Tesco British products being sold in Ireland

Started by Tankie, May 11, 2009, 11:04:36 PM

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 10:57:43 AM
Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 09:01:12 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 12, 2009, 11:59:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 12, 2009, 11:58:36 PM
People haven't got a lot of money to be buying Irish, which is expensive. I know you're from the rugby circles and don't have a clear concept of money problems. Just trust me ;)
He hasnt a notion.

we will see who has a notion when the food industry is destroyed in this country and we have no choice but to buy from Britain, and all the factory worker, farmers, haulage firms are gone bust we wont have jobs for them either. It really is no wonder the country is such a shithole......i think i would be better suited in France  ;D
You havent a clue about people struggling to put food on the table. You're showing unbelieveable ignorance.
As I said above, English farmers can prodcue the meat cheaper than Irish farmers and I want to know why because someone is taking the piss somewhere in the chain and I dont see why they should be propped up.

Am I right in thinking tankie that you earn a decent wage but still live at home and therefore very easy for you to lecture on what people should be buying? 

Your a gas man POG, only a couple of months ago you would take to arms to protect family and country but now you wont even support your own.

I have a comfortable living at the moment as I am still in employment, work weekends etc for extra cash, so yes i can afford to shop in supperquinn, but are you telling me that I am the only person that can afford this? I would in a large company where people earn even mor ethan me and because things are a bit tight for us all they have no problem buying these british products and you would believe that they are on the bread line until you see them heading off on their second or 3rd holiday. 

they way people are going on in this country you would think it was famine times but yet the pubs are jammed every weekend and everyone appears to be still going on atleast one holiday a year - this is not the bread line to me....

English farmers can prodcue the meat cheaper than Irish farmers and I want to know why because someone is taking the piss somewhere in the chain and I dont see why they should be propped up.

The "Farm gate price" is the least of the reasons Irish food is dear ...it's all the middle men involved.
As for English farmers -- their farms are large ranches and their countryside is almost totally deserted. They probably have twice the land area as the 26 Cos but about thalf the number of farmers so it's simply extensive farming needing smaller margins.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Ping Pong Santa

Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 11:25:14 AM
Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 09:01:12 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 12, 2009, 11:59:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 12, 2009, 11:58:36 PM
People haven't got a lot of money to be buying Irish, which is expensive. I know you're from the rugby circles and don't have a clear concept of money problems. Just trust me ;)
He hasnt a notion.

we will see who has a notion when the food industry is destroyed in this country and we have no choice but to buy from Britain, and all the factory worker, farmers, haulage firms are gone bust we wont have jobs for them either. It really is no wonder the country is such a shithole......i think i would be better suited in France  ;D
You havent a clue about people struggling to put food on the table. You're showing unbelieveable ignorance.
As I said above, English farmers can prodcue the meat cheaper than Irish farmers and I want to know why because someone is taking the piss somewhere in the chain and I dont see why they should be propped up.

Am I right in thinking tankie that you earn a decent wage but still live at home and therefore very easy for you to lecture on what people should be buying? 

Your a gas man POG, only a couple of months ago you would take to arms to protect family and country but now you wont even support your own.

I have a comfortable living at the moment as I am still in employment, work weekends etc for extra cash, so yes i can afford to shop in supperquinn, but are you telling me that I am the only person that can afford this? I would in a large company where people earn even mor ethan me and because things are a bit tight for us all they have no problem buying these british products and you would believe that they are on the bread line until you see them heading off on their second or 3rd holiday. 

they way people are going on in this country you would think it was famine times but yet the pubs are jammed every weekend and everyone appears to be still going on atleast one holiday a year - this is not the bread line to me....

I doubt firstly the validity of that statement but it should be pointed out that we are still very much at the beginning of this mess with many of the ramifications still to come.

so are you saying that we shouldn't purchase any products up North Tankie, Looking at buying plumbing materials at the moment i can save over €2k by purchasing them in Ennisskillen . What should i do buy off my local hardware merchant and say thanks very much i'm down 2k but hey what the heck

Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 13, 2009, 11:34:19 AM
so are you saying that we shouldn't purchase any products up North Tankie, Looking at buying plumbing materials at the moment i can save over €2k by purchasing them in Ennisskillen . What should i do buy off my local hardware merchant and say thanks very much i'm down 2k but hey what the heck

People just have to remember why prices are so high in the south, people demanded high wages, higher rents, higher standard of living - we cannot blame business on everything. If you choose to buy from the North that is upto yourself, large bulk items have always been imported and always will be but I am more concerned that we are now becoming part of a British food supply chain that suupplies 60m people and no matter what the governemnt/food producers do they cannot compete with a supply chain that big as their costs will always be lowered because of the volume being produced alone.

