The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2025, 09:59:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2025, 09:02:05 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2025, 08:51:22 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on February 07, 2025, 06:14:24 PM... and thats why the Dems make themselves unelectable.

Chasing daft fringe cases.

Worse, chasing daft nonsensical fringe cases too!

Are you being serious? This is the Republican playbook. Transgender people are a vanishingly small segment of the population, but the moral panic that has been stirred up about them in the last few years has been completely out of proportion. How can you blame Dems for that?
Bullshit. Trans activists have tried to bully the right-minded majority into accepting that it is perfectly normal for men to participate in women's sport or share their toilets or changing areas. Perfectly normal to fire puberty blockers into confused children. I for one am glad to see a turning of the tide.

Serious question: How has your life been impacted by trans people, or "men" as you call them, participating in women's sports?
My life hasn't been impacted by genocide in Gaza but I know it's f**king awful. Next question?

Truthsayer

Does seem like a topic gets disproportionate airtime and rage... good distraction to get us to beat down on an invisible enemy. Don't think I've ever met someone who transitioned. Maybe I did but didn't realise! I understand the sports argument but all seems ott considering the amount of cases.. some swimmer in America and a very poor dart player...  its as as if our children are all in danger or going to get a teenage sex change... #moralpanic

Trump got rid paper straws with a return to plastic. With all the McDonald's he eats the paper straws probably was high on the list of the things that annoyed him alright.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 08, 2025, 01:44:27 PMTrump got rid paper straws with a return to plastic. With all the McDonald's he eats the paper straws probably was high on the list of the things that annoyed him alright.

Great, paper straws are part of the culture wars now.

These people are such f**king idiots.

Probably organ transplants and other advances in medicine after the 1950s will now be banned.

Then back to "colored(sic)" and white schools, buses etc etc.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: J70 on February 08, 2025, 02:23:18 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 08, 2025, 01:44:27 PMTrump got rid paper straws with a return to plastic. With all the McDonald's he eats the paper straws probably was high on the list of the things that annoyed him alright.

Paper straws were nonsense anyway

https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20231103-plastic-or-paper-the-truth-about-drinking-straws

Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 02:53:35 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2025, 02:45:43 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 02:05:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2025, 01:51:53 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 01:40:36 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 05, 2025, 01:13:40 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 01:12:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 05, 2025, 12:59:55 PMLads stop bickering.

We now have the orange anti human piece of sh1te going full Nazi "resettlenent" at the behest of the War Criminal GroßIsrael cnt.
They've made Gaza almost uninhabitable and are now starting on the West Bank.

Their"war on Hamas" didn't exactly work out when you see their men armed to tge teeth at the hostage handovers etc.

100%

Hamas retreated to their underground bunkers and used the civilian population of Gaza as human shields

Justifying genocide again....  "If you think the enemy soldier is in that town, kill everyone"... similar to Willie McCrea's proposal to air bomb west Belfast, Crossmaglen etc... ure bound to hit IRA volunteers as well.

I'm not justifying anything

Going in to this EVERYONE (with 2 brain cells to rub together) knew what the Israeli response would be.

I don't know anyone who has said the attacks on October 7th were ever going to end well, in the end. Not one person on here I don't think has disputed that. Maybe just maybe the Hamas view was take loads of hostages raise awareness and after a lot of bluster we can negotiate with Israel return hostages and get some back in return.

Your points Whitey are valid though on the outcome, it was going to be bad, but what a mostly everyone with a free thinking mind has said that the geocide that has followed is beyond anyone with half a brains comprehension.

Hamas and their predecessors have carried out multiple attacks over the 75 odd years, the response now from Israel is just barbaric 

Are you familiar with the death of Rachel Corrie who got run over by an Israeli military bulldozer?

I read up about it at the time and the default response by the Israeli military to a "terrorist" attack is to demolish the home of the families of those identified as being involved

I'm not (and I don't know how anyone could) justifying the Israeli response. I'm saying that it's almost 100% certainty that this will be the response.

Militarily Hamas/Hezbollah cannot defeat Israel. Everyone knows that.

So if you can't defeat an enemy militarily , why would you want to start an all out war with them?

Your response is not the response of a well man, I'm neither asking you or saying that there is justification, but telling me a random story is bonkers...

Genocide is happening and all you can do is say, well what did ya all expect?

