The Bould Francie

Started by Feckitt, April 01, 2009, 01:21:26 PM

Feckitt

For me the day Francie turned from being a good player to a great player was the AI Semi against Donegal.
Out on the wing, near us in the Hogan, the ball was coming in low and hard.  It wasn't even a 50/50 ball, it was a 90/10 ball to Donegal.  It was bouncing about knee height, If Francie went for the ball he would get clattered, and I swear I saw him hesitate, and then he said f**k it, and went for the ball.  He got the ball and got clattered on the head by the Donegal man's knee.  A sickening crack went around the ground, and the great one was fallen.  He got straight back to his feet, and staggered back to his post.  Two minutes later Big Joe sent Justin McNulty on and called Francie ashore, as he was clearly groggy.  Off he went, Match won, ball secured.  Legend.

Great is a term of reference used too liberally these days. Aside from one very unsavourey incident I had a lot of time for him. But great player?- very good player but not great.

Quote from: INDIANA on April 03, 2009, 05:22:15 PM
Great is a term of reference used too liberally these days. Aside from one very unsavourey incident I had a lot of time for him. But great player?- very good player but not great.
Crowd favourite. Solid, reliable, dependable. No nonsense. Modest. Unassuming. Shy. Got on with it...

You're right, great doesn't even come close.

Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 03, 2009, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 03, 2009, 05:22:15 PM
Crowd favourite. Solid, reliable, dependable. No nonsense. Modest. Unassuming. Shy. Got on with it...

You're right, great doesn't even come close.

I'd agree with that - his bravery has become legendary at this stage all the same.

My sixpence worth is that he was a good footballer in a very good defensive unit. His recent performances have effectively "retired" him but he has won everything to be won and has my respect for that. Not a "Great" footballer by any means but an iconic one for the Armagh fans. Far better footballers around who will not get the praise heaped on them as FB did.....that's life .
Wish him well in his retirement.

Quote from: naka on April 03, 2009, 03:39:34 PM
what amazes me is that we are  over 2 weeks from the club final the crokes lads are  now with the dublin team and our guy is in "the dark"

I certainly wouldn't be laying any blame at McDonnell's door on this one, if I was McDonnell I wouldn't be chasing after anybody, they either want to play for Armagh for they dont, end of story. 

The unfortunate thing is that given the way he played the game and the way he was situated(i.e minding the square) no one actually got a chance to see Francie at his best.  When he was at the start of his career and playing CHB he was unreal.  He was brilliant at reading the ball, never lost possession, was excellent at fielding the ball and if necessary could fire the ball 40 yards into the FF line, and that without snow on the ball. 

His best attribute as a player was that he always the right thing anytime he got the ball.  He rarely made mistakes.  His humility,bravery and honesty are his best attributes as a person

I'd have no problem using the word 'great' about Francie - a really great defender. Feckitt's post above captures the man perfectly for me. He was the archetypal square-minder and seemed to have that priceless talent for not starting from A on his route to B.

Midman

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2009, 05:58:20 PM
The unfortunate thing is that given the way he played the game and the way he was situated(i.e minding the square) no one actually got a chance to see Francie at his best.  When he was at the start of his career and playing CHB he was unreal.  He was brilliant at reading the ball, never lost possession, was excellent at fielding the ball and if necessary could fire the ball 40 yards into the FF line, and that without snow on the ball. 

His best attribute as a player was that he always the right thing anytime he got the ball.  He rarely made mistakes.  His humility,bravery and honesty are his best attributes as a person

I've been saying that to boys for years and been laughed at. I remember playing Cross in a minor quarter final and Francie was superb at centre half (as he was for a while at Cross if memory serves). I think we got beat by 15 points that day and got slaughtered at home for it. Looking at the names on that team sheet today though I feel slightly better. Oisin, the two Macs, Francie, Cunningham,Short and some eejit called Cumiskey :P ( We could just about field 15 boys of the right age). I Think most of them won a medal or two in their time.

The grannies of Ireland bid farewell to "speedster" Francie. No longer will he nip at their heels in breathless pursuit

Quote from: Midman on April 03, 2009, 09:36:42 PM

I've been saying that to boys for years and been laughed at. I remember playing Cross in a minor quarter final and Francie was superb at centre half (as he was for a while at Cross if memory serves). I think we got beat by 15 points that day and got slaughtered at home for it. Looking at the names on that team sheet today though I feel slightly better. Oisin, the two Macs, Francie, Cunningham,Short and some eejit called Cumiskey :P ( We could just about field 15 boys of the right age). I Think most of them won a medal or two in their time.

Did his brother emigrate to Canada?

When you think about Francie, you always think about the idiot Spillane made of himself in the 2002 AI final analysis. Class - pure class.

Midman

Quote from: muppet on April 03, 2009, 09:40:32 PM

;D I love that fact that at home even if you'd won fifteen senior all-irelands the brother that went abroad was always the best footballer in the family ;D

Did i spell the Cumiskey wrong?

Quote from: muppet on April 03, 2009, 09:40:32 PM

He did Muppet, how do you know him?

Midman, you must have been a Craobh Ciaran man then, Middletown/Madden direction?  We played that game down in Granemore if I am not mistaken.

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: screenmachine on April 02, 2009, 10:58:40 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HrSN7176XI

I think you can just about catch it in this one, I have to admit, Francie did look a bit of balance. 8)

Ah  FFS I just got Rick Rolled!!

I love the story....not sure if its true!! When he turned up at the Armagh bus 3/4 of a hour late one time and when asked "Where were you Francie?" he said sure i had 6 mtrs of concrete to put in this morning!!

There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME