Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

was thinking that, the players coming on bursting a gut to impress. feck 18 points is a lot though.

ok will go with Tipp minus 18 Dublin to win the other

jackmckee

Search party out in the Ards, apparently some north antrim kids have got lost on their way, didn't arrive at 3 o'clock. Their parents will be worried. Hope they turn up safe and sound.

samboswig

Quote from: hardstation on August 21, 2010, 10:26:09 PM
Quote from: the colonel on August 19, 2010, 01:18:52 PM
Milltown whats your odd's on survival in Div 2. Do you think you will stay up? Glenarm look certs to come into it.

Rossa had some great young players on Sunday. Forwards were not scared to take a run at the Dunloy defence, especially Armstrong and McGuinness. Pity their shooting was off.

What was Ger Cutt up to?
Just introducing Mickey Armstrong to senior hurling when the ball wasn't around. Tough lad. Funny that, seeing how his balls dropped off 2 years ago in Casement when he was lining Jim Close. They must have regrown.

Spot On, although young Armstrong should be well able to handle himself once he's got settled. You've a great memory too Hardstation. Jim Close has a serious set of boolers on him and Cutt lapped it that day alright.

clootfromthe21

Quote from: hardstation on August 21, 2010, 10:26:09 PM
Quote from: the colonel on August 19, 2010, 01:18:52 PM
Milltown whats your odd's on survival in Div 2. Do you think you will stay up? Glenarm look certs to come into it.

Rossa had some great young players on Sunday. Forwards were not scared to take a run at the Dunloy defence, especially Armstrong and McGuinness. Pity their shooting was off.

What was Ger Cutt up to?
Just introducing Mickey Armstrong to senior hurling when the ball wasn't around. Tough lad. Funny that, seeing how his balls dropped off 2 years ago in Casement when he was lining Jim Close. They must have regrown.

Hardstation,

Just curious, what size of a crowd would show up for a Johnnies Rossa league match?

Quote from: jackmckee on August 22, 2010, 04:19:47 PM
Search party out in the Ards, apparently some north antrim kids have got lost on their way, didn't arrive at 3 o'clock. Their parents will be worried. Hope they turn up safe and sound.

Aye, what happened there?

I see on the Antrim web site its down as 'not played' rather than a DNF.

Max, Skull, any insider knowledge.

Our relegation battle with Portaferry wasn't played either due to a death in Portaferry.

???

Our footballers we're due to play championship on Sat evening but this fixture was moved back to Monday because of a couple of our U21's playing against Tipp

As a result of that change the match was called off. Did youse not know about the postponement?

ddin't know about the football being moved.

I thought it was to do with the U-21's on the saturday but I'd noticed that Loughgeil and Ballycastle played their game and was wondering.

maxpower

Like Skull i heard the match had been cancelled because of the changed date of the football championship we've 6/7 players who play both.

Couple of big results from the weekend, Cushendall gave Glenarriffe a bit of a beating, which isn't entirely unexpected given its just a week since Glenarriffe exited the championship.  Loughgiel did however hand out a bit of a drubbing to the Town, in Ballycastle too.  Not surprised they won but thought it'd be much closer than 16 points.
What happens next????

pdiddy

Is having a football game the following day a legitimate reason to call off a hurling match?
When a team loses, there's always a row at half time, but when they win, its an inspirational speech

If you've got alot of dual players and the match the next day is championship, yes is the answer. We've actually 9/10 dual players.

our senior championship game was played on the friday night against MG then we played St Pauls in an important match in div 2 hurling and lost heavily!!! on the Sunday night. on hindsight we should have had our game called off

maxpower

you've got it the wrong way around MR2, had your championship been on Sat evening would you have played the hurling on Fri?

The footballers train all year for the championship, bit unfair to throw them a league match in county down the day before a championship Quarter Final, and it just wouldn't have been possible to play without them
What happens next????

thehurler

Well Sunday is nearing and good old Dunloy are focussing on an intermediate football game !
Maybe they should begin to think about hurling again but then maybe they have given up on the senior hurling championship and are very concerned about the intermediate football championship ! It is a long time since they were not capable of fielding in a senior hurling league game but their focus is on the football.
Well let's hope we have a fair referee and linesmen on Sunday and at last we will get our chance to show how hurling is played and I  bet there will be at least two Dunloy red cards on Sunday along side a heavy defeat for them.

Quote from: thehurler on August 24, 2010, 05:17:57 PM
Well Sunday is nearing and good old Dunloy are focussing on an intermediate football game !
Maybe they should begin to think about hurling again but then maybe they have given up on the senior hurling championship and are very concerned about the intermediate football championship ! It is a long time since they were not capable of fielding in a senior hurling league game but their focus is on the football.
Well let's hope we have a fair referee and linesmen on Sunday and at last we will get our chance to show how hurling is played and I  bet there will be at least two Dunloy red cards on Sunday along side a heavy defeat for them.

Someone like Herbie?  :)

Ya clampit.

thehurler

Isn't great on the week of championship Dunloy concentrating on football ????
And I  kid you not it is not Celtic Football club but our own native game , they did well the other night anyone have a team  from it to see all these dual players ?
Again sad to see a once proud club not able to field in hurling.
On to Sunday any idea on the Dunloy lineout ? A bet is they'll start with 15 but definitely not finish with 15 if we have vigilant linesmen , umpires and a fair referee.!!