Soon to be ruins, the ruins of my past
And when the sky should fall
The earth to ashes turn
Then you know they shall be my tomb

Where is the fighting man?
I am he
You would trade every truth
For hollow victories

Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:14:50 PM
QuoteOK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here

Go and sh*te, ye bollix.   :P  I was just trying to help you to broaden your syntactical appreciation.   :P  :P

Nonsensical apprecation you mean!  ;)

We can all find any number of definitions in a dictionary to force those square pegs into round holes, but if something makes little sense in the spoken word, it makes little sense, and we're not talking here about poetic licence or beautifully abstruse interpretations. Anyway, that's your fault.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:14:50 PM
QuoteOK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here

Go and sh*te, ye bollix.   :P  I was just trying to help you to broaden your syntactical appreciation.   :P  :P

Nonsensical apprecation you mean!  ;)

We can all find any number of definitions in a dictionary to force those square pegs into round holes, but if something makes little sense in the spoken word, it makes little sense, and we're not talking here about poetic licence or beautifully abstruse interpretations. Anyway, that's your fault.

I am not familiar with either of those acts.

Yizzer all wrong. It's plain and obvious it's about show jumping.

The lyrics to She's Electric by Oasis are total and utter shite ... why haven't this shower of manchester hod carriers been sussed out yet?

I was going to cite again the first line of the national anthem of Ukraine - "Ukraine is not dead yet", but I checked and they've changed it to "Ukraine's glory has not perished". Pity.

Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 02:54:21 PM
I was going to cite again the first line of the national anthem of Ukraine - "Ukraine is not dead yet", but I checked and they've changed it to "Ukraine's glory has not perished". Pity.

Is the second line: "We've Russian gas to keep it warm"?

Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:23:14 PM

Getting funny looks here- laughed my ass off at that one

Quote from: heganboy on January 07, 2009, 03:28:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:23:14 PM

Getting funny looks here- laughed my ass off at that one

Third line:

"We've found a hole in Putin's pipe"

I can't be arsed quoting verbatim but anything penned by Dolores Cranberry is painful to listen to.

And to make matters worse she sings the effing thing as well. Christ wept.

Other notable crimes (I restrict this to Irish stuff) was Mushroom's (Anus McAnally's band) one and only album 'Early One Morning'. The whole album was a horror fest and if anyone wants a good laugh let me know and I'll burn a copy.

downredblack

He thinks he got the whole world in his hands
Stood at the urinal

A few good ones

Guy Clark -she aint goin nowhere

Standin' on the gone side of leavin'.
She found a thumb and stuck it in the breeze.
She'll take anything that's goin' close to somewhere.
She can lay it down and live it like she'd please

Chorus
She ain't goin' nowhere, she's just leavin'.
She ain't goin' nowhere she can't breathe in.
And she ain't goin' home, and that's for sure.

Christy Moore - Yellow Triangle

Then they began to take the jews
When they fetched the people who were member s of trades unions
I did not speak

Then they took the bible students
Round they took the homosexuals
Then they gathered up the students and the gypsies

I did not speak

Eventually they came for me there was no one left to speak

Bob Dylan - The lonesome death of hattie carroll

But you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears,
Take the rag away from your face.
Now ain't the time for your tears

(x3)

but you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears,
Bury the rag deep in your face
For now's the time for your tears.

Hurt - Trent Reznor (Johnny Cash)

If i could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

Hey - we can't have a "worst lyrics " session without putting in a word for Neil Diamond. How about

I am, I said, to no-one there
And no-one heard at all, not even the chair.  :o

Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
Hey - we can't have a "worst lyrics " session without putting in a word for Neil Diamond. How about

I am, I said, to no-one there
And no-one heard at all, not even the chair.  :o

The chair was listening to the Doors.

Or the Walls.

Come to think of it maybe he was listening to some of the lads who stand up at meetings and say: "Through the chair ... "