AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

No Mike-When I see Galvan I think of Conor Gormley standing over him as he lies on the floor at final whsitle in 2008 final

Very classy fellow that Gormley.

I think Paul brings out the worst in people  :o

I think McMenimen and Gormley have shown they are well able to bring out the worst in themselves without any help.

It will remain one of my memories of 2009, the footballing lesson we gave ye up in Omagh in the first half of the league game and then Ricey boiling over (pardon the pun) and making a complete fool of himself for most of that game. We had ye risen that day alright.

But anyway 'tis history and its no time for pissing on parades ye have other issues to sort out....

Mickey Harte will be plotting for 2010 already. It's a sign of how successful he has been with this team that some people interpret a defeat in the AI semi final, after strolling through Ulster as failure. Strange isn't it ?.

Quote from: orangeman on August 25, 2009, 12:11:19 AM
Mickey Harte will be plotting for 2010 already. It's a sign of how successful he has been with this team that some people interpret a defeat in the AI semi final, after strolling through Ulster as failure. Strange isn't it ?.

Every team has their level. Tyrone's has been contending for All-Irelands. Nothing strange about it.

I am sure he is , You are right the bar has risen it is very easy to live on past Glories as we in Kerry did for a decade or so . I am surprised Colm Cavangh and McCullagh have not staked a starting place . Cassidy looked very good in the league in Omagh which was a strange game .

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 12:10:51 AM
I think McMenimen and Gormley have shown they are well able to bring out the worst in themselves without any help.

It will remain one of my memories of 2009, the footballing lesson we gave ye up in Omagh in the first half of the league game and then Ricey boiling over (pardon the pun) and making a complete fool of himself for most of that game. We had ye risen that day alright.

But anyway 'tis history and its no time for pissing on parades ye have other issues to sort out....

We all blindly support our players as youse do with Galvan. I remember the cheer he got when he came on in All Ireland final last year and I thought,'is this their role model? ??? We know what Mcmenamin is, but when he pulls on Tyrone jersey, we'll back him. In club football here wouldn't be most popular.     

Yerra we all have our angels and demons , sure it what makes us what we are in the GAA.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 25, 2009, 12:17:34 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 12:10:51 AM

We all blindly support our players as youse do with Galvan. I remember the cheer he got when he came on in All Ireland final last year and I thought,'is this their role model? ??? We know what Mcmenamin is, but when he pulls on Tyrone jersey, we'll back him. In club football here wouldn't be most popular.   

It is very easy to have a "pantomime baddy " to roar abuse at on the opposition team . I remember having a chat with an inter county player who told me that the usual suspects are usually no problem but some of the other lads who the media don't focus on are much worse once they cross the white line . Trash talking is a big part of the inter county game (no the player is not from Kerry and he was not talking about Tyrone) . The point the player was making was that stuff happens in games and you cannot react as after all the training and effort you put in getting sent off is a big no no

I'm sure Mickey is, and there are a lot of reasons for Tyrone to feel confident heading into the future.

Though a word of warning from experience, the fall from the top, when it does inevitably happen, will come a lot faster than you ever imagine.

When you get to my age you learn to savour every minute of success and not take it for granted. Of course it will pass but it has been unreal the last few years for Tyrone supporters.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 25, 2009, 12:35:15 AM
When you get to my age you learn to savour every minute of success and not take it for granted. Of course it will pass but it has been unreal the last few years for Tyrone supporters.

It has indeed been a great few years no doubt ye will be back . Mr Harte has made some contribution .

Quote from: AFS on August 25, 2009, 12:26:29 AM

I'm sure Mickey is, and there are a lot of reasons for Tyrone to feel confident heading into the future.

Though a word of warning from experience, the fall from the top, when it does inevitably happen, will come a lot faster than you ever imagine.
[/b]

True but hopefully Tyrone can gradually replace those who are coming to an end with new talent who can maintain their present position.

don't start the ricey bashing again, when the cork player came on as a sub ricey shaked his hand.  nice to see compared to the normal shouldering you see