Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Delgany 2nds

Quote from: Saffron71 on May 22, 2024, 09:55:08 PMDoes anyone know what the story is with promotion and relegation in the leagues.  In Football there seems to be talk of relegation play-offs.  Will this be the same in hurling or just bottom team relegated and top team promoted. 

DIV 2, 3, 4 league winners promoted automatically.
DIV 1,2 & 3 Bottom team relegated.

2nd last placed teams in Div 1, 2, & 3 play runners - up in Div 2, 3 & 4 in promotion/ relegation play off !

Great win today though maybe not a great performance but that doesn't matter. We always struggle with Carlow physically but there's a lot of pace in that team which really helps. The extra man helped too. Carlow a decent enough team but they do struggle with their discipline.

James mcnaughton in full flight tough to catch. Same with the Elliots. Definitely glad to hear the final whistle there.

BrendanAntrim

Most of the teams we play against are easy to respect, admire. But Carlow aren't that. I think they have a few skilful hurlers but their overall game is based on physicality and over the line thuggishness. Delighted with the result today and good riddance to Carlow.

Saffrongael

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 26, 2024, 04:00:32 PM
Quote from: marty34 on May 26, 2024, 03:56:02 PMAntrim's target is to win 1 game in Leinster and stay in the Leinster Chapionship the following year.

That's success for Antrim.

What are Dublin doing that we need to do?

Dublin should be what we are looking to get to

Dublin minors and 20s both in Leinster finals in the last week, we aren't even playing in A competitions in Leinster

Carlow some shower of ill bred hoors, well able to hurl so don't need to be at their extra curricular shite. Couple of their forwards dominated in the air today. 
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

There wouldn't be many in current crop have been really successful at minor. There's a few left from the ai u21 team but after that the players we have would have been in b competitions etc. I think that is why gleeson has done such a great job - we have not been competing with division one teams at underage but have been able to up it at senior.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 26, 2024, 04:00:32 PM
Quote from: marty34 on May 26, 2024, 03:56:02 PMAntrim's target is to win 1 game in Leinster and stay in the Leinster Chapionship the following year.

That's success for Antrim.

What are Dublin doing that we need to do?

Dublin should be what we are looking to get to

Antrim are miles off Dublin.

Firstly, Dublin have a huge no. of clubs and players etc.

Secondly, Dublin this year are/will be in 3 Leinster Finals - Minor, U20 and Senior.

If we are using no more under age success (which we never had) then Antrim should be plying their trade at Christy Ring level

Our senior club level, as in when our lads hit senior level we are well capable

Sorting out juvenile would be great but it won't make us All Ireland contenders.

I said that Dublin are the level we look to get to is not taking away from how much Dublin has dominated us, but they ain't in the big 6

We need to get to that level

BrendanAntrim

How are we miles off Dublin? We drew with them in championship last year, and they beat us by a point in the league this year. The championship result this year was very disappointing but hard to say we are miles off them.

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: BrendanAntrim on May 27, 2024, 12:12:34 AMHow are we miles off Dublin? We drew with them in championship last year, snd they beat us by a point in the league this year. The championship result this year was very disappointing but hard to say we are miles off them.

Miles off playing them in Parnell park
A lot closer in corrigan
Same with most teams we play
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Quote from: BrendanAntrim on May 27, 2024, 12:12:34 AMHow are we miles off Dublin? We drew with them in championship last year, snd they beat us by a point in the league this year. The championship result this year was very disappointing but hard to say we are miles off them.

Brendan, you are looking at Antrim seniors in isolation. Wrong way to look at it.

You need to look at the overall picture in Antrim hurling. By saying that Antrim drew with Dublin last year is all well and good but Antrim needed to beat Carlow yesterday to stay up.

By your take, Carlow drew with Kilkenny the other week so they're in a great position hurling wise. No they're not. They're now down to the Joe Mc Donagh again, but looking at the bigger picture, they've only about 4 or 5 senior hurling clubs. They've have a golden generation of players like Mouse Kavanagh, Chris Nolan and the Coadys. They've punched well above their weight this past few years. Will they get up again to Div. 1b again? I doubt it.

The key thing for Antrim is who's coming up from the Joe Mc Donagh for next year.  Offaly or Laois? I think they'll both be better than Carlow.  That will cause Antrim a big problem next year I think.  Gleeson has done a great job with Antrim. Is he there for another year?

Regarding Dublin, they were in the Leinster Minor and U20 Leinster Finals this year.  Granted both teams were beat by two very good teams in Kilkenny and Offaly respectively. Both of them will take stopping in the AI series.  Antrim are in Tier 2 of these competitions. As a matter of fact, their U20 weren't even in Tier 2 of Leinster at U20 level this year.

As I say, you need to stop looking at it in isolation and look at the bigger picture. 

Antrim need to look at having consistency away from home, it's like we throw the towel in before the ref throws the ball in.

The point with looking at Dublin is to say that's our target, we ain't reaching the Limericks Corks and Kilkenny's levels but if we creep that bit closer each year we can start to be competitive.

Antrim are in a great position because of our senior club league. It's managed to produce higher standard of players at senior level whereas at juvenile level we are lacking, need to improve that but it's not the main reason we are a tier 2 team.

Beating Wexford and Carlow and putting ourselves in the mix heading to Dublin, albeit we were beat handy, was an improvement

NorthAntrim

From the doom and gloom about whos missing and injuries etc i think weve turned the season around well. With that amount missing im sure morale and training sessions dipped. But theyve dug out 2 wins and looked very good v galway until a couple of howlers from the officials. We got the rub of the green yesterday though. Id love Gleeson to go again

Beating Wexford massive result and were it not for the red card maybe the Galway game could have been different. Disappointing game more against Dublin than anyone really.

Dublin are far ahead of us. They're in a Leinster final which we can only dream of. I still think we are doing well and we have uncovered some good players this year. McManus was our leader for years so replacing him was always going to be tough which made the year more challenging.

NorthAntrim

Dublin was a poor one. But it was really a last 15 mins meltdown for whatever reason. Dublin are a very good side in saying that and a good bit ahead. We're going to need some of these younger lads really putting the hand up next year saying im ready to go here, but at the minute physically not senior intercounty level