Sky packages for pubs etc.

Started by balladmaker, February 05, 2009, 03:58:59 PM

Does anyone know how much a package from Sky costs, including Sky sports, for use in a public house?  Obviously, it would be a lot more expensive than a residential subscription, but anyone got an idea of a ball park figure?

Also, I assume free to air broadcasts such as those on freeview boxes do not incur any charge for use in a pub?

Thanks in advance.

girt_giggler

My local pays £600 a month for sky with setanta sports. not sure of any other details

buy a digisender and get the signal from a nearby house ;)

They have actually been calling to public houses in my area to check the status of sky been shown. The signal for public houses carrys a small guinness symbol in corner, think its in the region of €6,000 per annum.

Not worth in this age where everyone seems to have it at home or a neighbour/family member does.

A pub close to us got nailed for 7 grand for having it piped in from the next door neighbour.....hardly worth the risk.

ildanach

Quote from: bingobus on February 05, 2009, 04:48:31 PM
They have actually been calling to public houses in my area to check the status of sky been shown. The signal for public houses carrys a small guinness symbol in corner, think its in the region of €6,000 per annum.

Not worth in this age where everyone seems to have it at home or a neighbour/family member does.

you can get around this by painting the symbol on the corner of the screen with tippex!!
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

ildanach

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 05, 2009, 04:56:45 PM
Ah, but it disappears when the adverts come on!

shit! my cunning plan is foiled by the pesky ads!
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

WaterBoy

Think my local pays about £200 a week for it! from what i hear they charge you according to the size of the premises, ie how many people can potentially watch it in your pub.  the bar im referring to is pretty much getting raped as it has a restaurant and nightclub attached and are charged for the size of the whole complex even though they only show Sky in the small front bar!  Id say the only way to get a realistic price is to contact sky, or maybe a bar of similar size to your own and find how much they are paying
Mama says that foos-ball is the devil

tyronefan

I live in the south not far from the border and a friend of mine installs the satellites for the foreign channels. I have it in and cost about   € 300 total,no subscription charges (might charge a bit more for public house). I get all the premiership match same as sky and they are all in english. I know he has done a few in the louth and monaghan areas.  If you want his number to talk to him pm me and i will send it to you

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: tyronefan on February 05, 2009, 05:22:45 PM
I live in the south not far from the border and a friend of mine installs the satellites for the foreign channels. I have it in and cost about   € 300 total,no subscription charges (might charge a bit more for public house). I get all the premiership match same as sky and they are all in english. I know he has done a few in the louth and monaghan areas.  If you want his number to talk to him pm me and i will send it to you

My uncle's at it as well...Not too sure how much he charges...His dishes have a motor on them thatr swing around to pick up various satelites..He has every premiership match you could want to watch.  And thousands of other channels plus of course lots of porn!!
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

Buddy of mine is an expert at the foreign dish malarky too. He's faking brilliant at it to be fair. He has had every Chelsea game on in his house for the last few years, and again he had fitted half the bars in the NW too.

There is a new thing now on the go. Card sharing.

Not sure of the finer detail, but it's something like you have your standard SKY card in your box, and the box connected to the internet. You buddy up with someone say in Italy who has the same set up but SKY Italy or something, who buddies up with someone in Asia who has some other system.
The net result is that you can all fed on each other's cards.

No idea the technical details, but it's a quer job.

tyronefan

that one is not exactly legal norf tyrone but the foreign one are  think mine is coming from Hungry or Romania,

I know a pub in Fintona that got nailed for it too. Some have now decided to go down a grey route of showing matches from foreign subscription services, though the English FA have been taking some publicans to court over in England over this over claims of copyright infringement.

SKY tried that craic too, it got thrown out of court on the grounds the premises had paid for their subscription fair and square and where not doing anything illegal.

This was 5 years ago though but I know they threatened my local a few months back after hearing they showed Saturday 3pm kick offs. Even sent a little c*** out to the bar on a Saturday afternoon when the boys where all watching football to tell them to stop. He nearly got lynched and effectively admitted it was not illegal.

cavan4ever

Quote from: thebigfella on February 06, 2009, 02:12:40 AM
I know a pub in Fintona that got nailed for it too. Some have now decided to go down a grey route of showing matches from foreign subscription services, though the English FA have been taking some publicans to court over in England over this over claims of copyright infringement.

SKY tried that craic too, it got thrown out of court on the grounds the premises had paid for their subscription fair and square and where not doing anything illegal.

This was 5 years ago though but I know they threatened my local a few months back after hearing they showed Saturday 3pm kick offs. Even sent a little c*** out to the bar on a Saturday afternoon when the boys where all watching football to tell them to stop. He nearly got lynched and effectively admitted it was not illegal.

:D  telling a pub full off lads that they cant watch football  what a ****.