Kerry 0-14 Sligo 1-10 - Heartache for Sligo

Started by SLIGONIAN, July 12, 2009, 06:54:28 PM

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 08:53:04 PM
Shame it's not in Killarney. Nicest setting for a game in the world. 6000 Longfordians travelled there in 2006 and we had a great time (bar the result). I suggest all the Sligo folk travel in force, overnight it, and have a whale of a time.

And put it up to Kerry. Give it a hoor of a lash.

Revenge for 1975

I dare say the team next Saturday will be, ahem, better prepared than their 1975 counterparts.

Am looking forward to it after my initial disappointment. After the long trip yesterday was hoping for a home draw but no matter. Was in Killarney before at a Kerry County Final and its one of my favourite grounds but Tralee will be a new ground for me. As I said earlier will stay over but off the beer until after my fight on August 1st so kinda raging that I'll miss out on a good session. We will cause them problems if we can avoid any shitty goals.

Buckass

Sligo beat kerry in Tralee under Mickey Moran in the league(1998 I think). The Kerry boys being presented their AI medals the night before may have had something to do with that though.
Think it's a great draw. Great challenge for the lads and one they'll be looking forward to. It'd be some scalp!

Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 09:42:31 PM
Right, Sligo to beat Kerry and Antrim to beat Tyrone. Some weekend for the Division 4 finalists. We'll meet yis in Enniskillen for a party.

Its a deal. If it happens the beer ban could go out the window! Is Enniskillen ready?

jjjshabadoojnr

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 07:06:09 PM
Why do kerry have home advantage? Someone earlier said it was neutral venues but obviously thats not the case.

My Dad wont chance the astra, he got lift yday, also Dad recounts one of the Sligo backs marking out an area on the pitch for Spillane NOT TO ENTER, he didnt go near it but then again he didnt need to. Kerins missed a peno and free in the first 5 mins which killed us and also did we train for that match.
Ya my auld boy told me that story also. I believe the man in question was john brennan.
One of the players said to me today he wanted to get Kerry at home, well at least he got one half of his wish granted!!
I think its great for the players. A chance to go  out and play against some of the best players in the country in a championship game. If the lads cant get up for this one its time for the viagra. Dont care where it is or when. Hope we bring a big crowd. Thought the crowd got behind them in Thurles when they were under a bit of pressure.
Really looking forward to it!!

Quote from: Buckass on July 12, 2009, 09:38:00 PM
Sligo beat kerry in Tralee under Mickey Moran in the league(1998 I think). The Kerry boys being presented their AI medals the night before may have had something to do with that though.
Think it's a great draw. Great challenge for the lads and one they'll be looking forward to. It'd be some scalp!

Correct, beat them in Tralee 0-11 to 1-7, and there goal was an own goal by Ronan Keane. Id take a similiar result the next day.

Please be on TV.

baoithe

What a draw! Thank God I'll be able to make it to this one. I too was at that league meeting in 1998 and it was some session. Not sure I'd be able for it now. Besides the game itself the only thing I seem to remember from that weekend is that the chippers served coleslaw and stuffing with a snack box.

Seanie, you're a man of steel if you stay off the beer on foot of a Sligo win. However, I think this is the end of the line for this year but its a chance for these lads to make a mark and a platform to build on for next year. O'Donovan will hardly be CB now given the scoring machine thats in the corner????

O Hara will love this draw, a mans whos ambition was never met by Sligo or other players now gets his pit his wits against the giants of footbal Kerry. Imagine everyone of our players plays to their potential and pulls off a performance of epic magnitude.

You know Walsh can look at stopping Kerry and I agree with baoithe put Ross on Cooper, for starters, but why not take off the shackles and go for broke, when Longford hunted in packs instead of worrying about there own man they suffocated Kerry. Id play O Hara CHB aswell.

Having read JOC book he will get the dvd of our galway and tipp games and in 10 mins will know how our kickouts work and who are our weaknesses. He'd get a right old suprised if our management woke up and picked our best 15.

From Hoganstand

Kerry manager Jack O'Connor is sweating on the fitness of key forwards Kieran Donaghy and Declan O'Sullivan ahead of next Saturday's All-Ireland football third round qualifier.

