Favourite and not-so-favourite song lyrics

Started by SidelineKick, January 07, 2009, 11:32:29 AM

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:16:09 PM
Probably the most nonsensical and idiotic line that I've ever had the misfortune to be subjected to, from Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam's Father And Son:

it's not time to make a change
just relax and take it easy
you're still young that's your fault
there's so much you have to know

No it's not his fecking fault, you numpty, what do think he did, put Rohypnol in his mother's vodka and force fed his old man oysters, only 10 years too late?

I always understood that as 'fault' as in weakness or defect (in this case temporary as it will improve with time) rather than 'fault' as in attaching blame.

I've never, ever, heard fault used in that sense when being ascribed to an individual muppet, and I wouldn't even be sure that that makes sense (in very literal terms); it always in my experience refers to personal culpability.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:37:09 PM
I've never, ever, heard fault used in that sense when being ascribed to an individual muppet, and I wouldn't even be sure that that makes sense (in very literal terms); it always in my experience refers to personal culpability.

A character fault?

Treasurer

fault

• noun
1 an unattractive or unsatisfactory feature; a defect or mistake.
2 responsibility for an accident or misfortune.
3 (in tennis) a service that infringes the rules.
4 Geology an extended break in a rock formation, marked by the relative displacement and discontinuity of strata.

Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:39:20 PM
A character fault?

Being young, a character fault?

Anyway, unless the specific character fault had been previously mentioned, his' fault' would only mean his culpability, and not the geological fault in the earth's crust that he happens to be straddled across at that instant. Pure crap lyric.

I always understood it the way Muppet described too.

SidelineKick

July please,
I'm on my knees,
The smell of you fresh cut grass,
Your blue sky grins
For all it's sins
Look another gorgeous levi ass
July people come and go
It looks like another perfect day
Just to see your
Striptease show
July please try your best to stay
And a mongrel begins to bark
At a wino in the park
And his owner doesn't care
'cause he really isn't there.........
Oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma
My july
July, fizz bombs in my mouth
Babarama everywhere
I can't lie on my pocket trout
So I sit back in the easy chair
And a woman of middle age
Licks and thumbs another page
Then she brushes off the dirt
From her greayhound
Oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma
My july
July, fizz bombs in my mouth
Babarama everywhere
I can't lie on my pocket trout
So I sit back in the easy chair
And a woman of middle age
Licks and thumbs another page
Then she brushes off the dirt
From her greayhound
And a baby sucks it's thumb
To the sound of a steal drum
And fountain water gush
Through the thick bull rush (everybody)
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Dexy's Midnight Runners - Geno

Ghacnh dghpd ghng hg hguh chughdh
Oh, Geno
Bdghd mhgdh ghd ghdd hdwg wpdydp
Oh-oh-oh Geno-o

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:45:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:39:20 PM
A character fault?

Being young, a character fault?

Anyway, unless the specific character fault had been previously mentioned, his' fault' would only mean his culpability, and not the geological fault in the earth's crust that he happens to be straddled across at that instant. Pure crap lyric.

I am not posting this to debate the merits of the lyric, which is purely subjective.

However, you have dismissed my interpretation out of hand, despite a big clue in the first line of Treasurer's definition.

Here is more: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fault

noun:

1.   a defect or imperfection; flaw; failing: a fault in the brakes; a fault in one's character

Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 01:52:32 PM

OK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here ;)

Can you give me one other example, where one individual addresses another with "That's your fault", where it doesn't mean that's your blame?

And even if it means, in this song's context, that that's your 'defect', how is his being young a 'defect'?

Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:58:20 PM
However, you have dismissed my interpretation out of hand, despite a big clue in the first line of Treasurer's definition.

No I didn't, I merely pointed out that the character fault must have been previously alluded to in order to make any sense, and being young is not a character fault.

Edit: I believe that perhaps the lyric should have been "that's your flaw", which would have made sense in that he has so much to learn, but which was mangled in the actual recorded version.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:59:38 PM

Can you give me one other example, where one individual addresses another with "That's your fault", where it doesn't mean that's your blame?

And even if it means, in this song's context, that that's your 'defect', how is his being young a 'defect'?

Either way, its a brilliant song by Cat Stevens, but murdered by Boyzonne who either didnt get it or just couldnt deliver.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:59:38 PM

Youth or inexperience is frequently seen as a defect, for example imagine if you are choosing Kieran Donaghy or Sean Walsh for FF. You could reasonably argue that Walsh is younger and on that criterium Donaghy gets the nod. Youth in that could might be described as Walsh's only fault.

lfdown2

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:16:09 PM
Probably the most nonsensical and idiotic line that I've ever had the misfortune to be subjected to, from Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam's Father And Son:

it's not time to make a change
just relax and take it easy
you're still young that's your fault
there's so much you have to know

No it's not his fecking fault, you numpty, what do think he did, put Rohypnol in his mother's vodka and force fed his old man oysters, only 10 years too late?

WOW WOW WOW Stop the bus.......

ye mean this isnt a boyzone song????? :o :o :o

sail_in

At the minute my favourite lyric is probably from REM's At My Most Beautiful:

"You always say your name like I wouldn't know it's you"

So true - people you're fond of don't have to begin phone conversations with anything like "Hi, this is ***whoever***", you already know from the fist instant you hear their voice.

There are sh1t-loads of cr@p lyrics - anything that doesn't really make sense, but rhymes or has enough syllables to fit into the line.  Take a bow Bono:

"A mole, diggin' in a hole, diggin' on my soul now going down excavation ..." and continue to the point where you feel like throwing the radio off the wall.

QuoteOK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here

Go and sh*te, ye bollix.   :P  I was just trying to help you to broaden your syntactical appreciation.   :P  :P