Digibox

Started by Tyrone lady, October 30, 2007, 08:45:22 AM

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 31, 2007, 06:36:52 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 31, 2007, 12:11:56 PM
RLL

i think you should invest in one of these and trial it for the rest of us!

does it effect your internet access?

Just ordered one..

I knew you couldn't resist, you and your gadgets

I'm assuming you have to have a cable conection of some sort for this to work, is NTL the one? And how do you set it up for this to happen?

RLL

Just ordered one..

LL have you got your box yet? if so whats that craic with it

Quote from: Square Ball on November 09, 2007, 06:02:22 PM
RLL

Just ordered one..

LL have you got your box yet? if so whats that craic with it

Have you got it yet LL?

No not yet it will be december before it arrives

Got my digibox last night and cancelled my NTL Digital today..
The box is working fine,I have all the Sportschannels inc Setanta,SKY and Eurosport plus LFCTV,ChelseaTV,CelticTV,RealMadridTV,MUFC
Also have all the sky movie channels.
And then all the other channels that you would expect to have like RTE,BBC,SKYNEWS,Discovery,Mtv etc
I think about 144 channels in all.
Oh and also have Playboy,and some othe adult channels but sure i won't be looking at them

So now i just have my basic NTL connection which is €23 a month and i get all the above channels for free..Hope it lasts!!

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 11, 2008, 03:25:24 PM
The box is working fine,I have all the Sportschannels inc Setanta,SKY and Eurosport plus LFCTV,ChelseaTV,CelticTV,RealMadridTV,MUFC
And then all the other channels that you would expect to have like RTE,BBC,SKYNEWS,Discovery,Mtv etc
Oh and also have Playboy,and some othe adult channels but sure i won't be looking at them

So now i just have my basic NTL connection which is €23 a month and i get all the above channels for free..Hope it lasts!!

ntl are such a shower of useless "£$%^&*. One of de lads in here who has one of these boxes isn't even paying the basic connection as he was told that his house doesn't exist...

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 11, 2008, 03:35:40 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 11, 2008, 03:25:24 PM

ntl are such a shower of useless "£$%^&*. One of de lads in here who has one of these boxes isn't even paying the basic connection as he was told that his house doesn't exist...

They have probably the worst customer service division of any company i have ever had dealings with..
Plus their Digital service is crap..There was often long breaks in transmission and jumpy screens etc..
Glad to be rid of them..well apart from the basic connection..
Also meant to ad that any pay-per-view offerings like boxing etc can all be watched thru this digibox without having to pay for it..

Rossie11

Mine landed today. Rugby NFL Soccer.. yes indeed a weekend on the couch beckons..  :)

gerrykeegan

I have a feeling those boxes days are numbered. I know of a good few people who have them. From about Jan last to Sept  Ntl were scramblling the signal (once a week) so you had to go online and get a set of numbers to re-key into the box, the newer boxes seemed to be able to bypass this re-keying job. They have given up scrambling them altogether for the last three or four months which would lead me to belive they are attempting another route. I heard on Today FM that they are launching their own "Free" digital box for all their current customers, so I suspect that the Digibox will become obsolete when they have replaced their current box with their new one.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Quote from: gerrykeegan on January 11, 2008, 04:07:51 PM
I have a feeling those boxes days are numbered. I know of a good few people who have them. From about Jan last to Sept  Ntl were scramblling the signal (once a week) so you had to go online and get a set of numbers to re-key into the box, the newer boxes seemed to be able to bypass this re-keying job. They have given up scrambling them altogether for the last three or four months which would lead me to belive they are attempting another route. I heard on Today FM that they are launching their own "Free" digital box for all their current customers, so I suspect that the Digibox will become obsolete when they have replaced their current box with their new one.

I know fellas wh have had them for the last 12months and they were never scrambled..
As for NTL and their "free" Digibox...I believe it when i see it...
Free probably means that you can only watch it after midnight till 8am or some stupid condition like that..NTL will never give away anything free

cavan4ever

I heard that they can only stop this by upgrading the cables in the ground which would take years.

Thats a nice ass you have there cavan4ever  :o

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 11, 2008, 04:19:35 PM

Thats a nice ass you have there cavan4ever  :o

tune in would ya LL your going off topic there ;) are ya getting sick of Debbie :D

Quote from: gerrykeegan on January 11, 2008, 04:07:51 PM
I have a feeling those boxes days are numbered. I know of a good few people who have them. From about Jan last to Sept  Ntl were scramblling the signal (once a week) so you had to go online and get a set of numbers to re-key into the box, the newer boxes seemed to be able to bypass this re-keying job. They have given up scrambling them altogether for the last three or four months which would lead me to belive they are attempting another route. I heard on Today FM that they are launching their own "Free" digital box for all their current customers, so I suspect that the Digibox will become obsolete when they have replaced their current box with their new one.

That would be my thinking on it as well gerry, gonna wait for when ntl act and the new and improved box comes out...