Describe your Annoying Colleague

Started by Orior, May 01, 2009, 09:38:11 AM

I taught at a school for more than 20 years and had the misfortune of being on a staff that had little or no personnel changes over that period.
In other words, there was a group of 10 or so people who were stuck in each others company each working day for more than two decades!
To say were we were and truly sick of each others' company for years is an understatement.
Now, this did not particularly bother me as I had plenty of interests outside of the classroom and I could spend days on end without paying the slightest heed to these around me.
But we had one member who didn't age very well.
This little scobie from Cavan grew increasingly touchy over the years. You only had to look at him for him to grit the teeth and start hissing. BTW, everyone and every thing were referred to as "scobie" and that grew very, very tedious in time also.
He was usually one of the first to come in of a morning and he'd sit in the same seat in the same bloody corner of the staffroom since time immemorial, reading the Irish Independent and holding it up high to hide his face from others.
Any sort of chit chat or banter would get his dander up if any of it was directed at him in any way.
The knuckles would grow white as he gripped the paper tightly and he'd inform you, from behind the paper, that your banter was much appreciated but he hoped you wouldn't consider giving up the day job just yet as you needed to work on your comedy routine.
By lunchtime, every time, a miraculous change would have taken place; he'd be completely thawed out and wouldn't shut up for love or money.
That would be hard enough to take but the gas part was that he would now be spouting the same type of crap that he couldn't tolerate from others in the morning.
Most of the others wouldn't get to finish a sentence before he'd butt in with some smart quip or "snide comment" as he'd call anything one of the rest of us might say.
What made it all tolerable in any way was the fact that he was very innocent and could be fooled into doing or saying something stupid.
He really hated me with a vengeance, ever since the day I assured him that Alexander the Great invented the fireplace. So, he went off that night and tried to impress his mates in the pub with his new found knowledge. When they burst out laughing and explained the difference between 'great' and 'grate' he never forgave me.
I sure got drunk the day he retired.

PS: I did say he was from Cavan, didn't I? ;D

T O Hare

Quote from: The Watcher Pat on May 01, 2009, 12:15:46 PM
Its unreal the guy's so shy in work he would hardly talk to you...Yet he has 90 odd video's on you tube...

The only thing he talks about is him singing...He was at the x-factor auditions in Manchester 2 weeks ago!!

Surprise surprise he didn't get through but I'm praying he gets on the TV...LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nNSCxNI33I&feature=channel

Is this guy for real pat???? ;D ;D no expeeeiiiiennnnceee ;)
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

cavan4ever

Quote from: T O Hare on May 01, 2009, 01:25:51 PM
Its unreal the guy's so shy in work he would hardly talk to you...Yet he has 90 odd video's on you tube...

The only thing he talks about is him singing...He was at the x-factor auditions in Manchester 2 weeks ago!!

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: T O Hare on May 01, 2009, 01:25:51 PM

Oh he's for real alright...The worst thing is he actually thinks he's good.... :D :D :D
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

thewingedlady

We had a girl who just left the office and she was the most condescending and intellectually righteous bitch you ever clapped your eyes on. She got into this course due to start later in the year and informed the boss that she would be leaving at the end of August, to which the boss replied "Sure ye can leave at the end of the month!"

Re: Dan "the man"

Thwow him to the floor!!!!  :)

QuoteOh he's for real alright...The worst thing is he actually thinks he's good

Lord Jaysus - Why do people do this sort of thing really??

There is a lady in my office who talks religiously about Weight Watchers and "points" but wont exercise and saves up all her points for a fish supper at the weekend, she is obsessed. Another girl in the office, who is quite normal, said to her the other day "why dont you cut out fatty foods and go for a walk in the evening". She looked at her as if she had just told her she blew her husband in the toilets.......Now, onto said husband, he is a teacher and she told me that the staff room is a very bitchy environment so she forbids him from going into it (she has never met any of his work colleagues before) so he sits in his car at lunchtime/breaktime watching his personal DVD player  ???  ???  ???

