are most felt at club level rather than county level.

I can see why Bannon didn't upgrade the incident though. He'd never be able to set foot in Cork again.

Quote from: SidelineKick on August 27, 2009, 09:47:13 AM
Sticking the knees in someone is not admirable.  I also think that Miskella was wrong to strike, especially from behind, don't have time for that sorta thing.  I'm not going on about it being a man's game or who's the toughest, but jesus at every opportunity men are lying down waiting on physios to come on and rub them for 10 seconds, they get up, do a fake hobble for a few seconds then hey presto they're grand again.

Steven O'Neill lay face down for the guts of 20 seconds in the first half of the game. I actually commented that he must have been knocked out as he wasn't moving a muscle, then lo and behold on comes the physio, waves their magic wand and don't worry folks, he's ok!!

Sickens my pish.

And don't worry its not just tyrone, but its veering towards soccer if you ask me.

Definitely.

It definitely is veering towards soccer which is a disaster

Players diving does my head in & is terrible to watch but Miskella punched a player in the head & deserved to go (although I am delighted that a player wont miss an AI final)

There is a massive difference between diving when punched in the head & diving on other occasions when there has been very little in it

This is the crux of the peoblem, not castigating players like Mc Guigan

I wouldn't be castigating him if he'd acted like a man instead of aping some soccer clown. A glancing half-swing with an open hand in anger is not to be condoned, but is more easily understood and forgiven (by me, anyway) than soccer-inspired cheating that is much more of a danger to the game and deserves more attention from the authorities than it's getting.

In my opinion, of course.

Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2009, 10:31:04 AM
A glancing half-swing with an open hand

You are making it sound like he was tapping him on the side of the head hardy  ::)

SidelineKick

Quote from: full back on August 27, 2009, 10:22:24 AM

Players diving does my head in & is terrible to watch but Miskella punched a player in the head & deserved to go (although I am delighted that a player wont miss an AI final)

There is a massive difference between diving when punched in the head & diving on other occasions when there has been very little in it

Quote from: full back on August 27, 2009, 10:22:24 AM

Well that is true.  And although I didnt get the box on the head, it takes an awful thump to put someone down, for that length of time anyway!

Sorry I'm sounding like I am picking on McGuigan here.

Its a general thing I have noticed.  Even at clubs, men lying down waiting on physios. A lot of attention seeking going on.

In the reality of things, I think there would be one, maybe two times in a match where a physio is actually needed, yet they seem to be on the pitch a dozen times a game!

Sandino

Lads I have said this before Canty did not just drop his knees. It was a clear kick if you watch it on video it was a kick.
"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''

SidelineKick

Quote from: Sandino on August 27, 2009, 01:52:08 PM
Lads I have said this before Canty did not just drop his knees. It was a clear kick if you watch it on video it was a kick.

Do you have a link?