Around the world or not!

Started by parttimeexile, January 21, 2008, 01:32:05 PM

As Puckoon says, no where in world is more than 24 hours away from home these days - give or take a stopover or two.

I'd say go for it but there is a fair chance that you and the girlfriend will have split up by the time you get back - every young Irish couple I meet out here end up breaking up. All that time travelling together means you'll acutally get to know each other now ;D

Quote from: stephenite on January 21, 2008, 09:48:16 PM
As Puckoon says, no where in world is more than 24 hours away from home these days - give or take a stopover or two.

I'd say go for it but there is a fair chance that you and the girlfriend will have split up by the time you get back - every young Irish couple I meet out here end up breaking up. All that time travelling together means you'll acutally get to know each other now ;D

Still its more fun than doing it the old fashioned way.....

Getting married... :D

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: Mickey Linden on January 21, 2008, 03:58:29 PM
I spent a year in Oz 6 months in New Zealand and 3 months in the states. I would advise anyone to travel and see the world when you have the chance. The chance will soon pass you buy once you get a job you like and have other commitments at home

Your only home Mickey because you had no choice..... ;)
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

Doing Thailand, Oz, NZ and Boston/NYC like 99% of the rest of Ireland and the UK isn't exactly "seeing the world". You'll see a very watered down version and narrow view of the world as you'll undoubtedly end up doing the tourist trails and drinking in Irish bars with Irish people. Off the beaten track soon becomes the beaten track.

Ditch the woman and spend your money on drink and hookers in Larne.

Stay at home! Where would ye be running to anyway?

Didn't you follow herself to Oz?

Quote from: muppet on January 21, 2008, 11:53:18 PM

Didn't you follow herself to Oz?

Yeah, but she's from Oz and we weren't going travelling. There's a huge diff to a young twenty something going back packing and living on top of each other than an old Thirty something moving out there and settling down (sort of)

So are you staying put then?

We might have to call you Sheila-ite.  ;)

Quote from: muppet on January 22, 2008, 12:14:55 AM
So are you staying put then?

We might have to call you Sheila-ite.  ;)

For now - yea, think so. As an IT Professional the opportunities out here are such that I'm earning a fair whack more than I would've if I stayed in Dublin, this allows me to enjoy a more comfortable lifestyle - with the Internet and now Setanta on d'telly at home the only thing I really miss is the family and mates etc. Get to see or at least listen to most games live that I want to for the GAA.

Quote from: hardstation on January 22, 2008, 12:30:40 AM
Stephenite, it's fecking freezing over here. Pissing rain, too.

And last week I was lying on the bed, unable to sleep because it was too fecking hot for me - wishing I could take a walk along Enniscrone pier in a pair of shorts and t-shirt just to cool down a bit.

Spare a thought for Aerlik who lives over in the hot part of Oz

Freezing............ Check
Pishing snow...... Check
Puck not going out the door.... Check.

parttimeexile

Still not got her convinced but will keep nagging at her. Sure isn't that how woman get men to do things they dont want to do  ;)

Im dying to get away, have an adventure as such, this year espeicially. its typical of the times, GAA team asking for full commitment to win senior championship, American football team want same for National and European Championship and after a few training sessions Im thinking to myself, "do i really want to burst myself for another year, the slog of training every second night, no great social life, travelling to and from games"

I rather feck off for a year and have fun, the only thing holding me back is the lack of someone to go with, everyone else seems to have commitments.