Prostate Cancer - Biggest Killer of Men in Ireland

Started by SLIGONIAN, August 22, 2009, 12:03:09 PM

I hope he makes a full recovery Sligonian, by the sounds of things it is curable so im sure he will make a full recovery.

Hope everything goes well for your father Sligonian.
QuoteYou don't even have to have that these days. A simple blood test (PSA) does the trick

Unfortunately the PSA test is unreliable - More positive negatives than anything. I had one done recently and my GP basically said it wasn't worth anything and that the only way top be sure was to have an examination. 

Cheers lads again, dont worry about not seeing the thread, dont like to spreading bad news tbh, but seen this on another website and thought awareness would do no harm, but yer words helped alot especially living on my own out here.

Dad has to go for scans now to see if its spread, looks like radiotherapy i think in Galway now, it looks promisings, one side is clear and the other side is 50%, his bloods are at a level thats a good sign.

Doctor admitted to Mum that he was so sure he didnt have cancer that he wasnt going to send Dad to get biopsy, said he just did by chance more than anything, so were lucky in sense as it may been have missed...looking promising but will know more after the scans in a couple of weeks.

Just so ye know, Mum said they couldnt diagnose just based on blood tests but it will show an anomaly, and then based on that they send you for scan or biopsy. Its very common at Dads age 59, so keep an eye on things, get checked out twice a yr for certain things I advise to any yee. Let it not cost you a thought inbetween.

Again lads thanks for the comments and wish any of ye faced with this suffering all the best.

D4S

Just read through the thread sligonian.....glad to hear it sounds more positive, and I wish your family the best of luck!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

It is now 2 months since we found out Dad has prostate cancer.

Since then hes had 2 scans. He was supposed to have a MRI one but even though he told them he has stents and his health records would state that he arrived on the day and couldnt do them for that reason ::). So he got CAT scan instead a couple of weeks ago. Anyway he met the specialist today and she met Mum and Dad and only looked at results of that in the meeting, where she couldnt read the scan but there is something showing on the bone which isnt good news. She couldnt confirm anything today. She said she has to talk to radiologist, which I think we are entitled to ask why she didnt look at scan before today and have it sorted with the radiologist >:(. We have to wait another week, and Dad has to get blood tests again tomorrow.

14 months so far and counting.

So another week of worry, where we dont know if its cancer has spread to the bones or not. She couldnt say what it was but something is there and the scan isnt high enough resolution for her to know?

The mistake with the stents and her not talking to radiologist before meeting us has cost us a month in time, never mind 10 months waitng for biopsy appointment.

Its sounding alot more serious now and Im angry we dont know the full story yet, another nervous week ahead but this is nothing to what Oisins family are going through and my thoughts are with them also.

mc_grens

Best of luck to your Dad Sligonian.

I dont know if your Dad has had diffiulties with Cancer in the past, but in my experience you should never lose hope, and always keep positive- it's the only way to approach it. My ould man had problems with different types of Cancer throughout his life, but never was anything but positive. He was told 35 odd years ago that he had 6 weeks to live... They were only out by around 33 years and 10 months!!!

So as I said.. Keep positive and keep your Dad positive and he'll come out the other side flyin!

having coming through something similar with my father a few years ago all i can say is challenge all the nurses, doctors and consultants you or your family meet.  i felt that my father was not receiving the care  that he needed and i kept challenging everyone.   eventually this got him the care he needed.

Just to update ye lads on my Dads recovery, he had his brachardia injection operation in Galway today. It the least taxing treatment on the body and hopefully 100% cure and hopefully no side effects. Everything went well and was success. He gets out tomorrow, and only has to be monitored from here on in. Thanks for the support on here over last yr. Really appreciate it.

Thats great to hear Sligonian,hopefully thats the last of that horrible disease than your family will have to go through.

great news for you and your family, remember fight for the treatment your father needs as you only got one dad. lets hope your father goes from strength to strength.

Hedley Lamarr

Good news, hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed:

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 29, 2010, 12:09:11 AM
Just to update ye lads on my Dads recovery, he had his brachardia injection operation in Galway today. It the least taxing treatment on the body and hopefully 100% cure and hopefully no side effects. Everything went well and was success. He gets out tomorrow, and only has to be monitored from here on in. Thanks for the support on here over last yr. Really appreciate it.

Great stuff Sligonian, glad to hear it. Wish him all the best from the eejits on here.

glad to hear this chap.

tell him jibbajabba from derry said all the best (bet it brings a smile to his face,lol)

this seems to be even more common as time goes on. i heard of a road in county armagh where along a 1 mile stretch 5 men (neighbours) have tested positive. is this mirrored anywhere else? has anyone been for tests? this kind of report is certainly alarming. whats the story

My father was diagnosed with it around 4 years ago at the age of 64, thankfully he recovered but went through a tough time along the way.  At the time, the consultant recommended that if he had any brothers that they also get tested.  His 4 brothers were tested, 1 was diagnosed at that time, I found that shocking.  Another one has been diagnosed since ... I guess I know what to be watching out for in years to come.