Late Late Show - GAA Special

Started by stephenite, January 08, 2009, 02:16:54 AM

kevmy

That really was a bit of a strange turn you took there Bud.

No mention of Dessie or the GPA quickly turned into a rant. Whatever your views about them that came a little outta left field

Quote from: Bud Wiser on January 08, 2009, 12:51:26 PM
I am not saying ... that Mickey Harte should throw a shoe at him (Dessie)

Why not?

(Doing my best to help you to get the row going).

The GAA

QuoteWhy not?

He'd miss, unless it was held in Croker in September.

Quote from: Hardy on January 08, 2009, 02:13:47 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on January 08, 2009, 12:51:26 PM
I am not saying ... that Mickey Harte should throw a shoe at him (Dessie)

Why not?

(Doing my best to help you to get the row going).

Because in our society its not a big enough insult.

Ahern & Saw Doctors for Late Late Show

The former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern and The Saw Doctors will be joining Pat Kenny tonight for special edition of 'The Late Late Show'.

Tonight's show, which will celebrate the 125th anniversary of the founding of the GAA, will also feature Sean Óg O hAilpín and the Artane Boys and Girls Band.

Other well-known faces and lovers of the games will be on hand for a show that promises to be rich in anecdote and song. Dara O'Briain, Oliver Callan of Nob Nation, Brush Shields and Tommy Fleming will be in studio.
Advertisement

Joining the party will be the most star-studded assembly ever of legends of the games including Kevin Heffernan, Jimmy Barry-Murphy, Babs Keating, Dermot Earley, Eddie Keher, Mick O'Dwyer, Henry Shefflin, Peter Canavan, Jamsie O'Connor, Colm Cooper, Padraic Joyce and Sean Og O hAlpin.

You can watch this special show tonight at 9.30pm on RTÉ One

Guaranteed some cringeworthy viewing but hopefully will be a good show

QuoteSean Óg O hAilpín and the Artane Boys and Girls Band.

What are they going to sing?

Not a Meath-man on the panal, feckin disgrace I tell ya.

QuoteNot a Meath-man on the panal, feckin disgrace I tell ya.

Sure don't we have to listen to O'Rourke all feckin summer - Is that not enough for ye ;)

I'd have thought the herbal doctor would make an appearance though

Quote from: thejuice on January 09, 2009, 02:31:28 PM
QuoteSean Óg O hAilpín and the Artane Boys and Girls Band.

What are they going to sing?

Money, Money, Money

Can someone explain why the Saw Doctors get to take a swing out of every GAA occasion? Is it because they're seen as bog-hip, or something?

(Explanatory note for Nordies - you probably know them as the Seen Doctors).

The GAA

Because of "to win just once" and "will galway bate mayo?" i presume

Isn't Dara O'Briain always making wee digs at the GAA and is a self-confessed rugger fan? Bit strange him being on the show then.

Quote from: ziggysego on January 09, 2009, 06:52:42 PM
Isn't Dara O'Briain always making wee digs at the GAA and is a self-confessed rugger fan? Bit strange him being on the show then.

I think he played underage hurling for Wicklow did he not  ???
I could be totally wrong mind....

QuoteIsn't Dara O'Briain always making wee digs at the GAA and is a self-confessed rugger fan? Bit strange him being on the show then.

Definitely not - hates rugby calls it crazy golf with a strange shaped ball and slags the ladyboys of D4 at every opportunity. Definite GAA background but not sure if he represented Wickla

Yeah I heard he played underage for Wicklow hurlers.