Both players were forced off with injuries during yesterday's unconvincing 1-12 to 0-11 victory over Longford at Pearse Park. Former Footballer of the Year Donaghy, who was making his first appearance since breaking a bone in his foot during the National League final, suffered another foot injury and left the ground on crutches, while O'Sullivan took a knock to his knee.

O'Connor explained afterwards that a player had stood on the big full forward's foot and was hoping that the injury wasn't too serious. However, he admitted that both Donaghy and O'Sullivan were facing a race against time to be fit for next weekend's game.

Man of the match Tommy Walsh, who scored 1-2, felt the injuries had an unsettling effect on Kerry who, after dominating the first half, saw their lead whittled down to four points before the end.
"We will have a look at what we did wrong, we lost Declan O'Sullivan and Kieran Donaghy, we lost our shape and I think it had a big factor on the game," he said.

"The main thing was to get the victory," the Kerins O'Rahillys man added.

"We knew it wouldn't be easy, especially with the conditions. We got out at the right end, we're just happy to have come through. Our backs were to the wall, they kept coming at us, they were winning the breaks, going in harder for the ball. But, happily, we're through."

Longford manager Glenn Ryan took some comfort from his team's fighting spirit.

"We worked hard. We are very disappointed with our first half performance, we didn't do ourselves justice. Kerry were very clinical. I thought we were by far the better side in the second half, nothing more you could ask for, there were lads out on their feet," the former Kildare star said.

The longford lads went in ferociously for the ball and we need to do the same.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 13, 2009, 10:32:31 AM
From Hoganstand

Kerry manager Jack O'Connor is sweating on the fitness of key forwards Kieran Donaghy and Declan O'Sullivan ahead of next Saturday's All-Ireland football third round qualifier.

Both players were forced off with injuries during yesterday's unconvincing 1-12 to 0-11 victory over Longford at Pearse Park. Former Footballer of the Year Donaghy, who was making his first appearance since breaking a bone in his foot during the National League final, suffered another foot injury and left the ground on crutches, while O'Sullivan took a knock to his knee.

O'Connor explained afterwards that a player had stood on the big full forward's foot and was hoping that the injury wasn't too serious. However, he admitted that both Donaghy and O'Sullivan were facing a race against time to be fit for next weekend's game.

Man of the match Tommy Walsh, who scored 1-2, felt the injuries had an unsettling effect on Kerry who, after dominating the first half, saw their lead whittled down to four points before the end.
"We will have a look at what we did wrong, we lost Declan O'Sullivan and Kieran Donaghy, we lost our shape and I think it had a big factor on the game," he said.

"The main thing was to get the victory," the Kerins O'Rahillys man added.

"We knew it wouldn't be easy, especially with the conditions. We got out at the right end, we're just happy to have come through. Our backs were to the wall, they kept coming at us, they were winning the breaks, going in harder for the ball. But, happily, we're through."

Longford manager Glenn Ryan took some comfort from his team's fighting spirit.

"We worked hard. We are very disappointed with our first half performance, we didn't do ourselves justice. Kerry were very clinical. I thought we were by far the better side in the second half, nothing more you could ask for, there were lads out on their feet," the former Kildare star said.

The longford lads went in ferociously for the ball and we need to do the same.

Yeah, we should leave lads on the field that are winning breaks and not replace them with lads who lose possession 85% of the time they get it.

Apparently Donaghy broke a bone in his foot and is out for 2 months.

baoithe

Lads when can we expect confirmation of a throw-in time?

Quote from: PatDaly on July 13, 2009, 12:43:09 PM

Donaghy may miss rest of Championship

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0713/kerry.html

Big blow for Kerry's hopes for the summer. Jack's not having much luck.

QuoteJack's not having much luck.

Spillane was happy with the draw (and Kerry seem to be lucky with the lower division teams they are getting so far, no offence to Lonford or Sligo intended, but considering the teams they have dodged they have been lucky).

Pity they didn't get Sligo in Markevich Park it's a big ask for them to take Kerry in Tralee but with 'star' now out Sligo can cause an upset. As a few of the Sligo lads said, when Sligo are written off they play their best football.

heineken_on_tap

I cant see an upset here, I can see Sligo putting it up to Kerry but ultimately this Kerry side have much more class throughout the side and that will tell.

I dont think Kerry will run away with it as Walsh seems to have a good group of honest players but I can see Kerry winning it with 5 or 6 points to spare. Hopefully I am wrong.