Kerry farmers poison eagles?

Started by Silky, February 21, 2008, 01:32:51 PM

Quote from: Gnevin on February 21, 2008, 02:47:30 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 21, 2008, 02:40:40 PM
Quote from: its me again on February 21, 2008, 02:11:27 PM
J70 what proof is there that it was farmers??

Even if it was farmers are having a tough enough time with introducing f**king predators to start eating live stock

if the these creatures aren't native to these shores why take them in, in the 1st place.

if you were getting the shit money farmers are now you would not want a new predator introduced to cut profits once agian
Will the govt not offer compo if you can prove it?  I thought with all this demand for bio-fuels and increasing food prices etc a farmer's lot was improving?
The farmers lot never improves ,last summer was too wet , the one before to dry, Spring came to early last year , too late a few years before . The price of grain is too high , the price of grain is too low..........

Have to agree. Worked in the department of agriculture up here for a year  and i never net a bigger shower of whingers who were subsidised to the back teeth and they still did nothing but whine ... remember, it was the farmers themselves who introduced BSE by feeding cattle (herbivores) the mashed up remains of their own male offspring cos it was cheaper than buying animal feed ... now they're wiping out these eagles because a couple of lambs disappeared

Quote from: its me again on February 21, 2008, 02:11:27 PM
J70 what proof is there that it was farmers??

Even if it was farmers are having a tough enough time with introducing f**king predators to start eating live stock

if the these creatures aren't native to these shores why take them in, in the 1st place.

if you were getting the shit money farmers are now you would not want a new predator introduced to cut profits once agian

Who else apart from farmers would want to destroy these birds? And if these birds weren't specifically targeted by the poisoned bait, lets hope the gardai are looking into who laid the bait and any laws that might have been broken there. The local REPS officials too.

The white-tailed sea eagle is a native species. It was driven extinct about a century ago by humans.

Also, what evidence is there that significant losses of livestock will result from the presence of these birds? Scavenging carcasses doesn't count. Are there scientific studies from elsewhere showing that these eagles prey on livestock? I'm not aware of any such problems with the Golden eagle reintroduction project.

I doubt if the toll these birds take on livestock is going to be of any significance whatsoever, but if someone can be proven to lose a lamb to an eagle, then of course they should be compensated. How much is a lamb these days? 30 euro?

red hander and gnevin, the price of grain is away to high... (i'm not a farmer bty)

j70 hopefully this was accidential, i was talking to someone yesterday and they were saying that posion has been laid for foxs in the area, in fairness if it was done on purpose they're sick fockers..

Well if poisoning is the case, the perpetraters may get a nice big fine of several grand if they're lucky or get thrown in prison. The law comes down pretty hard on this kind of thing nowadays.

Clubbing seals to stop fish from being eaten? i suppose they left a note saying "let this be a warning to ye, ye fish eatin' bastards". (resisting temptation to say something about Kerry-men)

Quote from: thejuice on February 21, 2008, 11:02:28 PM
Well if poisoning is the case, the perpetraters may get a nice big fine of several grand if they're lucky or get thrown in prison. The law comes down pretty hard on this kind of thing nowadays.

A lot harder than it does those sc**bag drug dealers anyway.

Clubbing seals to stop fish from being eaten? i suppose they left a note saying "let this be a warning to ye, ye fish eatin' bastards". (resisting temptation to say something about Kerry-men)

Clubbing seals is absolutely barbaric.

Quote from: magickingdom on February 21, 2008, 09:27:50 PM
red hander and gnevin, the price of grain is away to high... (i'm not a farmer bty)

j70 hopefully this was accidential, i was talking to someone yesterday and they were saying that posion has been laid for foxs in the area, in fairness if it was done on purpose they're sick fockers..
Now i'm sure next year it will be too low... ::)