Mickey Harte joins the Irish News

Started by GrandMasterFlash, February 02, 2009, 08:08:04 AM

Kerry do take the league seriously. The roll of honour says so:

Kerry 18  1928, 1929, 1931, 1932, 1959,1961, 1963, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1982, 1984, 1997, 2004, 2006
Mayo 11  1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1949, 1954, 1970, 2001
Dublin 9  1953, 1955, 1958, 1964, 1976, 1978, 1987, 1991, 1993
Meath 7 1933, 1946, 1951, 1975, 1988, 1990, 1994
Derry 6  1947, 1992, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2008
Cork 5  1952, 1956, 1980, 1989, 1999
Down 4  1960, 1962, 1968, 1983
Galway 4  1957, 1965, 1967, 1981
Laois 2  1926, 1986
Cavan 2  1948, 1950
Tyrone 2  2002, 2003
Armagh 1  2005
Longford 1  1966
Monaghan 1  1985
Roscommon 1  1979
Offaly 1  1998
Donegal 1  2007

QuoteNo one is taking the league seriously I assure you.  I think you should be more concerned with probably the most undignified league campaign by an AI winner in living memory. You lads should hang your heads in shame.

Yes we hang our heads as we polish the Sam Maguire, Tommy Markham and Hogan cups together, something the rest of you have never and are unlikely to ever see in your county at once.

Got any brasso?

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 06, 2009, 10:07:35 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 06, 2009, 07:41:54 PM
No one is taking the league seriously I assure you.  I think you should be more concerned with probably the most undignified league campaign by an AI winner in living memory. You lads should hang your heads in shame. 

Seriously Milke this obsession with Tyrone has to stop. I'd say 75% of your posts are Tyrone related, thats not healthy. I know you's have suffered a lot to Tyrone recently and Tyrone are the team of the decade but moaning constantly about Tyrone isnt going to take that away.

Really? There is still a year of this decade to go and my count would be Kerry 4 Tyrone 3... but yeah ok Tyrone are because they say so!  ::) ::) ::)

QuoteReally? There is still a year of this decade to go and my count would be Kerry 4 Tyrone 3... but yeah ok Tyrone are because they say so!

Yeah lots of the winning Kerry team of 2000 played in 2008.....  ::)

Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 06, 2009, 10:15:37 PM
Kerry do take the league seriously. The roll of honour says so:

Kerry 18  1928, 1929, 1931, 1932, 1959,1961, 1963, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1982, 1984, 1997, 2004, 2006
Mayo 11  1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1949, 1954, 1970, 2001
Dublin 9  1953, 1955, 1958, 1964, 1976, 1978, 1987, 1991, 1993
Meath 7 1933, 1946, 1951, 1975, 1988, 1990, 1994
Derry 6  1947, 1992, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2008
Cork 5  1952, 1956, 1980, 1989, 1999
Down 4  1960, 1962, 1968, 1983
Galway 4  1957, 1965, 1967, 1981
Laois 2  1926, 1986
Cavan 2  1948, 1950
Tyrone 2  2002, 2003
Armagh 1  2005
Longford 1  1966
Monaghan 1  1985
Roscommon 1  1979
Offaly 1  1998
Donegal 1  2007

How long did i take ye to type all that out?

Quote from: under the bar on April 06, 2009, 11:14:23 PM
QuoteReally? There is still a year of this decade to go and my count would be Kerry 4 Tyrone 3... but yeah ok Tyrone are because they say so!

Yeah lots of the winning Kerry team of 2000 played in 2008.....  ::)

What's that got to do with anything... the decade would be... hang on... the last 10 years not the 10 years between 2003 and fecking 2013... catch a grip man how blinkered are you?!

QuoteSeriously Milke this obsession with Tyrone has to stop. I'd say 75% of your posts are Tyrone related, thats not healthy. I know you's have suffered a lot to Tyrone recently and Tyrone are the team of the decade but moaning constantly about Tyrone isnt going to take that away.

and leave the board to you Tyrone WUM's .....not a chance.  Somebody has to keep ye in line.

QuoteKerry do take the league seriously. The roll of honour says so:

Not taking it serious as in, yes, they want to win every game but its not the be all and end all. Bringing new players in (or getting older ones back up to speed) is what its about. If the competition for places results in wins, well then I'm sure JOC and the boys are happy with that too but I dont think they'll lose any sleep if Galway or Derry beat us in the final.

Deal_Me_In

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 07, 2009, 01:26:44 AM
QuoteKerry do take the league seriously. The roll of honour says so:

Not taking it serious as in, yes, they want to win every game but its not the be all and end all. Bringing new players in (or getting older ones back up to speed) is what its about. If the competition for places results in wins, well then I'm sure JOC and the boys are happy with that too but I dont think they'll lose any sleep if Galway or Derry beat us in the final.

Mike, that part in bold is just bullsh1t, yes they may use the league as a way of getting player up to speed etc but a final is a final and any team at that stage is there to win it no matter what competition and especially the 2nd most important one. Also Kerry have been beaten in the 3 finals they have played in 2007. The most important thing to JOC will be to win the league again so the players get the confidence again that they may actually be able to win something again, not just compete to the finish line before pulling up short.

Did I say they wouldn't try to win it...? No I didnt. I said IF they lose they wont lose any sleep over it.

Deal_Me_In

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 07, 2009, 05:48:36 AM
Did I say they wouldn't try to win it...? No I didnt. I said IF they lose they wont lose any sleep over it.

Which again is bullsh1t. If Kerry loose another final especially if they start well and build up a lead, it will signal that there is absolutely no improvement under JOC in 2009. This will increase the pressure on the Kerry players that they must perfrom in the championship with the fans expecting to win the All-Ireland and we all seen last year when the pressure was on in a final how the faltered to deceive in 3 finals.

Look, you seem like one of the few non-WUM Tyronies on here so I will simply state that winning the league is not very high on JOC's list of priorities no matter how much you claim it is. Now that they are in the final they will, of course, try to win it but the result will have no bearing on the championship.   

Listen Mike Feck away back off and commiserate with your Buddy Pat over his demotion, both your views are interesting but irrelevant the way Gaelic Football has moved on.  Leave the rising star of journalism that is Mickey Harte alone and console the fallen Kerry man on his demise - its only human. 

Yeah lots of the winning Kerry team of 2000 played in 2008..... 

What's that got to do with anything... the decade would be... hang on... the last 10 years not the 10 years between 2003 and fecking 2013... catch a grip man how blinkered are you?!

Then you are confusing "team" with "county".  Using that basis having won 4 all-irelands since 2000 Kerry as a county have the upperhand, however it is not even remotely the same team.    Tyrone's teams of 2003/05/08 have had essentially the same nucleus AND having beaten Kerry on each occasion.  Not hard to work out if you're half intelligent, but then again.....

SidelineKick

In this decade (which is what we are talking about) Tyrone have won 3 All Irelands, 3 Ulsters and 2 National leagues to Kerrys 4 All Irelands, 6 Munsters and 2 National Leagues.  I think its fair to say Kerry have the upper hand on this one.  Not hard to work out if you're half intelligent, but then again.....
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"