Alan O'Connor sending off.

Started by mournerambler, August 23, 2009, 04:18:03 PM

Quote from: Sandino on August 26, 2009, 09:38:14 PM
muppet, a simple question to you, was it a striking offence? yes or no answer please.

The video clip I saw was inconclusive and wouldn't stand up in any kangaroo court. The thought of a Gaa committee having to stand over shaky evidence is unfortunately the reason why he will play the Final.

I outlined earlier what it looked like to me and no I wouldn't have sent him off. I'd have booked both of them and left it at that.

Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2009, 10:28:07 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 26, 2009, 09:38:14 PM
muppet, a simple question to you, was it a striking offence? yes or no answer please.

The video clip I saw was inconclusive and wouldn't stand up in any kangaroo court. The thought of a Gaa committee having to stand over shaky evidence is unfortunately the reason why he will play the Final.

I outlined earlier what it looked like to me and no I wouldn't have sent him off. I'd have booked both of them and left it at that.

Did you have your eyes half closed?  ???

Quote from: rebel true on August 26, 2009, 08:41:10 PM
Ye all seem to be forgeting that the tyrone guy ellbowed miskella first which was clearly shown on tv. How come no one is talking about. and just blaming the cork player. And what about the Tyrone keeper how kicked out at colm o neill at the same time as this incident

I've watched this a lot of times and all I can see is Miskella striking Brian Mc Guigan with his fist.

Do you have a clip where it clearly shows Brian Mc Guigan elbowing Miskella ?? I'd like to see it.

In an case, Miskella's offence which was spotted by an umpire was a sending off offence. Simple as that.

But I'm glad for his sake and Cork's sake that he won't miss the biggest day of the year.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2009, 10:42:47 PM
Nonsense. It was a punch to the back of the head (a hefty enough punch at that). Where did the 'slap' thing come from anyway? I have seen the incident a couple of times and it looked like a closed fist to me (not that that even matters).

Given the suspensions handed out in the past for incidents caught on camera, this decision is a disgrace. Missing an AI final would be awful but when you deserve to, you deserve to. Pure lack of balls from whoever made this decision.

Another point - Bannon says he is happy with his initial decision - so that's it. Is that how this 'video evidence' operation works? Well, that's a load of balls. So, the ref claims "I don't make mistakes" and that's it decided? I thought there was some board (CCCCCCCCC) that look at the incident and deal with it themselves, regardless of what the ref says. That is a stupid system.

How can anyone else be pulled up on video evidence in the future?

This was (to misquote A Tohill) "at the higher end of the scale".

Farce.

Another man above says it was to the face. Most not from anywhere near Tyrone say it was an open hand or slap. Regardless of what I think There are enough versions here alone to suggest reasonable doubt.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2009, 10:50:01 PM
Where did the 'open hand' thing come from though? It certainly didn't look it to me.

It also appears that those who don't want him banned have jumped on the 'slap' wagon.

It doesn't matter a fcuk to me if he is banned or not but he does deserve to be.

Suarely a strike to the head is a strike to the head whether it be with a closed fist or a girly slap. Both are red card offences.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2009, 10:55:24 PM
Where did the 'open hand' thing come from though? It certainly didn't look it to me.

It also appears that those who don't want him banned have jumped on the 'slap' wagon.

It doesn't matter a fcuk to me if he is banned or not but he does deserve to be.

Suarely a strike to the head is a strike to the head whether it be with a closed fist or a girly slap. Both are red card offences.

Yes they are.

But I don't recall anyone being sent off for a girly slap. Amazing how all this focus is on Miskella because of the chance that he would miss the final. No mention of McGuigan's sly dig which of course came first but doesn't matter now apparently as Tyrone are out.

Two bookings was the right decision and Bannon didn't even get that right.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2009, 11:16:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2009, 11:06:44 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2009, 10:55:24 PM

Yes they are.

But I don't recall anyone being sent off for a girly slap. Amazing how all this focus is on Miskella because of the chance that he would miss the final. No mention of McGuigan's sly dig which of course came first but doesn't matter now apparently as Tyrone are out.

Two bookings was the right decision and Bannon didn't even get that right.
Nonsense again. An elbow in the ribs cannot be compared to a dig in the head. If the CCCCCCC feel that it is, then McGuigan deserves a ban. Miskella definitely deserves a ban.

This is comical. Technically both of what you mention are sending off offenses so they are very comparable. However a bit of cop on (yes I've looked again) says neither did any damage and both players should have been cautioned for their stupidity.

The letter of the law would have seen both sent off but Gaelic games would cease to exist if they were reffed to the letter of the law.

Finally all of the above is my opinion, nothing more nothing less. There are no facts here only opinion. That clip is not conclusive of anything. You cannot see whether either actually connected for sure, we can only assume one way or the other.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2009, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 26, 2009, 11:18:24 PM
6.58 minutes into clip
That was a proper dig. Cut the bullshit lads.

Definite punch to the head by Miskella. What did the umpire say to Bannon ? Bannon still reckons this is a yellow card which is worrying.

Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2009, 10:46:32 PM
Nonsense. It was a punch to the back of the head (a hefty enough punch at that). Where did the 'slap' thing come from anyway? I have seen the incident a couple of times and it looked like a closed fist to me (not that that even matters).

Given the suspensions handed out in the past for incidents caught on camera, this decision is a disgrace. Missing an AI final would be awful but when you deserve to, you deserve to. Pure lack of balls from whoever made this decision.

Another point - Bannon says he is happy with his initial decision - so that's it. Is that how this 'video evidence' operation works? Well, that's a load of balls. So, the ref claims "I don't make mistakes" and that's it decided? I thought there was some board (CCCCCCCCC) that look at the incident and deal with it themselves, regardless of what the ref says. That is a stupid system.

Farce.

Another man above says it was to the face. Most not from anywhere near Tyrone say it was an open hand or slap. Regardless of what I think There are enough versions here alone to suggest reasonable doubt.

Ok - when i posted about a punch to the face - i meant a punch to the head - it doesnt make a difference really does it? Muppet, you remind me of that dead parrot monty python sketch - denying something that is planly obvious! By saying there is reasonable doubt, you are either a fool or on the wind up!!

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 26, 2009, 11:28:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2009, 10:46:32 PM

Farce.

Ok - when i posted about a punch to the face - i meant a punch to the head - it doesnt make a difference really does it? Muppet, you remind me of that dead parrot monty python sketch - denying something that is planly obvious! By saying there is reasonable doubt, you are either a fool or on the wind up!!

I'm either a fool or on the wind up?

Quote from: orangeman on August 26, 2009, 11:27:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2009, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 26, 2009, 11:18:24 PM
6.58 minutes into clip
That was a proper dig. Cut the bullshit lads.

Definite punch to the head by Miskella. What did the umpire say to Bannon ? Bannon still reckons this is a yellow card which is worrying.

in fairness to bannon he only went by what the umpire told him, but it was a striking action.  what else you expect of bannon on his last big game

Sandino

Muppet. You think your one but your actually the other.
"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''