The VC didn't have the military might of the US, the Afgans didn't have the military might of either the Russians or the US the IRA in both wars didn't either have the might to defeat the Brits but wars were started and ended with negotiation and while there was horrid atrocities  in all and the 100 other conflicts around the world, some common ground was met.

Stop talking shite

It's not a random story at all

https://foreignpolicy.com/2010/06/23/why-the-irish-support-palestine-2/

I think Christy Moore even wrote a song about it

It's 100% relevant to what's happened

EVERYONE KNEW WHAT THE RESPONSE WOULD BE

The Civil Rights parade in Derry have only themselves to blame when the Para's shot at them as "EVERYONE KNEW WHAT THE RESPONSE WOULD BE"

Quote from: RedHand88 on February 08, 2025, 03:55:44 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 08, 2025, 02:23:18 PM

Paper straws were nonsense anyway

https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20231103-plastic-or-paper-the-truth-about-drinking-straws

There is no zero impact product out there. Paper straws may not be great, but at least they won't end up in the belly or nostril of some poor marine creature. Pick your poison I guess. Not that any of that has anything whatsoever to do with Trump's proclamation!

We have reusable metal straws for the kids. Don't use straws myself.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2025, 10:39:37 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2025, 09:59:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2025, 09:02:05 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2025, 08:51:22 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on February 07, 2025, 06:14:24 PM... and thats why the Dems make themselves unelectable.

Chasing daft fringe cases.

Worse, chasing daft nonsensical fringe cases too!

Are you being serious? This is the Republican playbook. Transgender people are a vanishingly small segment of the population, but the moral panic that has been stirred up about them in the last few years has been completely out of proportion. How can you blame Dems for that?
Bullshit. Trans activists have tried to bully the right-minded majority into accepting that it is perfectly normal for men to participate in women's sport or share their toilets or changing areas. Perfectly normal to fire puberty blockers into confused children. I for one am glad to see a turning of the tide.

Serious question: How has your life been impacted by trans people, or "men" as you call them, participating in women's sports?
My life hasn't been impacted by genocide in Gaza but I know it's f**king awful. Next question?

That's not what I asked. I didn't ask you about the genocide in Gaza. I asked about trans people participating in women's sports.

Quote from: johnnycool on February 10, 2025, 04:18:05 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 02:53:35 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2025, 02:45:43 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 02:05:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2025, 01:51:53 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 01:40:36 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 05, 2025, 01:13:40 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 05, 2025, 01:12:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 05, 2025, 12:59:55 PMLads stop bickering.

We now have the orange anti human piece of sh1te going full Nazi "resettlenent" at the behest of the War Criminal GroßIsrael cnt.
They've made Gaza almost uninhabitable and are now starting on the West Bank.

Their"war on Hamas" didn't exactly work out when you see their men armed to tge teeth at the hostage handovers etc.

100%

Hamas retreated to their underground bunkers and used the civilian population of Gaza as human shields

Justifying genocide again....  "If you think the enemy soldier is in that town, kill everyone"... similar to Willie McCrea's proposal to air bomb west Belfast, Crossmaglen etc... ure bound to hit IRA volunteers as well.

I'm not justifying anything

Going in to this EVERYONE (with 2 brain cells to rub together) knew what the Israeli response would be.

I don't know anyone who has said the attacks on October 7th were ever going to end well, in the end. Not one person on here I don't think has disputed that. Maybe just maybe the Hamas view was take loads of hostages raise awareness and after a lot of bluster we can negotiate with Israel return hostages and get some back in return.

Your points Whitey are valid though on the outcome, it was going to be bad, but what a mostly everyone with a free thinking mind has said that the geocide that has followed is beyond anyone with half a brains comprehension.

Hamas and their predecessors have carried out multiple attacks over the 75 odd years, the response now from Israel is just barbaric 

Are you familiar with the death of Rachel Corrie who got run over by an Israeli military bulldozer?

I read up about it at the time and the default response by the Israeli military to a "terrorist" attack is to demolish the home of the families of those identified as being involved

I'm not (and I don't know how anyone could) justifying the Israeli response. I'm saying that it's almost 100% certainty that this will be the response.

Militarily Hamas/Hezbollah cannot defeat Israel. Everyone knows that.

So if you can't defeat an enemy militarily , why would you want to start an all out war with them?

Your response is not the response of a well man, I'm neither asking you or saying that there is justification, but telling me a random story is bonkers...

Genocide is happening and all you can do is say, well what did ya all expect?

The VC didn't have the military might of the US, the Afgans didn't have the military might of either the Russians or the US the IRA in both wars didn't either have the might to defeat the Brits but wars were started and ended with negotiation and while there was horrid atrocities  in all and the 100 other conflicts around the world, some common ground was met.

Stop talking shite

It's not a random story at all

https://foreignpolicy.com/2010/06/23/why-the-irish-support-palestine-2/

I think Christy Moore even wrote a song about it

It's 100% relevant to what's happened

EVERYONE KNEW WHAT THE RESPONSE WOULD BE

The Civil Rights parade in Derry have only themselves to blame when the Para's shot at them as "EVERYONE KNEW WHAT THE RESPONSE WOULD BE"

Blah blah blah (completely and utter nonsense)

Hamas wanted a full blown war and invasion

When they got it they then hid in their underground bunkers and let their civilians take the casualties

Some idols you have there

Quote from: Truthsayer on February 07, 2025, 11:57:17 PMDoes seem like a topic gets disproportionate airtime and rage... good distraction to get us to beat down on an invisible enemy. Don't think I've ever met someone who transitioned. Maybe I did but didn't realise! I understand the sports argument but all seems ott considering the amount of cases.. some swimmer in America and a very poor dart player...  its as as if our children are all in danger or going to get a teenage sex change... #moralpanic

100%. I know one person who transitioned years ago. I think of her as a woman. It's no big deal. Her existence is no threat to anyone.  I'd let her babysit my kids before I'd let a catholic priest near them.

It's such a rare phenomenon as to be almost statistically insignificant. But our local newspaper here has suddenly been giving acres of coverage in the last year to the local university women's volleyball team, not because of their sporting achievements, but because of the moral panic that's ensuing from the presence of a transgender woman on their team. A completely manufactured controversy that affects a vanishingly small number of people.

People who get outraged by this kind of trivia are letting themselves be used as pawns by the oligarchs who are laughing all the way to the bank with their ill-gotten gains while the rest of us squabble about who gets to use what lavatory. It's pathetic.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2025, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 07, 2025, 11:57:17 PMDoes seem like a topic gets disproportionate airtime and rage... good distraction to get us to beat down on an invisible enemy. Don't think I've ever met someone who transitioned. Maybe I did but didn't realise! I understand the sports argument but all seems ott considering the amount of cases.. some swimmer in America and a very poor dart player...  its as as if our children are all in danger or going to get a teenage sex change... #moralpanic

100%. I know one person who transitioned years ago. I think of her as a woman. It's no big deal. Her existence is no threat to anyone.  I'd let her babysit my kids before I'd let a catholic priest near them.

It's such a rare phenomenon as to be almost statistically insignificant. But our local newspaper here has suddenly been giving acres of coverage in the last year to the local university women's volleyball team, not because of their sporting achievements, but because of the moral panic that's ensuing from the presence of a transgender woman on their team. A completely manufactured controversy that affects a vanishingly small number of people.

People who get outraged by this kind of trivia are letting themselves be used as pawns by the oligarchs who are laughing all the way to the bank with their ill-gotten gains while the rest of us squabble about who gets to use what lavatory. It's pathetic.

I assume you're referring to San Jose state women's volleyball fiasco. Have to disagree on the impact. While it might not impact you or I, it impacts every female on the San Jose team. It does impact the travel arrangements, the changing arrangements - but more importantly it impacts the player who doesn't make the squad and the player who doesn't make the team when the transgender athlete plays. It impacts the opposing teams as well. You simply cannot ignore the biological differences at play in the messy situation of the transgender context of sport and fair play. Anyone who wishes to ignore that in a competitive context is foolish and ignorant of the impact to the other competitors.

Agree that it is no where near as important in the grand scheme of things compared to what we are seeing happen with this administration - but it certainly impacts enough people that it warrants conversation and hard lines in the sand. Pick up volleyball, no problem. Governed athletics - problem.

Democrats have zero common sense when it comes to this stuff

https://www.wbur.org/news/2024/11/08/backlash-brews-over-moultons-comments-on-trans-athlete

"Democrats spend way too much time trying not to offend anyone rather than being brutally honest about the challenges many Americans face," Moulton told the Times. "I have two little girls, I don't want them getting run over on a playing field by a male or formerly male athlete, but as a Democrat I'm supposed to be afraid to say that"

Someone once told me that I should be worried that one day there will be a "man" in the same toilets as my daughter at school. By "man" he meant transgender woman.

