New York

Started by illdecide, January 04, 2008, 10:47:14 AM

Fishbat

Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 08:57:49 PM
fishbait, not a fan of the wine bars myself, and not totally against the irish bars either -as i say theres a few id frequent in NY  -the lock in in PF can be particular craic.

I prefer the "dive bar" types in the east village/LES - the likes of Doc Holday are hard to beat for something a bit different.

each to their own now, if i was there for a few days and staying downtown i wouldnt be heading for 20+ mins for an irish bar - if i was to leave manhattan itd be williamsburg

Fair enough

Dives? good stuff, too many clean places emerging, the jacks are meant to look like the jacks not a nursery.  Not sure where Doc Holidays is, but it sounds good! the bigger the kip, the better the bar .........to blazes with the wine bar and all who sail in her

Fishbat

Quote from: miss mess on January 09, 2008, 10:05:59 PM
when we said we were from the north of ireland the yanks used to ask, did you come over here to escape the troubles? they are mental.. and this was only 2yrs ago

true, but funnily enough i think the aussie irish are worse, not in a bad way, just nuts - way too much sun

Wine bars or irish bars? That's all you got ffs there are ethiopian bars and kurdish bars in new york. There are some fantastic bars in new york, I used to live on tompkin square park in alphabet city (now the very cosmopolitan east village) go to 7B or 1A dive bars are the way forward. If there's a golden tee you're usually on a winner. Go in mid afternoon and wait to see who ye end up chatting to. I miss it. Ulysses is weird, its an irish/dive/yuppie/alcho bar and I'm a big fan. They say there are 2000 places in manhattan that serve alcohol surely there's something you could find?

Fishbat

Quote from: heganboy on January 09, 2008, 10:50:57 PM
Wine bars or irish bars? That's all you got ffs there are ethiopian bars and kurdish bars in new york. There are some fantastic bars in new york, I used to live on tompkin square park in alphabet city (now the very cosmopolitan east village) go to 7B or 1A dive bars are the way forward. If there's a golden tee you're usually on a winner. Go in mid afternoon and wait to see who ye end up chatting to. I miss it. Ulysses is weird, its an irish/dive/yuppie/alcho bar and I'm a big fan. They say there are 2000 places in manhattan that serve alcohol surely there's something you could find?

No Doubt.  What is an ethopian bar? sounds like a theme bar - good to go for a feed and a pint for something different, usually too expensive for the sesh i find.

I'll try any pub/bar/club/food anywhere - depends what drinking in a pub means to each person, i don't go drinking for the decorations, but they are good for novelty value - would ye see yourself as a regular punter at a kurdish or ethopian bar?  Could ye get the craic going with the barman/woman? i find those types of joints too much of a cafe atmosphere, but thats just my flavour on the thing

Doc Holidays is just off tomkins square, av A and 8th or 9th
Its worth a visit, cowboy boots on the roof, load johnny cash and some of the worst bogs ive seen.

Plenty of other good places round there too.

Ulysses is good heganboy - though jammed with assholes on Thursday evening in particular. Dead on staff though

Quote from: john mcgill on January 09, 2008, 08:54:22 PM
Puckoon are there many Irish bars in Reno?  I think I mentioned on a thread, a couple of years, ago about playing a GAA match in Reno against a touring Kerry team, back then in the late 70's I don't remember any.

There are 3 or 4 genuine ones. Corrigans (run by an american), Foleys (run by noel foley from galway) and Ceol (run by an american family with Irish parents). Ceol is only a year old, and I personally think its the nicest. The guy who runs Foleys wants to be the only irishman in town, so he doesnt really want any of us about the place. Corrigans is a tip which could well have been on the go in the late 70s, it at least looks like it was.

take_yer_points

To the guys in the states, is there anything special worth seeing in New York this weekend? Sports events, etc...? Heading over tomorrow and so far it looks like bar after bar but if there's anything else happening I'd be glad to know about it.

don't think there's any sports on this weekend. there's an NBA game tomorrow night - and nothing until Wed/Thursday again.

The place should be buzzing though with the Giants in the Superbowl next weekend

take_yer_points

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 24, 2008, 04:06:07 PM
don't think there's any sports on this weekend. there's an NBA game tomorrow night - and nothing until Wed/Thursday again.

The place should be buzzing though with the Giants in the Superbowl next weekend

Yeah, we were saying we timed our visit wrong - a week later would've been far better!!

Quote from: amallon on January 09, 2008, 09:54:48 PM
Anyone recommend a reasonably priced hotel in NY thats not a dungeon for the paddys weekend?

5Sams  - fighting in the pub??  Couldn't have been like Gormans then so... ;)

Aidan,
I have stayed in the http://www.wellingtonhotel.com/ for Paddy's Day and its grand....tiny rooms but you can't beat the location....turn left when you come out the front door and you are 10 minutes walk from Times Square...turn right and you are 10 minutes from the Park....two blocks behind you is 5th Ave and straight in front of you is the famous[/url]http://www.carnegiedeli.com/[/url] and their outrageous "sandwiches". I have booked it again for Easter and I can be a fussy hoor so it must be ok. Drop me an e mail when you get a chance.