The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

They're banning EU officials who want to regulate American high tech companies now.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Merry christmas. Lads go and spend time with your families.

Who is putting the blame for "inequality, racism and all that" on Trump or claiming that it hasn't always been there or saying that the Dems are "always the good guys"?

At least my own exchanges over the last week, the whole point is that the Republican base, which probably amounts to about a third of the country, has chosen Trump over the past decade because of their OWN prejudices and bigotry. They want HIM, because he is a channel, in both rhetoric and action, for their own wishes and desires. He gives them permission to voice inner thoughts and opinions that probably weren't too widely shared before Trump came along. They don't want Ron DeSantis or Nicki Haley or Marco Rubio when Trump himself is available. And because he hates the same people they do, they are perfectly willing to excuse his personal corruption, criminality and appalling character.

As for the "jumping up and down" at whatever the idiocy du jour is, what are people supposed to do? Ignore the US president? Is the Epstein issue not worth the public's attention? The ICE/CBP abductions? The butchering of public health policy? The tinpot dictator behaviour of sticking his name and likeness on anything and everything publicly owned that he sees? The hateful, racist rhetoric towards muslims in general or Somalis in particular?

I get that Trump gets away with so much in part because the general public has just become numb to the sheer incessance of it and has basically accepted that he is personally a lowlife sc**bag, but what is the remedy? If we ignore it he'll stop? If we ignore it, the numbness will wear off and suddenly he'll do something that will overpower his shamelessness and narcissism and corrupt GOP support structure? Do we just turn a blind eye to him as he uses demagoguery to secure his base and tries to torch the US government and turn what's left into a vessel for his and his rich pals enrichment?

Much of what they've been doing is failing due to sheer incompetence, opposition use of the courts (at least until it hits the Supreme Court) and, in examples like Jimmy Kimmel and Epstein stuff released so far, simple public backlash. That would not be possible if people were not paying attention.

Quote from: J70 on December 24, 2025, 04:11:18 PMWho is putting the blame for "inequality, racism and all that" on Trump or claiming that it hasn't always been there or saying that the Dems are "always the good guys"?

At least my own exchanges over the last week, the whole point is that the Republican base, which probably amounts to about a third of the country, has chosen Trump over the past decade because of their OWN prejudices and bigotry. They want HIM, because he is a channel, in both rhetoric and action, for their own wishes and desires. He gives them permission to voice inner thoughts and opinions that probably weren't too widely shared before Trump came along. They don't want Ron DeSantis or Nicki Haley or Marco Rubio when Trump himself is available. And because he hates the same people they do, they are perfectly willing to excuse his personal corruption, criminality and appalling character.

As for the "jumping up and down" at whatever the idiocy du jour is, what are people supposed to do? Ignore the US president? Is the Epstein issue not worth the public's attention? The ICE/CBP abductions? The butchering of public health policy? The tinpot dictator behaviour of sticking his name and likeness on anything and everything publicly owned that he sees? The hateful, racist rhetoric towards muslims in general or Somalis in particular?

I get that Trump gets away with so much in part because the general public has just become numb to the sheer incessance of it and has basically accepted that he is personally a lowlife sc**bag, but what is the remedy? If we ignore it he'll stop:) If we ignore it, the numbness will wear off and suddenly he'll do something that will overpower his shamelessness and narcissism and corrupt GOP support structure? Do we just turn a blind eye to him as he uses demagoguery to secure his base and tries to torch the US government and turn what's left into a vessel for his and his rich pals enrichment? ;D

Much of what they've been doing is failing due to sheer incompetence, opposition use of the courts (at least until it hits the Supreme Court) and, in examples like Jimmy Kimmel and Epstein stuff released so far, simple public backlash. That would not be possible if people were not paying attention.

fearbrags

Quote from: whitey on December 22, 2025, 02:32:13 PMAnyways-I'm just after getting a lifetime ban from this board (from my wife)

She threatened to smash my phone with a hammer if I spent anymore time on here

(And I got a parking tickets last week because of this board-I was too busy responding to someone and forgot my meter was expiring)

Fair play to Mrs Whitey (probably should moved much earlier), But I think she should get an Award from  the Gaa Board if not from Fifa or even Nobel

Quote from: fearbrags on December 25, 2025, 04:00:20 AM
Quote from: whitey on December 22, 2025, 02:32:13 PMAnyways-I'm just after getting a lifetime ban from this board (from my wife)

She threatened to smash my phone with a hammer if I spent anymore time on here

(And I got a parking tickets last week because of this board-I was too busy responding to someone and forgot my meter was expiring)
Fair play to Mrs Whitey (probably should moved much earlier), But I think she should get an Award from  the Gaa Board if not from Fifa or even Nobel

Hear hear. The quality of this thread might actually improve. Arguing with MAGAs is a waste of time.

Yeah, we not at the stage of bringing G Mac back yetl to make up for him lol!!