Gaa training, gym, diet and injury advice

Started by tintin25, August 09, 2007, 10:44:12 AM

catchandkick

Cheers for advice Brick Tamlin and hmmm, I have tried plyometrics and find them very good but its a very short term effect I find, once you stop doing it you seem to regress into your normal speed, might give the weights prog as suggested by hmm, have been always been slightly wary of weights just thinking that putting too much muscle on will slow the person down even more, some of the older Armagh footballers were a case in point I think on this

Thanks anyway,
catchandkick

stpauls

i think the older part of that statement may have been what slowed the Armagh players down, not the weights!
as long as they are done properly, the weights will benefit, not hinder you!

hmmm

Quote from: catchandkick on October 24, 2007, 01:31:11 PM
Cheers for advice Brick Tamlin and hmmm, I have tried plyometrics and find them very good but its a very short term effect I find, once you stop doing it you seem to regress into your normal speed, might give the weights prog as suggested by hmm, have been always been slightly wary of weights just thinking that putting too much muscle on will slow the person down even more, some of the older Armagh footballers were a case in point I think on this

Thanks anyway,
catchandkick

The weights program I posted would be a sample day of a 3 day a week program (off season). The excercises are specifically for power not bulk (that's why the reps are low, the reps are also done explosively), I've been doing these weights for over 3 years and I haven't noticed any bulk increase in my legs and my upper body has just become stronger and more toned but not bigger. I have noticed my sharpness, first 5 yards and change of direction speed improving dramatically.

Quote from: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 11:02:46 AM
4x3 cleans   - 2mins rest between sets
3x6 back squat - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bench press  - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bradford press - 2mins rest between sets
3x1min core holds - 90 secs between sets
3x12 crunches  - 90 secs between sets
3x10 atlas holds - 90 secs between sets

Im am wondering what Atlas Holds and Cleans are?

Is a Clean the same as a dead lift?  :-\

Never heard of that Atlas Hold but it reminds me of yer man from Greek mythology holding the earth  ???  ;D

hmmm

This is a clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/Clean.html

And I actually do this one, the hang clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/HangClean.html

Atlas holds are hard to describe. you'd have to see them being done

Quote from: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 03:57:22 PM
This is a clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/Clean.html

And I actually do this one, the hang clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/HangClean.html

Atlas holds are hard to describe. you'd have to see them being done

:o

I suppose I do the dead lift which is like half a clean... il try it !
cheers !

darbyo

For all of you looking for advice on improving different aspects of your fitness be careful of others who don't know you advise. With the best of intentions suggesting what worked for you to someone else can be dangerous. Plyometrics should only be done by lads who have a 2-3 year base of strength training. Also exercises like cleans, snatches, power and cleans are all technically difficult exercises and shouldn't be done by novice weightlifters.
                          If you want to improve your speed do a sprint session 2/3 times a week with plenty of rest between runs. If you want to bulk up or lose weight then your diet is more important than your training regime (especially when loosing weight). When bulking up the type, amount and timing of your diet is crucial. These are general points that are applicable to all, for a specific training plan your height, weight, age, training history, goals, free time and medical history would need to be known. So don't rush off doing weights that are too heavy for you or exercises that you are unfamiliar with as an injured athlete is definitely not improving.

hmmm

Darbyo, agreed! I did put a disclaimer in my first post on weights. The ones I posted especially the cleans and squats shouldn't even be attempted unless supervised by a strength and conditioning qualified coach. It took me at leat 6 months to get the technique right under supervision.

Davitt Man

Has anyone tried this

Shuttles

5 cones.... 5m, 10m, 15m, 20m, 25m.

Each cone and back is total of 150m....

You have 30 seconds to complete the 150m and you record your distance completed as per the last cone you pass/reach in the 30 seconds...

You have 30 seconds recovery between each run.....

You do 6 runs with the ultimate goal to complete 900m in the 5 min 30 sec (3 minutes sprinting/2min 30 secs recovery).

By the way.. not a hope of getting 900m unless you are an athlete of serious calibre training fulltime.

I tried this last night at training, fecking tough had to take more than 30secs bewteen runs though. I managed 30seconds on the 1st run but then it was 31 32 for the next 5 runs.

neilthemac

A bit of gymwork every week increases the metabolism - it helps you to keep body fat down and process energy better. it doesn't have to be to make you stronger or bigger

to be honest, if ye were playing hurling ye'd just be out pucking a ball against a wall most of the time. baseball ye'd be practicing hitting the ball - same with golf, basketball - shooting hoops,

so why not spend more time kicking a ball around than doing all this running? ye probably do enough running at training - it is called football after all. spend €100 on a few footballs and practice kicking points and passes etc

would make more sense.

It's very easy to use the ball and work players cadio systems during any training session and I'm sure most county teams are doing this. The problem is a lot of county players don't do enough on their own to improve their own weaknesses.