GAA Open Door to Heineken Semi at Croker

Started by screenexile, February 15, 2009, 09:23:41 PM

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 15, 2009, 10:48:59 PM
Alllowing rugby into Croke Park certainly does nothing to promote our games and instead helps bring a bit of glamour for the IRFU.

€1.5 million, ring fenced specifically for development at local level, does NOTHING to promote our games?

And the match wouldn't have take place at all or at least would have been a "glamour" free occasion if we hadn't provided the use of Croke Park?

And pro boxing (the domain of spivs, gangsters and dodgy dealings) is less at odds with the GAA's community purpose than rugby?

Quote from: Maguire01 on February 17, 2009, 02:15:35 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 17, 2009, 01:41:53 PM
Its good to know we have our prioirities right!
The only thing they would appear to be shifting is maintenance work. Unless it effects GAA games that would otherwise have been played in Croke Park, there's no real issue surely?

It looks like the game is possibly going to rule out Tyrone Armagh being in Croke Park. Sounds like the work will be just about complete for Dublin Meath. Harte wants Tyrone Armagh in Croke Park and there is a possibilty the county board will agree. Would be a sad day if a game between the All Ireland and ulster champions couldnt take place in Croke Park because of a rugby game. Tyrone Armagh is the type of game which we should be trying to promote in our best stadium not rugby and soccer.

No matter what Hardy says the Croke Park factor will add to the build up of Munster Leinster. In my opinion money earned will have little impact on attracting players to our own games. We're not a profit making organisation and Im not sure when everything became about money. Also professional boxing is not in competition with the gaa.

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 17, 2009, 06:25:36 PM
[. Harte wants Tyrone Armagh in Croke Park and there is a possibilty the county board will agree.

Has the Ulster Council devoved its fixture making functions to M Harte/Tyrone Co Board ?? :)

Yeah exactly Rosfan. It's like moving the Old Firm Derby to feckin Wembley just for the 'occasion'. The occasion will be perfectly fine at Clones or the newly refurbished County Grounds of Armagh or Tyrone (Not sure who the home fixture is for). Can't believe people want a first round Ulster Championship match to be moved to Croke Park just for the craic.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 17, 2009, 06:37:55 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 17, 2009, 06:25:36 PM
[. Harte wants Tyrone Armagh in Croke Park and there is a possibilty the county board will agree.

Has the Ulster Council devoved its fixture making functions to M Harte/Tyrone Co Board ?? :)

The fact thats its a home draw for Tyrone means the Tyrone county board will have a big say in the fixture! I'm sure they will take the views of their All Ireland winning manager into account.

I dont think the game should be moved for the craic but its a great opportunity in the gaa's 125th year to celebrate Ulster football. Could even play a double header involving the league champions Derry. Free tickets for everyone u16 easily available and promotion in advance could lead to close to a full house. Put on a bit of entertainment and music. Even do a video like one at Tyrone Dublin game. They have months to sort out a plan for marketing the game. This is the sort of way we should be using croke park.

Well let's hope this does rule out moving the Armagh/Tyrone game out of Ulster!

The Rapparee

Agree totally with Tyrone Dreamer. Armagh / Tyrone should have the option of playing Croke Park, and i say option.  If the reason they cant play Croker is the fact that HQ has agreed for a Rugby fixture then its a sad day for GAA.  By giving the Rugby fixture preference it would definatly provide them with a glamourous platform to stage the game, at the expense of Ulster GAA. 
The Athletics ground or Healey Park will definately not hold the expected crowds for this fixture.  The viable options are Clones or Croker.

Also in a semi related topic... Was in Dublin on Sunday, wanted to watch the Tyrone Kerry game on TV but couldnt due to the extensive Rugby coverage in each Pub....(And i was in a stones throw of Croker!)

Instead of boxing could we have a Colosseum type event where bankers are thrown to lions and the like.

The Rapparee

Quote from: The Rapparee on February 17, 2009, 07:39:19 PM
By giving the Rugby fixture preference it would definatly provide them with a glamourous platform to stage the game, at the expense of Ulster GAA. 
Taking the game out of Ulster would be at the expense of Ulster GAA.

The way this country is likely to be come May I expect to see the Grand Muftii for Cork propose holding the Hajj in Croker.