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 01, 2009, 01:05:37 PM
I taught at a school for more than 20 years and had the misfortune of being on a staff that had little or no personnel changes over that period.
In other words, there was a group of 10 or so people who were stuck in each others company each working day for more than two decades!
To say were we were and truly sick of each others' company for years is an understatement.
Now, this did not particularly bother me as I had plenty of interests outside of the classroom and I could spend days on end without paying the slightest heed to these around me.
But we had one member who didn't age very well.
This little scobie from Cavan grew increasingly touchy over the years. You only had to look at him for him to grit the teeth and start hissing. BTW, everyone and every thing were referred to as "scobie" and that grew very, very tedious in time also.
He was usually one of the first to come in of a morning and he'd sit in the same seat in the same bloody corner of the staffroom since time immemorial, reading the Irish Independent and holding it up high to hide his face from others.
Any sort of chit chat or banter would get his dander up if any of it was directed at him in any way.
The knuckles would grow white as he gripped the paper tightly and he'd inform you, from behind the paper, that your banter was much appreciated but he hoped you wouldn't consider giving up the day job just yet as you needed to work on your comedy routine.
By lunchtime, every time, a miraculous change would have taken place; he'd be completely thawed out and wouldn't shut up for love or money.
That would be hard enough to take but the gas part was that he would now be spouting the same type of crap that he couldn't tolerate from others in the morning.
Most of the others wouldn't get to finish a sentence before he'd butt in with some smart quip or "snide comment" as he'd call anything one of the rest of us might say.
What made it all tolerable in any way was the fact that he was very innocent and could be fooled into doing or saying something stupid.
He really hated me with a vengeance, ever since the day I assured him that Alexander the Great invented the fireplace. So, he went off that night and tried to impress his mates in the pub with his new found knowledge. When they burst out laughing and explained the difference between 'great' and 'grate' he never forgave me.
I sure got drunk the day he retired.

PS: I did say he was from Cavan, didn't I? ;D

LOL Alexander the "grate"... Classic Lar!

longball

Quote from: Minder on May 01, 2009, 02:29:35 PM
There is a lady in my office who talks religiously about Weight Watchers and "points" but wont exercise and saves up all her points for a fish supper at the weekend, she is obsessed. Another girl in the office, who is quite normal, said to her the other day "why dont you cut out fatty foods and go for a walk in the evening". She looked at her as if she had just told her she blew her husband in the toilets.......Now, onto said husband, he is a teacher and she told me that the staff room is a very bitchy environment so she forbids him from going into it (she has never met any of his work colleagues before) so he sits in his car at lunchtime/breaktime watching his personal DVD player  ???  ???  ???

I think we have the worst here!
Plus what a wuss the husband must be...
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

SidelineKick

Quote from: longball on May 01, 2009, 02:48:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 01, 2009, 02:29:35 PM

I think we have the worst here!
Plus what a wuss the husband must be...

I would guess he doesnt but she thinks he does.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Worked on a project in Belfast a while back. Sat next to this young guy who was saved or something like that (nothing against it, just don't find religion that interesting). He didn't drink, drugs was a bad word, sex before marrage was a no no, didn't like sport. In fact the highlight of his weekends was teaching Sunday school. Absolutely nothing in common.

Imagine what Mondays are like when your completely shuck a weekend of partying and you have to listen to boring drivel about church.  I soon learned that when he asked me about my weekend to fill him in in the gorey details, maybe even embellishing the stories with a few class A's or lesbians. Never used to speak to me till about Thursday  :D

I like to think he was saying a few prayers for me  ;)

Treasurer

I  went from working in an environment of 400 people, where I was the only woman in my department and there was ALWAYS some bit of messing or craic going on,  to just 7 in total - all women - and it wrecks my head.  They think I'm odd because I really don't buy into the best-pals-take-all-breaks-together-and-talk-about-Coronation-Street-and-children craic!  The most annoying is the one who recently became boss - has to tell everyone everything ten times - she was away for a day last week, told me, emailed me, told me again, texted me at home and then rang again the next day. Used to ring me at home constantly for the most mundane of things, now I just don't answer.

Quote from: Treasurer on May 01, 2009, 03:12:59 PM
I  went from working in an environment of 400 people, where I was the only woman in my department and there was ALWAYS some bit of messing or craic going on,  to just 7 in total - all women - and it wrecks my head.  They think I'm odd because I really don't buy into the best-pals-take-all-breaks-together-and-talk-about-Coronation-Street-and-children craic!  The most annoying is the one who recently became boss - has to tell everyone everything ten times - she was away for a day last week, told me, emailed me, told me again, texted me at home and then rang again the next day. Used to ring me at home constantly for the most mundane of things, now I just don't answer.
That would do my head in, people who assume beacuse you work with them that you are automatically best mates.  No we are not and its none of your effing business what I am doing at the weekend!!

SidelineKick

I like all of my work colleagues which makes the day go quicker.  There's a bit of banter here and there, the normal "Whats the plans for the weekend?" line on a Fri with the past tense version being used on a Monday.  Everyone seems to know where the line is drawn though, no nosiness or people wanting to know your business. Wouldnt socialise outside of work with them, but then again just because I work with them would not mean i feel I have to or want to!
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"