stibhan

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 21, 2009, 03:34:57 PM
Quote from: stibhan on March 21, 2009, 03:13:35 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on March 21, 2009, 12:55:34 PM
Quote from: stibhan on March 21, 2009, 12:42:05 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on March 21, 2009, 12:21:33 PM
Quote from: stibhan on March 21, 2009, 12:09:57 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on March 21, 2009, 11:02:17 AM
I could be wrong here, but did this lad "The Holy Goalie" not walk over towards the Rangers fans one day and bless himself right in front of them.  Theres a huge difference between blessing yourself because its what you do and believe in and doing so just to provoke a reaction out of other fans.

He does it in front of every goalposts, every game. If Rangers fans are offended by someone blessing themselves then they shouldn't be allowed inside a f**king stadium.

Well im sure next time he does it, he will turn hes back towards the Rangers fans and bless himself facing the field so as not to provoke a reaction.  I never said there was anything wrong with him blessing himself.

Have you ever been in a stadium? If you have, you might realise that it has four sides. No matter where he does it he will be doing it in front of Rangers fans. As a goalkeeper I'm fairly sure why he does it in front of the goalposts as well--it's a bit obvious, isn't it?

It's quite disgusting to see people become apologists for bigots in this day and age.

You know what I mean.  When the Rangers fans are behind his goal it would be best that he turns to face the PITCH before he does it, assumig the Rangers fans are behind hes goals of course.  I'm sure Boruc would agree, as I dont doubt he is a man of faith, but hes faith does teach not to use prayer as a way to provoke other people nor to use it so as to showoff how religous you are. 

If you actually read my earlier comments you would see I'm in no way an apologist for bigots, I have no problem with him blessing himself, as I stated that loads of times.  He can bless himself coming on to the pitch or on the pitch itself, just like loads of other players have in the past and will do in the future, just as long as he dosent do it just to provoke others.

How is he using prayer as a way to provoke people? If your idea of provocation is blessing yourself then you are being an apologist for bigots. The video clearly shows that Boruc is blessing himself in the same manner he does for every game, home and away. On the continent this isn't even worth commenting on but in Scotland it's a major issue?

There was f**king less comment about Andy Goram wearing a black armband for Billy Wright for f**k's sake.
Erm haven't you noticed the issues with sectarianism and religious intolerance in Scotland? Ref. Gazza playing the flute, Goram's connection with loyalism, singing of "party tunes" at club events by representatives of both Celtic and Rangers. So yes it's hardly surprising it is commented on.
Boruc is entitled to bless himself before the match, but if he deliberately uses it to antagonise opposition fans it cheapens any religious symbolism he attachs to it.

You are complaining about political intolerance. Boruc is a Polish Catholic--he's a little bit more removed from all of that than the likes of Gazza, Goram et al, who all knew what they were doing.

I think you can more or less take it for granted that those who sing rebel songs and things like that are attempting to antagonise people--those who bless themselves, however, are entitled to do so.

It will be interesting to see how the Brazil NI fans react, I'm sure he'll get a few jeers and that will be the end of it. I think its wise for any Polish national to enter loyalist south Belfast with some kind of protection  :P

Chrisowc

it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: Chrisowc on March 22, 2009, 10:31:47 AM
awful thread

Why?? Not like to hear the truth?

Somethings are just indefensible!
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

Chrisowc

The Watcher Pat

About how and why a footballer has to have a armed guard when he comes here and just because he happens to be a practicing Catholic who's biggest crime is blessing himself in front of 50,000 bigots.

Chrisowc

Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 22, 2009, 11:16:28 AM
About how and why a footballer has to have a armed guard when he comes here and just because he happens to be a practicing Catholic who's biggest crime is blessing himself in front of 50,000 bigots.

So where did you read about this 'armed guard'?  When the team gets a police escort from their hotel to the stadium they will have armed guards.

Personally, I couldn't give a f**k if he was a member of the Church of Maradona or a Jedi Knight, so if he chooses to bless himself fair play to him.  Whatever floats his boat.

cavan4ever

Quote from: Chrisowc on March 22, 2009, 11:39:16 AM

So where did you read about this 'armed guard'?  When the team gets a police escort from their hotel to the stadium they will have armed guards.

Personally, I couldn't give a f**k if he was a member of the Church of Maradona or a Jedi Knight, so if he chooses to bless himself fair play to him.  Whatever floats his boat.

Hardly an 'awful thread' though- it was mentioned in the papers and its fair game for discussion... obviously sensible people will wait until there are any incidents (I hope their isn't) before we condemn NI fans or even a minority of them.  Personally I think a minority will give him more booing and verbal abuse that other players (having been encouraged to do so by one of their players lets not forget) and some NI fans will probably be a bit embarassed by this.

Where is Tony? Shocked that he didn't start this thread and even more shocked he hasn't been on to put his considerable weight behind it.

Chrisowc

Quote from: Rav67 on March 22, 2009, 11:55:12 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on March 22, 2009, 11:39:16 AM

Hardly an 'awful thread' though- it was mentioned in the papers and its fair game for discussion... obviously sensible people will wait until there are any incidents (I hope their isn't) before we condemn NI fans or even a minority of them.  Personally I think a minority will give him more booing and verbal abuse that other players (having been encouraged to do so by one of their players lets not forget) and some NI fans will probably be a bit embarassed by this.

So it's ear plugs he needs rather than a 'Ring of Steel'

I've been at plenty Ireland soccer games in Lansdowne Rd where Rangers players playing for their country are booed everytime they touch the ball..
There is as many bigots go to Ireland soccer games as N.Ireland games

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 22, 2009, 12:03:19 PM
Where is Tony? Shocked that he didn't start this thread and even more shocked he hasn't been on to put his considerable weight behind it.

You always have plenty to say about Tony...Whats he got to do with it?

I started the thread and if you read the first post you will see that I said I hope he doesn't bless himself....

If you have nothing constructive to add then don't comment about someone else who hasn't posted in the thread, while at the same time trying to poke fun at him!

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 22, 2009, 12:21:43 PM
I've been at plenty Ireland soccer games in Lansdowne Rd where Rangers players playing for their country are booed everytime they touch the ball..
There is as many bigots go to Ireland soccer games as N.Ireland games

Did their FA need to hire armed guards to protect them?