Transgender people are less than 1% of the population (they're 0.008% of NCAA athletes). I've made it to the age of 50 and only managed to meet two transgender people in my entire life. The chances of my daughter being in the same school as a transgender person are somewhat remote. The chances of her using a toilet at the same time as said transgender person are even more remote. The chances of something bad happening as a result are probably smaller than the odds of her winning the Powerball lottery.

Here is what we're expected to believe with all the "bathroom bills" that the culture-war-stoking Rethuglicans and Anti-Woke Warriors are pushing:

A person decides to have life-changing, irreversible surgery, even though it will subject them to a lifetime of abuse, harassment, discrimination, possible violence, and a non-zero chance of being murdered.

They do it because it will enable them to go into a female lavatory, peek under the door, and get sexually aroused by the site of someone going for a slash.

This is what we're expected to believe. This despite the fact that when transgender people do use public or shared lavatories, they are the ones who are far more likely to be assaulted because of the bigotry and hatred being stirred up towards them by the conservatives. This despite the fact there is no evidence that transgender protections increase safety risks. But then conservatives stopped caring about evidence years ago, long before the WMDs business.

This is a completely manufactured moral panic, dreamed up by the conservatives to distract you from the ransacking of the economy by a handful of rich people and to distract you from the immiseration of ordinary working people. It's a complete non-issue that's being used to crowd out any discussion of the real issues that we should be outraged about.

Remember the CRT controversy a few years ago? It quickly fell flat when the truth managed to break through the propaganda that CRT was not taught in schools but was a specialist topic in a few universities. DEI has become the new bogeyman, with transgender people scapegoated as a convenient "other" that's too small to stick up for itself.

Anybody who falls for this scam by buying into the outrage may think they're being edgy, but they're really being laughed at by the oligarchs who are robbing the place blind.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2025, 06:17:31 PMSomeone once told me that I should be worried that one day there will be a "man" in the same toilets as my daughter at school. By "man" he meant transgender woman.

Transgender people are less than 1% of the population (they're 0.008% of NCAA athletes). I've made it to the age of 50 and only managed to meet two transgender people in my entire life. The chances of my daughter being in the same school as a transgender person are somewhat remote. The chances of her using a toilet at the same time as said transgender person are even more remote. The chances of something bad happening as a result are probably smaller than the odds of her winning the Powerball lottery.

Here is what we're expected to believe with all the "bathroom bills" that the culture-war-stoking Rethuglicans and Anti-Woke Warriors are pushing:

A person decides to have life-changing, irreversible surgery, even though it will subject them to a lifetime of abuse, harassment, discrimination, possible violence, and a non-zero chance of being murdered.

They do it because it will enable them to go into a female lavatory, peek under the door, and get sexually aroused by the site of someone going for a slash.

This is what we're expected to believe. This despite the fact that when transgender people do use public or shared lavatories, they are the ones who are far more likely to be assaulted because of the bigotry and hatred being stirred up towards them by the conservatives. This despite the fact there is no evidence that transgender protections increase safety risks. But then conservatives stopped caring about evidence years ago, long before the WMDs business.

This is a completely manufactured moral panic, dreamed up by the conservatives to distract you from the ransacking of the economy by a handful of rich people and to distract you from the immiseration of ordinary working people. It's a complete non-issue that's being used to crowd out any discussion of the real issues that we should be outraged about.

Remember the CRT controversy a few years ago? It quickly fell flat when the truth managed to break through the propaganda that CRT was not taught in schools but was a specialist topic in a few universities. DEI has become the new bogeyman, with transgender people scapegoated as a convenient "other" that's too small to stick up for itself.

Anybody who falls for this scam by buying into the outrage may think they're being edgy, but they're really being laughed at by the oligarchs who are robbing the place blind.
Best post I've seen on this board calling out this bullsh*t. Total moral panic. I have never encountered this either and have daughters who have left school never encountered it or heard of it happening any of their friends in a toilet area. Of course there are transgender folk but a total disproportionate hysteria has been whipped up for people to punch down on them, to distract from the inequality, exploitation with all the foodbanks and poverty with billions put into slaughtering Palestinian civilians. Well said.