Budapest, Hungary

Started by Lecale2, February 13, 2009, 08:21:09 PM

carribbear

Was there a few years ago, not as clean as Prague but not too bad either. Take the bus tour around the city, worth doing just to get a view of both the towns.
Nightlife is alright, can't remember the places we went to, all I can describe one as being a 1980's disco with the locals then went to a modern club one night where the girls were getting very friendly with each other.
Maybe they are less suspicious of tourists at this stage, when we were there they wouldn't be described as enthusiastic by our presence.
The lads spent a lot of time in the casinos as night time. Watch where you go all the same.

Quote from: carribbear on February 13, 2009, 08:26:19 PM
Watch where you go all the same.
Could I ask you what you mean by this?

There's millions of spas (not funny). You should try to go to one or two, especially the old ones. Just have to be careful you don't end up in a dodgy one  :-\

carribbear

Quote from: Lecale2 on February 13, 2009, 08:27:42 PM
Quote from: carribbear on February 13, 2009, 08:26:19 PM
Watch where you go all the same.
Could I ask you what you mean by this?

According to the lads don't fook about when in the casinos or more adult-themed bars. I don't think they take kindly to anyone wasting their time and theres plenty of burly chaps who could beat you to a pulp.

Lecale - maybe you can expand a little more on what you are looking for - and Ill have some more information to give.

Is it food, dining, places to stay, sights to see, what to be aware of, or going on the lash?

Ive spent about 4 months there all added up, and its a good spot.

Depending on your budget - Id stay here

http://www.ohb.hu/gellert/index.en.html

Right on the danube on the buda side, and it contains one of the oldest (and I think the most beautiful) natural spa in the city.

I'm going with the other half so sight seeing/shopping will play a part before I get bored and head to the bar.
I have a decent enough hotel sorted.

Good - I was with the other half (a non drinker) so I dont have much info on the drinking side of it.

Food - the food is great, if a little different to what we're used to. Some of the open air markets are fantastic - for both cheap beers and nice snacks as you go along. The prices are amazing also, at least the were 5 years ago. Be very very careful of how much every purchase costs and how much you give them, and how much change you get back. Thats the biggest trick is scamming you on change - especially with the huge denomination of the Forint notes.

If you can pre book things online too - Id do that, as many places operate a price for locals, and a bumped up price for tourists (once they realize you dont speak the language).

Depending on the weather - there are a few different things to do - if its a warm time of year, make sure you visit margaret island in the middle of the danube. Its a great place to spend the day.

http://www.budapest-tourist-guide.com/margaret-island.html

Gellert Hill

http://www.budapestinfo.org/citadel.html

The heros square at night is close to the zoo - and its quite a sight when its lit up.

http://www.budapestinfo.org/herossquare.html

No trip to hungary is complete without a trip to budapest zoo -

http://www.budapestinfo.org/zoo.html

Of the two spas Id say its a tossup between the St Gellert and the Szechenyi - but here is a list of the lot. Depending on your level of manly attraction - be prepared for a few fellows to talk to you - especially in the Szechenyi.

St Istvans (Stephen) Basiliica is a sight to behold also.

http://www.budapestinfo.org/majorspas.html

Now, the food!

The open air markets are great just to walk around, with fresh salamis, cheezes, and all kinds of interesting products. Breakfast can often be in the form of cold cuts but some great crepe houses exist - look out for the word palacsinta - you should get a mighty feed for not too much.

In the pubs one of the best snacks, and in the market too are called pogacsa (pogatcha) and they are like wee savoury scones with bits of bacon fat in them - mighty mighty stuff.

Almost all of the streets will have corner stores on them and they get fresh bread daily - so you can eat on the run if you fancy it.

Id fly back to budapest just to go to this resturaunt

http://budapest-guide.blogspot.com/2008/01/sir-lancelot-medieval-restaurant.html

Its a mideaval style resturaunt with tons of food, served on a wooden platter at big crude wooden benches, no silverware, a huge bib/napkin and mugs of ale. The beautiful women all wear corsets and the food and atmosphere is spectacular.

Go hungry and enjoy the craic.

One other thing is to watch the money notes you get back from store owners - if a note is torn or damaged - its no good. You have to take it back to the bank - no where will take it. But the shopkeepers will try and give away those notes to tourists.

Oh yeah - try and get sorted with the public transport pass when you get there, or little books of tickets - so you can just jump on and off the busses and trams (Vilamos) that network the city.

Go easy on the palinka.

When you thinking of going? If it's round the summer check out Rio, it's an outdoor club(more like a park with loads of different outdoor bars) and full of the best looking girls you'll ever meeting in your life. I don't think I seen one average looking girls in the place, all complete babes. Bed is also worth checking out.

Thanks lads. I'm going tonight. Is the city safe enough at night?

Yes I Would

Over couple of years ago.. Keep your wits about you and it will be grand..
Nice City, and reasonably priced.  Lonely Planet we found was a good guide for a short break