Tyrone to Gaza

Started by give her dixie, January 29, 2009, 09:09:32 PM

Great stuff John, it's truly a great thing you are doing. Safe there and back. Viva Palestina,  An Phalaistín Abú!

Met the bould John tonight and he really is an inspiration as well as hard to find!  This mans enthusiasm for this project is palpable and so infectious.  His lorry is well loaded down with aid but he is also overloaded with well wishes and the prayers of so many from on here and further afield.  He has so much good to say about the posters on here (makes a nice change).  His work only starts now, take care John and god bless you and your companions.

Norf have a nice wee T-shirt for you also  ;)

puc me

all the best john, have a safe journey looking forward to hearing about your noble deed maith thu.
all ireland champions and lovin' it

Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 12, 2009, 10:27:04 PM
Met the bould John tonight and he really is an inspiration as well as hard to find!  This mans enthusiasm for this project is palpable and so infectious.  His lorry is well loaded down with aid but he is also overloaded with well wishes and the prayers of so many from on here and further afield.  He has so much good to say about the posters on here (makes a nice change).  His work only starts now, take care John and god bless you and your companions.

Jaysus where'd you trek him down? Went back up that direction at 10 and even called to his abode to no luck (bastard of a dog next door).

Quote from: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 11:20:58 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 12, 2009, 10:27:04 PM

Jaysus where'd you trek him down? Went back up that direction at 10 and even called to his abode to no luck (b**tard of a dog next door).
I was wandering around the Oaks centre looking for a Rocwell lorry, anyway they don't like strangers up there so someone approached me, he was wearing an 'I shot JR' t-shirt.  He didn't speak, but pointed me in the general direction, they were loading the lorry at his parents house (I think it was), so I was dog free.

Ah you got a mention on the BBC this morning John - Seamus McKee mentioned you when he was doing the round up of the papers.

Popping out to get the Irish News now.

Adh mor oraibh.

mick999

From the Irish News this morning ...

Good Luck on your travels !!

lfdown2

john your maybe left by now, what time do ye land in london and what time ye leave?

Muzz

Article in the Irish News today!!!  The other one is hard to read even when squiting.

SAM Maguire has been lending
support to a charity
convoy leaving to deliver
supplies to stricken Gaza.
Children clutching bags of
toys and a building contractor with a
trailer full of supplies were among
those queuing up to make donations
in kind.
The 'Tyrone to Gaza' effort is being
coordinated by Dungannon photographer
John Hurson.
Inspired by pictures in The Irish News
of a man sporting a Tyrone GAA jersey
amid the rubble of war-torn South
Ossetia last year, Mr Hurson has collected
hundreds of sports tops to take
to the Middle East region.
A lorry from the Red Hand county is
leaving for London where it will join a
mile-long aid convoy departing on St
Valentine's Day on a three-week trek
to Gaza.
George Galloway MP and human
rights campaigner Lauren Booth are
among volunteers who will drive more
than 100 donated vehicles packed with
practical aid raised in just four weeks.
They were waved off yesterday by
the All-Ireland trophy, as a gesture of
solidarity from Tyrone county board.
Dungannon Swifts Football Club and
Dungannon Rugby Club are among the
other sporting bodies which have donated
jerseys in a cross-community
show of support.
Mr Hurson said he had been overwhelmed
by the generosity.
"There was one woman who had lost
her husband and daughter two years
ago and hadn't been able to face clearing
out their wardrobes," he said.
"When she heardwhat we were doing
she packed them up and drove here
with them.
"We've had children coming in with
bags of toys after their parents have
told them about the children in Gaza
with no homes and no toys."
However, Mr Hurson does not even
know whether the convoy will be allowed
to deliver the aid to its final
destination.
"Top-level diplomatic discussions are
taking place at the moment," he said.
"I will be getting the aid there even if
I have to stay for three months. I would
even use the tunnels to take in a symbolic
gift of aid.
"I have a duty to all the people who
donated."

John, you're an inspiration. Safe travelling.

Fair play John, best of luck.

give her dixie

Folks, I'm just going out the door now.
This is the start of one serious adventure. Your help, support, and generosity knows no bounds.
You have been my rock for the past 2 weeks. For those of you in London, we leave from Hyde Park at 11am.
In 03 Peter said "Its time to take Sam home to Tyrone", today I say "It's time to bring Tyrone To Gaza".
There is only one thing left for me to say.......................

"GIVE HER DIXIE"

Tyrone To Gaza

John Hurson
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Jarlath's column in this week's Gaelic Life ...

I am now going to pay tribute to some people who have the right attitude. Men who don't take themselves or the GAA too seriously, but who are better for their involvement and make us better for having met them.  We could all take a leaf out of their book.

JOE BROLLY...
[enough said]

GERRY DONNELLY...

DAMIEN Mc CULLOUGH...

JOHN HURSON - One of the boys organising the Tyrone to Gaza expedition. Using a Rocwell lorry, they have put together a daring rescue mission to help out those dispossessed in Gaza. Five thousand miles they'll go in that lorry along with ninety others from Britain through Belgium, France, Spain, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Libya, Egypt and through Raffa into Gaza.

BENNY TIERNEY...

SEAN CAVANAGH...

Good man John and well done the GAA Board for supporting this.  Will there be a gadderin for this man when he gets back? 

The Watcher Pat

Just caught the last of the news there...Did some of the lorries on the way to this get raided by the police?
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME