New York

Started by Karl Kennedy, May 21, 2009, 09:03:27 PM

Stall the Bailer

Quote from: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 11:08:16 AM
OK - I see your point. I saw it in the Summer and it was the opposite of what I read about the Giant's Causeway, which I haven't seen, but I gather is something of a disappointment. Niagara was way more impressive than I was prepared for.
With all the negative talk I heard about the Causeway I was actually quite surprised how much I liked it. Mind you I wasn't expecting much.

Quote from: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 11:05:36 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 10:54:33 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 10:40:10 AM
I was at falls in January time a couple years ago. It was poor.
Half the falls were froze and the maid of mist was out of action. Probably at least spring before it starts up again. Unless you like casinos Niagara has little else, a bigger tacky version of Bundoran ,without the sea.

Would it not be worth the trip to
It means the falls is smaller than in the summer, about half the water going over it in the winter.
I was underwhelmed by it.

In the springtime when the thaw takes place, the flow is spectacular, often with huge chunks of ice thrown in for good measure. I used to have to go there for work all the time, so I have been there probably 20 times in total. You could drive the whole way there from NYC and see nothing that time of year so I would strongly advise against taking this side trip. Come up to boston on the $10 bus and go on the lash for a few days........that would be a much better use of your time

dubai2000

Guys heading to NYC next month for 4 nights - any advice on where I should stay - is location important as infra structure is pretty good. Also any advice on what I should take in?? Thanks in advance

Send me a pm on what you like to do, background price range etc and i will do my best to advise

Send it on to me as well Hegan please. Thinking of heading to new york/vegas in the summer. Cheers

Stayed in a friend's place in Queens when I was over, as long as you're comfortable with the subway there is zero need for any other transport. Get one of the seven day unlimited pass cards and you don't have to worry about paying every time you want to go somewhere and you'll likely save money even over only four days. Really it was a joy to not have to worry about traffic and the like, for one of the biggest cities in the world it's far more relaxing than many far smaller places to get around, especially with the uniform block layout in Manhattan.

I definitely would recommend you start looking at the subway maps now though because at first it's going to look like absolute gibberish and you don't want to be having to think on your feet while a train's pulling up of you could end up in the wrong borough!

If you have a smartphone you could look into contacting your network to get it unlocked and buying a cheap US SIM so you have cheap access to GPS and the net for worst-case scenarios.

Booked flights to go over St. Patrick's Day from 14th to 21st March. Decided to stay in Jersey down by Liberty Park as it's only a few stops away from where we'd hoped to stay in Manhattan and it's right on the shore of the Hudson. Couldnt believe how you get much more for less once you leave Manhattan. Flying into Newark as well which makes it very convenient.

Never been before and simply cannot wait.

BF booked flights last week for 15 - 18 March (to do NY half marathon on St Patrick's Day at 7.30am) for £330 from Dublin. I thought that was a phenomenal price. 

We did loads of walking rather than use the subway - we only used it to cover long distances.

Three favourite things from my trip:
1. Ellis Island - views back to Manhattan are amazing, as is Ellis Island itself. 
2. Rooftop bar called 230 Fifth (on 5th Av strangely enough!) - gave us great twilight views of the city from a patio with drinks in hand and blankets to warm us up! 
3. Cocktails at the Plaza - just so I could nick the beer mat (very fancy). 

Next time i go to NY I'll go on a girls trip and get a completely different view of the city. 

Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 11:48:28 AM
Booked flights to go over St. Patrick's Day from 14th to 21st March. Decided to stay in Jersey down by Liberty Park as it's only a few stops away from where we'd hoped to stay in Manhattan and it's right on the shore of the Hudson. Couldnt believe how you get much more for less once you leave Manhattan. Flying into Newark as well which makes it very convenient.

Don't plan on doing much walking about Jersey City. Yes, definitely convenient to Manhattan but not the safest part of Jersey.
If you are bringing the Missus I would take her to the revolving restaurant - great views of the city at night and a real schwanky place.
The Ninja Restaurant is a must for any 80s or 90s Martial Arts fan, authentic decor, great atmosphere, class nights craic
It will definitely be cold in March so bring plenty of layers.

Good luck in the Marathon Rois!

Depends what part of Jersey city. Newport is all new and full of expensive residential towers. Down by Paulus Hook/ Exchange Place at the north edge of Liberty State Park isn't too bad either, and just a three minute PATH journey from WTC area. There are public housing towers around, so l would be careful at night. Ferry from Paulus Hook is very handy (and fairly cheap) too.

Quote from: The Iceman on January 10, 2013, 02:18:21 PM
Good luck in the Marathon Rois!

Ah you're very good but it isn't me, it's the boyfriend.  I don't have the annual leave left (yes it is January and I haven't actually used any, but have skiing, a wk in Mexico and three weeks in New England and Nova Scotia to spend my valuable holidays on this year!).

Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 11:48:28 AM

You will love it Gallsman. There's nowhere like it in the world IMHO. Just walk everywhere. Myself and the bro in law walked from Battery Park on the tip of the island to Times Square via Wall St, Chinatown,  the Village, Chelsea. A few "pitstops" along the way. It was an amazing experience. As mentioned above talk to Heganboy...he'll give you all the pointers you need.

Quote from: J70 on January 10, 2013, 02:50:45 PM
Depends what part of Jersey city. Newport is all new and full of expensive residential towers. Down by Paulus Hook/ Exchange Place at the north edge of Liberty State Park isn't too bad either, and just a three minute PATH journey from WTC area. There are public housing towers around, so l would be careful at night. Ferry from Paulus Hook is very handy (and fairly cheap) too.

That's exactly where we're staying - Greene Streeet in Exchange Place. It's five lads going on the piss for a week. I've no intention of doing anything in Jersey itself other than get the ferry over to Ellis Island and to see Statue of Liberty and we'll be getting cabs home at night. Reckon we'll be ok.

Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 04:15:36 PM

That's exactly where we're staying - Greene Streeet in Exchange Place. It's five lads going on the piss for a week. I've no intention of doing anything in Jersey itself other than get the ferry over to Ellis Island and to see Statue of Liberty and we'll be getting cabs home at night. Reckon we'll be ok.
I have a feeling some yellow cabs might not agree to take you to Jersey as I think they are only obliged to take fares to the 5 NYC boroughs.

dec

Quote from: 5 Sams on January 10, 2013, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 04:15:36 PM

I have a feeling some yellow cabs might not agree to take you to Jersey as I think they are only obliged to take fares to the 5 NYC boroughs.

The PATH train does run at night though infrequently. For taxi trips to outside NYC if they are willing to take you the driver will want to negotiate a flat rate before the trip rather than have it on the meter.