Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

Quote from: matchfit on August 08, 2012, 02:38:40 PM
Its Dromores to lose, in 1st gear all year and still coasting past teams.
Agree with this. Hopefully this year we can see an Ulster Club winner from Tyrone.

Archie Mitchell

Odds for 1st round games

Ardboe 4/9 Draw 7/1 Donaghmore 21/10

Kildress 15/8 Draw 7/1 Killyclogher 1/2

Greencastle 5/1 Draw 11/1 Coalisland 1/8

Trillick 9/2 Draw 10/1 Carrickmore 1/6

Derrylaughan 1/2 Draw 7/1 Edendork 7/4

Errigal Ciaran 1/16 Draw 16/1 Moortown 6/1

Clonoe 8/13 Draw 13/2 Omagh 13/8

Eglish 5/1 Draw 10/1 Dromore 1/7

Club Rossa

How the Rossa's won that game tonight i'll never know.Donaghmore looked in complete control and will be sick at not closing it out.
Huge credit goes to Ardboe for going right til the end though.
Wasn't easy looked at but we'll take the win and move on.

Fair play to ardboe they stuck at it.

barelegs

Moy and Ardboe both secured late wins tonight by the narrowest margin.

The Ardboe- Donaghmore game finished in near darkness. I'm not sure anybody in Edendork bar the players on the field know who got the last Ardboe point!

Donaghmore dominated the game for 50 minutes and looked to be cruising to victory before Ardboe moved big John McConville in full forward. He scored a goal and made the other and caused mayhem in the Donaghmore defence. I thought Niall McKenna and Shane Mulgrew were the stand out player on the field. Ardboe finished the game with 13 men Brian McGuigan among those sent off.

Moy squeezed past Derrytresk thanks to a brilliant last minute Sean Cavanagh point. They didn't really deserve it but they'll not care either. The Hill got a 2 point lead and tried to protect it. Moy played the second half with 14 men and brought Sean on with about 25 minutes to go.

Of the county men on show tonight only Niall McKenna and a brief Sean Cavanagh cameo showed any kind of form. Some of the others were very disappointing.

Thought Sean was banjaxed until next year? 

MCO

Moy looked a poor enough outfit last night but to be fair stuck at it for their result. It was nice to see Sean make a return and have a hand in knocking out the team that I believe forced his injury in the first place. Hear a couple of the Hill lads were asking Sean last night which shoulder it was so they could do the same again...Dromid Abu :D :D.
The most intelligent quote of the night has to go to Mickey Rea who tells Moy coach Paul Rouse to 'head away back to Brackaville you c#nt', priceless!!

loughshore lad

Good win for Ardboe on Friday night. Big John McConville was excellent considering he is just coming back from a hernia operation and Brian McGuigan was great too. The team has got it tight in the last number of months due to various things but Friday night was a reward for persistance.

Donaghmore will be bitterly disappointed they failed to close the game out. Didn't look like they believed they would. McKenna started well but found the going tougher with Marty Mckeown on him, same with Shane Mulgrew when Shay Forbes picked him up. McCaul struggled with Brian.

On a seperate note the actions of Colm Cavanagh after the first game goading the Derrytresk mentor was distasteful to say the least.

Boghopper

Quote from: MCO on August 11, 2012, 11:57:15 AM
Moy looked a poor enough outfit last night but to be fair stuck at it for their result. It was nice to see Sean make a return and have a hand in knocking out the team that I believe forced his injury in the first place. Hear a couple of the Hill lads were asking Sean last night which shoulder it was so they could do the same again...Dromid Abu :D :D.
The most intelligent quote of the night has to go to Mickey Rea who tells Moy coach Paul Rouse to 'head away back to Brackaville you c#nt', priceless!!
Sean Cavanagh caused his injury by attempting to take Cathal O'Neill out in the Moy, luckily Cathal dodged Sean and he hit the ground with force injuring himself. The score that Sean hit wonderful that it was should never have been Eunan Deeney committed a foul which when unpunished, a chance presented itself which ended in a score. You heard a couple of Hill lads asked Sean about his shoulder well assuming they were wrongly accused of causing the injury in the first place is it any wonder they'd be sarcastic though from what I heard the Sean Cavanagh pulled the Derrytresk full back to the ground and then grabbed him in the headlock and was diving all over the place looking cheap frees. Dromid Abu do you realise how childish that comment is obviously you have a gripe with the Hill? Phillip Jordan even condenmed Dromid in that whole episode and what that has got to do with a match between the Moy and Derrytresk baffles me. Paul Rouse was a disgrace deserves to be suspended for his actions and Colm Cavanagh well less said the better. Have to laugh at people putting certain County players on a pedestal. You aren't allowed to tackle them, they never do anything wrong etc etc. Referees and officials bowing to County Players only makes them soft and when our teams go down south they don't get the same favours.

Thought we were very unlucky yesterday in Dunmoyle, and on another day could've went through. We'd a half shout for a penalty in the first half, and 2-3 goal chances in the second that may have caused an interesting ending. However I think Brackaville had another gear in to the bargain. Their number 9 Gervin looks a very good player.

However 8 of our starting 15 were under 22, plus a fair bit our sub bench so a bit of hope on the horizon...

barelegs

Quote from: loughshore lad on August 12, 2012, 01:27:28 PM
Good win for Ardboe on Friday night. Big John McConville was excellent considering he is just coming back from a hernia operation and Brian McGuigan was great too. The team has got it tight in the last number of months due to various things but Friday night was a reward for persistance.

Donaghmore will be bitterly disappointed they failed to close the game out. Didn't look like they believed they would. McKenna started well but found the going tougher with Marty Mckeown on him, same with Shane Mulgrew when Shay Forbes picked him up. McCaul struggled with Brian.

Have to say I thought McKeown struggled on McKenna for long periods. McKenna kicked two points from play in the second half and must have made 3 or 4 in the first half. McKeown came into the game more in the last 15 minutes or so when Donaghmore were trying to defend their lead.

Big McConville was wasted by Ardboe in the first 15 minutes before they brought him to midfield. Kept kicking the ball into the corners. When they put the ball on top of him in the last 10 minutes when he went back to full forward he caused havoc. Scored a goal and made the other one.

barelegs

Greencastle gave Coalisland a bit of a fright in Dungannon today. There was never more than a point between the teams until Paddy McNeice found the net about 10 minutes from the end.

Few decent performances for both teams. Sean Warnock and Enda and Edan Clarke performed well for Greencastle while Stephen McNally, Niall Kerr and McNeice all played well for the Fianna

Just looking there, and our 11th league game last year was on 24th June. Our 11th this year is 'scheduled' for 26th August. Last year our final league game (18 team league) was 3rd September. This year we are likely to be in to October (17 team league).

Our last reserve game was 8th July, and a lot of our reserve players have drifted away now as they are bored, usually as they've had holidays and with no reserve games played or 'scheduled' had little motivation to get back.

Last year we had our juvenille Championship QF on 31st August. This year it's on on 16th August, despite their season starting over 3 months earlier this year!

Fixtures are difficult. Very difficult, but I thought they did a decent job last year. However I am not too sure how it has slid this year (U21s, minors getting PP being an aspect). I don't understand why they've ran off the youth competitions in tandem this year. We're seeing a lot of injuries with players training multiple times etc.

I'd revert U14 and minor back to previous years, and run U16s through ignoring the holiday period. As a compromise, each U16 Club can be granted 1 x postponement for holidays on a pre determined date.