Deel -- how much Revenue will be  lost to the Irish Govt by you and others going to the 6 NE Counties to buy things.?
Next time you are complaining about cutbacks in Castlebar hospital or the state of your local school .......just think of the Revenue gone to HM Treasury in London that could have been used to solve the problem. ;)

QuoteYour a gas man POG, only a couple of months ago you would take to arms to protect family and country but now you wont even support your own.
I wont prop up someone who's taking the piss tankie.  

I have a comfortable living at the moment as I am still in employment, work weekends etc for extra cash, so yes i can afford to shop in supperquinn,
and aren't paying a mortgage or dont have bills coming in?

Personally I would buy whatever food I liked and tasted the best, if I could afford it.
Right now I've taken a pay cut, every day in a job is a bonus and I would pick the cheapest thing of the shelf provided it was decent.  
I would not be paying 6 euro for a pie, I would be getting the cheaper one.  Now, I don't think I'm on the breadline it's just the way things are at the minute.  If you can't appreciate the situation other people are in then you're an idiot.  

But even if there was never a recession why should people be ripped off? Why is that acceptable?

Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 11:45:19 AM
Deel -- how much Revenue will be  lost to the Irish Govt by you and others going to the 6 NE Counties to buy things.?
Next time you are complaining about cutbacks in Castlebar hospital or the state of your local school .......just think of the Revenue gone to HM Treasury in London that could have been used to solve the problem. ;)

too much logic in that post for these boys Rossfan

Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 11:44:22 AM

People just have to remember why prices are so high in the south, people demanded high wages, higher rents, higher standard of living - we cannot blame business on everything.

All started by effin greedy FFBuilders rising house prices. This led to bigger mortgages and people needing higher wages to pay them and the cycle started.
Business certainly has to take a large share of the blame as they hiked profit margins to ridiculous levels and were encouraged to keep it up by the Harney/McCreevy greed is good right wing ideological ethos  that prevailed.

At the end of the day i pay loads through taxes, what will the Govenment do with my extra €2k save another bank  ;)

Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 11:47:44 AM

I understand the logic, but if I was deelrover my logic would be why the f**k should I be out 2 grand on top of the taxes I already pay so I can feel good about yon **** next door who never worked a day in his life getting his dole money.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 11:51:24 AM
Quote from: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 11:47:44 AM

I understand the logic, but if I was deelrover my logic would be why the f**k should I be out 2 grand on top of the taxes I already pay so I can feel good about yon **** next door who never worked a day in his life getting his dole money.

Too fecking right pog

POG  and Deel ... Taxes are spent on more things than dole.
I see where Crumlin Childrens Hospital has to close 2 wards because of cutbacks in Government funding.
Hope none of ye will require their services for the rest of the year.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 11:54:55 AM
POG  and Deel ... Taxes are spent on more things than dole.
I see where Crumlin Childrens Hospital has to close 2 wards because of cutbacks in Government funding.
Hope none of ye will require their services for the rest of the year.

Rossfan i understand what you saying but at the end of the day i'm not that flush with money that i can afford to loose 2k. I do realiase the work done by the likes of crumlin hospital that why i donate money to them directly at least i know they will get it.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 11:46:37 AM
QuoteYour a gas man POG, only a couple of months ago you would take to arms to protect family and country but now you wont even support your own.
I wont prop up someone who's taking the piss tankie.  

I have a comfortable living at the moment as I am still in employment, work weekends etc for extra cash, so yes i can afford to shop in supperquinn,
and aren't paying a mortgage or dont have bills coming in?

Personally I would buy whatever food I liked and tasted the best, if I could afford it.
Right now I've taken a pay cut, every day in a job is a bonus and I would pick the cheapest thing of the shelf provided it was decent.  
I would not be paying 6 euro for a pie, I would be getting the cheaper one.  Now, I don't think I'm on the breadline it's just the way things are at the minute.  If you can't appreciate the situation other people are in then you're an idiot.  

But even if there was never a recession why should people be ripped off? Why is that acceptable?

I dont have a mortgage but i do pay rent, also I have alot of bill between health insurance, car loan, car insurance, car tax, sky tv, gym, sports club memberships....i can go on and on if you want, i aint any different to anyone else but if we start a race to the bottom on prices it is the Irish people that will lose out in the long run.

I have been complaining about being ripped off for years but it was generally the working class that were ripping me off, a tradesman wanted to earn between 80k - 100k per year, a brick layer wanted min of 60k a year, I had some p***k with a second house wanting 700euro a month for a Dublin room in dublin. People complain about bankers but what about these people who ripped people off every day?