Can Kilkenny be stopped this year??

Started by thejuice, April 05, 2009, 05:24:41 PM

Reillers

Quote from: INDIANA on April 05, 2009, 08:46:49 PM
Kilkenny were missing as many players as you. noel hickey- cha- jj delaney- comerford

There is no Cork forward Brian Cody would want

There is no cork u21 that Brian Cody would want

In fact there is no Cork player Brian Cody would want

The pick of the country wouldn;t beat Kilkenny at present but you expect us to believe Cork will " with a bit of training". The only advice I can give any team playing Kilkenny this year is to hide the ball. Or maybe Cork could organise a strike with the rest of the teams.

That is not an answer to my question INdy, just more rambling for you that I can't understand why it's not kept to the Cork thread.

Yes or no have Cork been training for about 3 or 4 weeks with about 2 sessions under the new manager?

The thing with this Cork team is that all their key players have grown old together and have lots of miles on the clock and the lads coming through while not bad hurlers are just not of the same standard. Or even close at the moment. The whole country can see this apart from the players themselves and those living in hope that they can turn back the clock a few years one more time. Obviously they will still be competitive but virtually everyone is competitive if you remove Kilkenny from the equation.

Reillers

Quote from: realrebel on April 05, 2009, 08:47:51 PM
reillers
if you add up the scores the 09 panel got against them was 10-45 which is 75 points in total for 3 games
now if you add up 08 teams scores its 6-76 which has a total of 76 points
the 09 have in fact conceded less points than the 08 team
its fact most of the points were scored against the current panel not the 09 panel

And can you imagine what the score would have been if they had played KK. Don't kid yourself, you know full well that the score would probably had made it's way past 50 had the 09 players been playing.

anglocelt39

Er, fitness and training wasn't really an issue when Cork played Limerick and Clare lately. Kilkenny wouln't be near to championship level fitness at this time of the year, so ok lets discount say 10 points or so and we'll say KK are currently about 17 points better than cork at the minute. Big enough gap to be making up I suppose.

As regards Kilkenny habitually dishing this sort of stuff out It's not that long ago that an (admittedly understrength) KIlkenny lost out to Waterford at Walsh Park in a feisty enough local derby.

Perhaps there is an elephant in the room that some people need to focus in on and that's a possible gap between the actual ability of the Cork Panel relative to one or two other counties and that panel's perception of it's abilty.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Reillers

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 05, 2009, 08:48:27 PM
The thing with this Cork team is that all their key players have grown old together and have lots of miles on the clock and the lads coming through while not bad hurlers are just not of the same standard. Or even close at the moment. The whole country can see this apart from the players themselves and those living in hope that they can turn back the clock a few years one more time. Obviously they will still be competitive but virtually everyone is competitive if you remove Kilkenny from the equation.
And there will come a time, probably starting next year, maybe the one after that when you will say the exact same thing about Kilkenny. Truth be told each team has it's life cycle. One ends and one starts again. This Kilkenny team look invincible now, and they probably are, but they were saying the same thing about Cork in 05/06..etc
Like I said, players will come and go. The likes of Cork, Tipp, Kilkenny and Waterford will always have teams. It's just a matter of who outlasts the other. At the moment it's Kilkenny but they wont be around for ever, not even Cody can prevent that.

realrebel

fact is reillers the 09 team have conceded less scores than the 08 team
now you were on here shouting off bout the high scores against the 09 team, and yet when you compare the 3 games the 08 team are worse off

Quotethey were saying the same thing about Cork in 05/06

Sorry Reillers, but we weren't. That great Cork team was in no way as fearsome as this Kilkenny team. And the one thing we knew about that Cork team was that there was nothing coming behind it.

Quote from: Reillers on April 05, 2009, 08:55:36 PM
And there will come a time, probably starting next year, maybe the one after that when you will say the exact same thing about Kilkenny. Truth be told each team has it's life cycle. One ends and one starts again. This Kilkenny team look invincible now, and they probably are, but they were saying the same thing about Cork in 05/06..etc
Like I said, players will come and go. The likes of Cork, Tipp, Kilkenny and Waterford will always have teams. It's just a matter of who outlasts the other. At the moment it's Kilkenny but they wont be around for ever, not even Cody can prevent that.

Oh but they can Reillers. They won minor,u21 and intermediate all-irelands last year. What did youse win? Ladies Football was it?

Reillers

Quote from: realrebel on April 05, 2009, 09:03:57 PM
fact is reillers the 09 team have conceded less scores than the 08 team
now you were on here shouting off bout the high scores against the 09 team, and yet when you compare the 3 games the 08 team are worse off

Against a shite Tipp team and Dublin and they got a hammering from Galway.
Come on, you know full well that the score would have been double what it was today if the 09 players were still playing. The 08 players won 2 of 3 games. The 09 team lost all 3.

Reillers

Quote from: INDIANA on April 05, 2009, 09:13:02 PM

Oh but they can Reillers. They won minor,u21 and intermediate all-irelands last year. What did youse win? Ladies Football was it?
Not every team last for ever Indy you are naive to think otherwise.
Oh so you're one of those fans. The women are outstanding players like is there something wrong with the ladies teams being untouchable, like Kilkenny, in a league of their own? They are better hurlers and footballers then most men in the county, but I suppose some wont give them the credit they deserve.

realrebel

reillers all we can go on is by the results
we all know kilkenny would have hammered the 09 team but im going on the results
so it goes both ways in fact 08 team are lucky to have won the games they did

Reillers

Quote from: realrebel on April 05, 2009, 09:19:05 PM
reillers all we can go on is by the results
we all know kilkenny would have hammered the 09 team but im going on the results
so it goes both ways in fact 08 team are lucky to have won the games they did

Ya results, Cork won 2 games out of 3 the 09 players lost all 3. Didn't come close to winning any of them.

You're still not giving the Cork players credit, McCarthy's gone, come on, he's going off on a sunny trip to La Manga, paid for with our money, come on he's gone and I mean this in the most respectful way to McCarthy himself, but move on. Get on to the important stuff. The hurling.

Quote from: INDIANA on April 05, 2009, 09:13:02 PM

And the camogie too.

Enjoyable stuff today, Kikenny couldn't win by enough for me, and deserved the standing ovation they received from the crowd. Hopefully we'll get a second helping of this particular dish in the autumn.

Sure KK could be caught out later in the year if they have an off-day, but if they do play well then they won't be stopped. Cork weren't dishing out those beatings to others when they were winning those few AI's they did manage.

realrebel

reillers
i never even mentioned gerald in this ? why bring him up again
we all know he is gone and he shouldnt be brought up again

Reillers

Quote from: realrebel on April 05, 2009, 09:32:40 PM
reillers
i never even mentioned gerald in this ? why bring him up again
we all know he is gone and he shouldnt be brought up again
It's the only reason I can think you're being so pety, cleary you've still some resentment issues going on.